December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Spacewalk

by tompudding - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Did you like the recent movie Gravity? Did you wish you could float about in space armed with only a single fire extinguisher for adjusting your momentum? Well now's your chance!

The theme tie in was supposed to be about the fire extinguisher. You only get one, so you have to pass it about between your guys to get them out.

For Linux you need to install python and pygame, and then grab the pybox2d module from here (http://code.google.com/p/pybox2d/downloads/detail?name=pybox2d-2.0.2b2.zip&can=2&q=) and install it. Windows should just work.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#359Audio2.78
#423Humor2.40
#464Innovation2.96
#465Overall3.04
#478Fun2.88
#504Graphics2.92
#506Mood2.74
#604Theme2.67

Comments

Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:35am

Is there a way for a windows user to test your game ? I would like to try it ;)

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:37am

Loved the movie! It was brilliant!

I'm on PC so, I can't play it :P

tompudding says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:40pm

Added a Windows build for all you crazy Windows folks. Knock yourself out!

hnjslater says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:21pm

Great game, harder than a 4H pencil. I would die in space. Quickly.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:05pm

Cool mecanics, too bad there isn't more levels cause you have everything to make really great level design. Nice ending, nice sounds.

javifugitivo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:33am

That's good!

arcticleaf says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 2:10am

good, i like this

Danman9914 says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 8:15am

I wasn't able to grab the fire extinguisher. Just kept bouncing off of it

tompudding says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 9:39am

You have to click the fire extinguisher to grab it, sorry if that wasn't clear!

PEBKAC says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 9:44am

Awesome.

ParaPup says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 8:36pm

Nice idea/concept it had a nice feel to the game.

tobbez says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 12:19am

I like that it conserves both momentum and rotational momentum. Nice ending. Feel like there is a lot of room for expansion.

multikorv says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 12:39am

Hard to play without a mouse. Like the feeling of it and the mood. Nice idea! Stable implementation.

peacegiverman says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 1:09am

I found this game really hard. I could barely reach the fire extinguisher and could in no way reach the box. I almost made it once, missed it and so I gave up.

Interestingly, there is another game I found that's set in space and requires you to use the only fire extinguisher to move. Here it is: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-28/?action=preview&uid=25406 (not affiliated in any way :))

mmickyman says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 11:44am

Not bad.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]