December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Hatsumei Mage

by OrangeeZ - Jam Entry

You are a mage that knows a secret spell "You Only Get One..."

By adding one last word you can turn your enemies into dust or... well, do something else.

Controls:

When prompted, type in a word that describes what you'd like to leave enemies with. "Shield" or "Sword" are the most basic ones, but there are a couple of other words.

It's a kind of an endless dungeon crawler, so you go until you die.

P.S. Here's the cheatsheet for words available:

Hatsumei
Enemy
Sword
Shield
Axe
Hand

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness97%
#32Innovation(Jam)3.72
#74Theme(Jam)3.49
#174Graphics(Jam)3.58
#216Humor(Jam)2.54
#342Overall(Jam)2.92
#349Mood(Jam)2.68
#431Fun(Jam)2.42
#479Audio(Jam)1.21

Comments

ryanmurakami says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:56am

nice. wish there was sound!

MattHartley says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:16am

I like the graphics and it's a very cool gameplay idea!

hoqjed says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:00am

The web link isn't working!

OrangeeZ says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:35am

@hoqjed, reuploaded, please try now

JaymeeMak says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:11pm

Neat idea, but when I typed shields after my first sword battle, I didn't get any shields?

Also, the animation for the mage to come to the next battle takes a bit too long.

And lastly - I've tried a bunch of various words but can't figure out what to write apart from sword or shield, which greatly diminishes the fun.

Will Edwards says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:46pm

Strong on theme, but any cheat-sheet on the words? It took me a while to even work out which side I was playing. The graphics are gorgeous.

Nelien says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:47pm

That was a really neat concept! Got a bit easy when all they were spawning with was swords and I could just take them away, but the idea is really cool!

OrangeeZ says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:54pm

Thanks everyone for the feedback! Updated the description with the list of words available.

PlayHabit says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:00pm

I like this concept.

The only extra word I have found so far is 'enemy'. It didn't help, but it was pretty funny.

wdebowicz says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 3:38pm

Funny concept. More possible words would improve it.

The Evil Cult says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:39pm

Interesting one. I really like the concept here but I was a bit confused because the spell removes all of a type of item, it doesn't leave them with a type it like you said in the description. Graphics were great, love the style. Combat felt a bit luck-based. Would love to see this game expanded upon because it looks like a solid idea :)

Zener says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 2:58pm

Very good idea, and the graphic style is awesome

local minimum says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 2:59pm

I like the use of the theme in a quite novel way. However I found it hard to see what the enemies were holding in their hands. I tried some times, but never got very far.

Dec 21, 2013 @ 4:52pm

Cool concept, I like the way the characters are designed. Nice work !

Sebastian says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 5:01pm

Very neat idea, needs more word possibilities to keep my attention though. Cute graphics ;)

LordHellMaX says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 1:46am

Wow that was weird! Very luck based, but idea is good.

Diptoman says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 9:42am

That was a very unique take on the theme. And damn, the gfx are beautiful. This idea could be made into a gorgeous adventure!

psc1997 says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 9:30am

I like graphics and idea (and gameplay)... Something other, and very good ;)
But without available words list I have problems ;p
Seriously thank You for list ;-)
Develop full game with more words, sounds and other things! ;)

Xanjos says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 6:42pm

Too bad there's no sound but I absolutely loved the gameplay concept and the graphics were really pretty to look at.

OneDee says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 3:59pm

Very unusual game :)

ViliX says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 10:42am

5/5 for fun and innovation :)

iiechapman says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 11:28pm

Hey there, wanted to let you know I updated the game to fix the problem you were having!
http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-28/?action=preview&uid=14399

taocayo says ...
Dec 31, 2013 @ 10:18pm

Even as simplistic as it is, graphically speaking, the mood is great and the concept is very interesting.

hadesfury says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 3:00pm

Need more words :D

BradleySmith says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 4:59pm

I really like the quirky 3D art style in this, really neat and fairly unique gameplay mechanic too. Rated highly. :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]