December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Super Epic Robot Battles

by psychopsam - Jam Entry

[EDIT: Just had time for a new build - no ending but works better - PC Build is latest - will update others now]
[EDIT2: All latest builds now up. Game is not complete but you can find the exit and enemy wait to see you before attacking now]
This is a game about blasting your way out of a maze. You only get one laser. You only get one mech to pilot. You only get one way out. Not complete - sorry about that. Had a lot of tech problems and lost the momentum.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1729Coolness10%

Comments

phi6 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:05pm

Love the movement, feels like you are actually inside a mech. Glad you didn't implement strafe as that would have ruined the illusion.

JayPC000 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:58pm

I disagree phi6, strafe would have been fine as long as you had to manually control the leg direction and torso direction, like in the Mechwarrior games. I just wish I could turn faster, or be able to angle the shooting direction slightly with the camera for better precision, even if it wasn't a huge ammount

psychopsam says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:54pm

All good notes thanks. Anyone know how a mech turns with it's feet? I mean how it looks? Will definitely add mouse look for targeting and straff. Turning was slow to make it feel like a robot.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:01pm

Liked the movement. More than mechwarrior, it reminded me of warhammer games, especially the board game. Was just one level, right? Found the exit but couldn't go through it. Just the connection to the theme was a little bit thin... Otherwise, well done! :)

Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:57am

I got motion sickness

Dec 23, 2013 @ 3:40am

Nice models, I like the way it's moving, feel kinda like in a mech. Great work!

yosh says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 3:48am

Nice little game, a bit hard to control at first, but then it gets fun to play with your mecha. Bonus points for the mood as well!
Also, this game had a proportionally-inverse difficulty curve. At first you have all the enemies shooting at you like crazy... then it's all quiet :D
It was kind of funny to see the EXIT_FOUND text through the walls ^^

Cake&Code says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 2:19am

One of my classmates at university made a mech game complete with real-life cabin to simulate the feel of it all. This is more impressive considering you made it all in 72 hours! Very fun, love mech simulations. Hopefully someday we'll be driving our own? ;D

psychopsam says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 11:38pm

Thanks for the crits guys. I found that all the enemy came looking for you as soon as they were turned on. I'll fix that in a future release.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]