December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Wraith

by AgentParsec - 48 Hour Compo Entry

(Made using Unity)

You are lost in a foggy maze inhabited by a malicious wraith. All you have to defend yourself with is your pistol, and you only have one bullet for it. To win, you must either find your way out of the maze, or kill the wraith. He will often send shadows at you to confuse you, so you must be careful to shoot ONLY the real wraith. If you fail to land your bullet, your only hope is to make it out of the maze.

This game supports Oculus Rift! (Check the box right above the start button at the beginning to enable it.) Everything appears tiny due to the scale, but it does work.

Please note that there are some bugs with the webplayer version (it crashes when you try to start a new game), and I have no idea if the OS/X or Linux versions work since I have no computer of those operating systems to test them with (Unity can export in that format, so I thought it best to include them).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#6Mood4.29
#12Audio3.98
#129Fun3.48
#163Overall3.49
#241Theme3.35
#244Graphics3.45
#577Innovation2.79
#597Humor2.00

Comments

patricklorio says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:18am

I'm getting an error after the intro messages. "The content was stopped because a fatal error has been detected" I'm using the web player.

Andrew Adams says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:21am

If the goal was for me to mess my undershorts... job well done.

AgentParsec says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:25am

@patricklorio -- Yeah, I might just take down the webplayer version. I have no idea why it's not working correctly when the regular versions do.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:33am

I did not want to sleep anyway.

hobblygobbly says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:43am

I enjoy the reference to the Wraiths from Stargate Atlantis which also exist to confuse you with stuff you're not truly seeing. The fog effect adds a nice aesthetic.

jillytot says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:22pm

I'm getting a fatal content error. That wraith must be scary mans.

AgentParsec says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:25pm

@jillytot -- Is that the webplayer version or one of the other versions?

whiteknife says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:36pm

Decently scary, and I love the music! Great job!

Donutttt says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:49pm

Scary... very good, well made

AMSmirnov says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:15pm

Great job!

DaanVanYperen says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:38pm

Very effective at setting the mood! Wasted my bullet. Any meaning behind the right mouse button numbers?

AgentParsec says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:05pm

@DaanVanYperen -- I mentioned it in the pre-game instructions. After wasting your bullet, you can use right-click to see your coordinates in order to help you try and escape.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:55pm

Very eerie atmosphere, and a perfect audioscape. Well done.

ParaPup says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:01am

Nice work it wasn't that bad.

ThatGuy says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:01am

Terrifying, and I didn't notice I only had one bullet until it was too late. Great job at build that atmosphere.

Kohijin says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:06am

Very impressed with the intense atmosphere! The creepiness cought me completely offguard - well done...

rojo says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:25pm

Hey, great job! It was pretty awesome to experience on my Rift!

plaguespark says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:44pm

I was walking around and suddenly error message appeared "You are dead"

AgentParsec says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 2:10am

@plaguespark -- That's not an error, you got caught by the wraith. You need to watch your back, especially if you hear sounds behind you.

lilinx says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 8:51am

Scary!

Dec 21, 2013 @ 10:42am

I love the mood of this game, well done.

wdebowicz says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 11:58am

Web player version break my firefox with fatal error after "You are dead". Anyway.. mood and sounds are one of my favourites in this LD.

Colapsydo says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:15pm

Really cool atmosphere. Those shadow thingies work perfectly.
Great job on the audio, it contributes a lot to the mood.

samooJAM says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 5:52pm

Nicely used theme and very moody. Good job!

Dec 22, 2013 @ 1:14am

Very much extremely terrifying. A perfect score for mood from me!

GaTechGrad says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 7:53am

Nice use of lighting. It's sort of like a survival horror version of Minecraft.

supremefist says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 10:15am

Really well done!

Dec 29, 2013 @ 1:41pm

Very tense.. probably the best use of sound I've encountered so far. Great work!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]