December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Y.O.G.O HARPOON

by 30dogs - Jam Entry

>Ran out of time to do much testing and balance, but I hope it's at least fun to harpoon some monsters!
>With more time, the next thing I would have done is add more incentive to get combo kills. Right now the piercing crossbows are quite underpowered.

Created by Damon Chandler (damonchandler.com)
Music and Sound by Aaron Lemke (www.unellodesign.com)

Monster mesh from http://www.davidoreilly.com/downloads/
Crossbow mesh by gobellex on turbosquid.com

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#47Theme(Jam)3.64
#125Fun(Jam)3.30
#125Humor(Jam)3.04
#243Audio(Jam)2.97
#253Overall(Jam)3.12
#291Innovation(Jam)2.78
#296Graphics(Jam)3.12
#361Mood(Jam)2.66

Comments

ryanmurakami says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:29am

Mouse kept going outside the unity screen and messing it up. Pretty fun, though.

30dogs says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:37am

Toggling Fullscreen should prevent the mouse from escaping. Unless you're on dual displays maybe :/

acronaut says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:35am

It took me a while to realize how the mounted crossbows work (you had to carry that harpoon). Love the sensation of obliterating those aliens. It would be nice to have the harpoon pin multiple (double/multi-kill) instead of single targets. Well done defense game!

Blooperly says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:43am

Haha a little buggy, but very fun. I like the music too!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:46am

Can't load the second harpoon? I get one shot, kill one monster and thats it?

30dogs says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:42pm

@windwalkerranger: You have to re-use the same harpoon! There should be a small white arrow pointing to where it landed.

StMatn says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:10pm

This is a cool game!
There is one thing you might want to fix: after loosing, the simulation should stop, bacause you can keep shooting monsters that pile up in the red zone, if you make sure, you can reach your harpoon.
Besides that the game is really fun. The monsters looks quite terrifying in the first moment^^ I like the graphics!
Great work!

JaJ says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:04pm

I have a hard time finding an effective strategy other than killing as many monsters as possible with a single harpoon, since I only manage to get only two shots in per game.

It would have been nice if you had used the one harpoon mechanic to better effect. For example an option to shoot less far, but also be able to kill less monsters with such a shot. That way you have more options- playstyles.

wezrule says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:05pm

Pretty fun, I noticed my score kept going up after I died tho :D

Keith Evans says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:07pm

Love the reusable weapon mechanic. Peter Jackson's King Kong had combat kind of like this and I always thought it was underrated. Good Job!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:10pm

Really cool defense game, and quite challenging trying to keep up with your harpoon and enemy movements. I had fun!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:25pm

I can't believe I missed the re-collecting part of the harpoon! I can rate your game yess! Oh, and regarding my game; you can click on civillian ships and see their direction and speed. Then use the clock on the bottom right to keep how much time they take to go from point a to b, and use that as a guideline for your own torpedo :) I know, it was far fetched, but tutorial explains this... Though most people seem to miss and it was impossible to make an animated tutorial in that narrow time... Thanks for the comments, though :D

tigerrenko says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:38pm

Heh loved it, very well made

eli says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:25pm

Ahaaahaaa wonderful comic relief. Great feel to it. A little frustrating with the controls -- I didn't manage to get a single combo. Using the mounted guns only made it harder to retrieve the harpoon, no noticeable effect otherwise. Best strategy I found was rushing from monster to monster to hit them with the harpoon and immediately regaining it for the next one.

Good theme interpretation, excellent use of David's monster mesh. Much fun (when ignoring the mounted guns).

skysthelimit says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:21am

Interesting idea, and GREAT use of the theme. Game could use a bit of balancing though as there is no way I could stop all those green alien things at the speed they were going with just one bolt. I think at the most i could kill about 3-4 before one got to the end and I lost.

SimianLogic says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:46am

kind of annoying that esc takes you to the menu AND exits fullscreen. nice controls, nice mechanic... but seems almost too simple. hard to tell where the end zone is.

pkenney says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:55am

I had fun with this! I kept trying to hit TAB to flip into 3rd person perspective like I used to in Tribes2, to rapidly scan around for the next biggest threat. Any game that invokes rusty old tribes reflexes is okay in my book!

After I got the hang, I lasted 5:30, and my score was 182.

A few thoughts:

- My scariest enemy was the crossbow. Accidentally moving into one was really disruptive. Was there a cancel button?

- I found the most effective way of dealing with then enemies was to butt heads and 'poon them, so that I insta-regrabbed the harpoon.

- The simplistic AI makes it more of "stem the tide" than a strategic battle, but I still think it worked.x

Lots of nice touches here. Responsive controls made it all fun. The squish sound on kills was great, and the tune. Great job.

MrTedders says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:01am

Pretty fun game. It was pretty satisfying to shoot the harpoon!

Bruno Massa says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:19am

Hard to play if not on full screen (many unity`s web games suffers from this)

funny game

Jgpicatoste says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:44pm

All in all, a really good entry. Congrats!

Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:53pm

Fun little game - though I found it a little tough? =) Could have used the navmesh system, as I found more than a few of the aliens got caught on the scenery. Some secondary means of recovering the arrow might be nice - an ai helper that runs out and tries to grab it and bring it back, perhaps. Nonetheless, great work!

FrederickK says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 1:31am

That's truth! The core idea was the same of my game and yours! :)
I liked your game, it is simple, but straightforward. Wish there were more feedbacks, but it is ok.
Good job!

Venks says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 6:56am

A wee bit confusing, but an enjoyable title none the less.

wbwelcomeback says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:39pm

Haha! Very good use for the theme :)

Fenmar says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 7:32pm

I really like your game. If you want to have a look, I made a Let's Play with it :-) https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=laFsCiGVj1M (second part)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]