December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Go Long!!

by Andrew Brophy - Jam Entry

You're an up-and-coming child athlete! This is your one shot to make it! You've one minute to focus and clear your thoughts!


** You should play a few times for the best results, **

IMPORTANT: Play with sound all the way up. Seriously.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#13Humor(Jam)3.96
#30Audio(Jam)3.85
#89Innovation(Jam)3.40
#103Mood(Jam)3.46
#115Graphics(Jam)3.91
#139Overall(Jam)3.40
#228Fun(Jam)2.97
#257Theme(Jam)2.78

Comments

Articulated says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:21pm

Overall the graphics were well done and the sound effects fit the theme really well, but the purpose of the game was not well telegraphed, and I didn't understand what I had to do or what the goal was. Unless that was the point?

Anyway, a decent entry! 3/5 from me :D

nkling says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:24pm

I thought the game was really funny! Art style and music was very nice as well.

Zenkerdus says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:25pm

Confused as to how to start the game at first. But wow, that was hilarious :D

Sink says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:37pm

I'a a super star! Really silly and funny game, I really liked it once I figured it out. Good stuff!

burgerdare says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:58pm

really unclear what the player is supposed to do.

nicetrysean says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:05am

Stupendous!

seagaia says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:20am

hahahahahaha andrewwww

Thein says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:09pm

The game bugged out on me the first two times, or at least I think it did. The third time I played it everything worked fine. A very funny and quirky game!

vapgames says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:21pm

Looks awesome. Great WTF moments.

harsanalif says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:37pm

A bit unclear about the game's objective, also I seem to have problem with the camera's focus.
Nice presentation though.

Muciojad says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:44pm

Hahaha amazing-funny-crazy game! :D
This provoked a smile on my face! Great :D

jomomomo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:12pm

Can't play windows games, looks awesome though. Any chance for a web version?

eli says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:28pm

Someone on facebook spoke of different endings??? I only found one.

I thought it was lovely. Everything worked together so nicely.

Magdev says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:33pm

im so proud of you... son...

Jeremias says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:10pm

I'm not sure if it is part of the game, but it always closes isntantly after some time... sorry, I don't get it :D
The visuals look really nice and the audio fits very well.

Todd Luke says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:37am

i... i don't even know... thank you

Patacorow says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:50pm

the only comment i have is


what

lilinx says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:13pm

Thank you for this game, I enjoyed it so much.

Chinchilla says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:32pm

lol.... I have no idea what just happened, but it made me laugh!

Robotic says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:37pm

This made me laugh so hard. Everything, from the chara design to the cheesy comments and music, and crazy fov effects, was perfectly put together.

Thank you for this best game ever goty 5/5 bisous

Nichii says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:40pm

Lol, I'm high playing this game :P

Geoege says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:50pm

5/5 Just perfect. ahahah

Maple says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:26pm

I don't know why but it's hard for me to not rate you high in each category. I can't really fault you on anything, which is kinda weird for me... Good job.

By the way, the game screws up big time if you press 'a' on the title screen a couple of times. Not really sure why I even pressed 'a' to begin with, but hey, there you go.

ChrisMingay says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:01pm

I actually LOL'd at the end :D What a crazy game.

biscuitdough says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:19am

wat

Kohijin says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:25pm

Not sure if it did what it was supposed to do but it was quite a trip ;) Audio and GFX really created an intense immersion

Jiggawatt says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:12pm

This is just beautiful. Everything from the camera manipulation to the audio and the lack of instructions forms a melting pot of confusion and hilarity.

JALgames says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:24pm

Not sure what I did and how well I did, because the sense of the game didn't get very clear.

local minimum says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:41pm

I'm interpreting this as a "war on sports"-game, and for that you get extra stars. We were a bit surprised that we forgot to ridicule sports. I was a bit uncertain about how I was participating and to what extent my actions, whatever they actually were, affected the outcome. But, given the general theme of the game, I'd say that it might even have been a plus.

tobbez says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:50am

Could have been interesting, but the gameplay was pretty much not there.

GarethIW says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 1:18pm

I have absolutely no idea what just happened, and I like it. For anyone else as confused as me, press enter to start the game.

evilseanbot says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:00pm

Too slow on my computer.

Bruno Massa says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 3:55pm

100% WTF!?!?!? hahahahah

javifugitivo says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 10:01pm

Nice graphics! Funny face!

Techblogogy says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 6:25pm

"Play with sound all the way up. Seriously." Well if you remember the blowing up speaker from Back To The Future, identical thing happened to mine. All jokes aside, this is a very nice game

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 1:39am

Hahahaha, awesome art! I love it!

Dec 24, 2013 @ 7:01am

Can't download. Open the site, click download, and nothing happens.

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 9:00am

Fix the download link please ^^;

Andrew Brophy says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 8:05am

Added another download link for people who are having problems with the other one.

Also, thanks for all the words, dudes!

Dec 26, 2013 @ 3:16pm

I went long. Waaay long. Good fun :)

Harsay says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 3:07pm

ROTFL!!!111!111!!11oneoneone!!111eleven!!1

jprogman says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 6:05am

I can use the arrow keys to zoom around and through the player. Is that a glitch?

Dec 31, 2013 @ 2:47am

I have no idea what just happened, but I'm laughing right now, so you're marked high on humor and audio for sure ^.^

arcticleaf says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 12:52pm

nice haha

Jan 4, 2014 @ 6:51pm

Not everything was very clear but i laughed at one point (first time on this LD). Graphics are really great, audio is great too. Even if i didn't understand what i had to do i think everything is coherent and great.

Jan 5, 2014 @ 1:37pm

strange, fun, and great art style.

PaperBlurt says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 8:13pm

Soooo nice to see sports games!
Like the graphics, kinda Media Molecule-like.

Real good game..

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]