December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

You only get one chance to save the world so don't screw it up

by Dir3kt - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Can you save the world?

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#158Humor3.19
#347Theme3.15
#665Audio2.07
#718Graphics2.48
#728Fun2.52
#750Overall2.70
#773Mood2.35
#837Innovation2.31

Comments

Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:30am

I destroyed the world :P Cool game ! It's hard but hey, saving the world should not be an easy task. Great work !

Devtactics says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:50am

I died too soon and immediately went back to try it again. It wasn't joking around! :O

Colapsydo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:02am

You really know how to make people want to play your game again.
Really funny, till the end (the real one).

alcorrius says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:30pm

So many enemies. It is hard to survive)
Use this song as main theme http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8xrZjrQ3GOQ I think it is free for non-commercial use.
Good job!

PaperBlurt says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:18pm

Great graphics!
Like the idea and the title is awesome!

Ted Brown says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:39pm

YES. And YES.

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:09am

I loved the retro aesthetic! :)

whiteknife says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:22pm

Funny idea!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:24pm

I like how this game actually gives me one chance. Goodjob :P

drkrunk says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:15am

Reminds me of Space Invaders. Very good game, it was fun and challenging.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:29pm

I didn't save the world. I wish that would stop happening to me :(

Enjoyed that. Good entry, had to turn the sound off though that laser noise was well annoying!

zkenshin says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:31pm

A bit simple.

joe40001 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:32pm

Very innovative, very clever, a bit mean though that you had to refresh exactly 317 times to see the true final screen. Why that number?

Seriously though I really liked it. The game shows the right style of innovative thinking that makes for great game developers.

dudsen says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:49pm

Dude, you rock. I really like if mechanics expand outside of the real game. Maybe I should delete my cookies and try again ;)

almightysuit says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:46pm

Ha! Got caught too early. Very nicely done, considering the timeframe :)

GFM says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 11:49pm

I'm not sure what to think about this game...

I feel like your are playing with the fact that I only got one chance to save the world but it's inevitable that I'll fail...
I found... this weird... It also annoys me because I keep thinking "what if there were a way to win?" but then I try convince myself otherwise.

Still, since I like bullet hell shmup, this was fun. :)

P.S.: I read on the comments a way to win... I can't believe it, but if it's true, you are a real evil genius! (in a good way :) )

rnlf says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 1:26am

I've seen this done before and still don't like it. I know, it's the theme, but it's frustrating not to let people play again.

Husky says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 6:31am

Haha interesting idea, It can be played only one time.

Jacic says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 5:37pm

One chance indeed! I thought you might have done something like that when the difficulty suddenly increased a lot. ;)

Nice job!

mmickyman says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 10:25pm

What do I do now : http://imgur.com/ANAyjQL ???

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]