December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

You only get one.....life

by desmarkie - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A quick and simple puzzle game.

Unlock each exit by collecting all the orbs present in the level and make your way there to progress.

Try to get a green light on each level, I won't tell you how, but it should be easy to spot ;-)

Oh, and you only get one life. So if you *do* reset, or fall off you're back to the beginning again. So that's 20 puzzles to learn in order to clock it proper.

Controls:
On a computer, use WASD / Arrow keys to move around.
Press 'R' when stuck to reset the game

On a touch device, tap in quarters of the game area for direction.
Tap with 3 fingers to reset the game

Tested on:
Chrome windows
Chrome Android
Safari iOS

Used:
pixijs
jquery
tweenmax
coffeescript

Good luck all!

Mark

****UPDATE****
Don't count this towards the game's rating, but if you want to play a fairer version where it doesn't send you back to the start when you reset, you can now do so here: http://markdooney.com/ludumdare/28/easy/

Hope nobody minds, definitely don't want to sway any votes but would love to see some more people finishing it before rage quitting ;)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#269Graphics3.39
#424Fun2.96
#539Overall2.96
#559Mood2.67
#737Innovation2.52
#909Theme2.00
#1231Coolness42%

Comments

bugninja says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:47pm

Great puzzle game idea. I don't see how it fits the theme really, but this is a really cool idea!!

Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:50pm

Nicely designed puzzles, but taking the player back to the beginning is just too unforgiving. It only tangentially relates to the theme and it just makes it frustrating.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:12pm

Going back to the beginning is a little harsh!

desmarkie says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:20pm

Fair comment chaps. It's the weak idea I ran with for the theme ;)
It could definitely have used more testing over the WHOLE game to see how tough it was, but it's definitely possible.
Thanks for playing and especially for the feedback :)

Anoarith says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:21pm

The second level can be done without squares on the bottom-left ;)

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:30pm

A lovely level of polish to this. Looks very nice.

As already mentioned, a bit harsh having to go back to level 1. :(

Sim says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:04am

Fun and polished puzzle game but going back to the start doesn't add much other than fitting to the theme. I finished all the levels and then greened them too, which made some of the weird easy levels make sense.

dcampos says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:42am

Very polished graphics, good learning curve.

desmarkie says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:28am

Thanks you lot! :)
@Anoarith - You don't *have* to use all the disappearing floor tiles, but you may not get the ending you were hoping for...

eternalmajin says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:46pm

I cheated your first level once. Taking the first jump, you can move as the player fades on falling into a hole. I was able to grab the last piece and hit the finish before it faded out, putting me into level 2.
Definitely agree that restarting completely is a bit harsh, especially since some of the levels could get you into situations where there was no way to complete it if you made a wrong move. Other than that, quite a fun game. Good work!

dekart says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:54pm

I really like it, it's pretty simple and yet challenging. I think that starting all levels from the beginning is too punishing though, the theme is very well reflected by the "only one path" idea, so there's no need to put additional constraints, especially such destructive.

Dec 23, 2013 @ 3:37am

Cute graphics, I love challenging puzzle !

tobbez says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 4:04am

Not a big fan of hiding a more difficult level inside another one, if the level is winnable if you follow some odd condition then make the level in a way that forces that condition. Some of the puzzles were really good others were odd and easy seems like 20 levels was a bit too much for the mechanics available. Restarting from the beginning is an odd choice especially in a puzzlegame since when you have a solution it will work 100% of the time. Like the game but too much variation in levelquality.

van noctar says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 12:17am

Very good puzzle game!! :D

Dry Tree says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 11:40am

I really like games like this, and you've done a great job with this one. Like some others have said it's *far* too frustrating to take the player right back to the start of the game if they put a foot wrong. Some audio wouldn't go amiss and the only other thing I'd highlight is the jump animation feels too slow (sure, it's 'low gravity' space themed but once you've seen the jump a couple of times it starts to get annoying when it takes so long to move just two tiles)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]