December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Lost Robots

by stromchin - Jam Entry

The game is COMPLETELY UNFINISHED, but I think it's still fun. I didn't have time to work much on it.
Start Server to play locally (people can join)
or click "refresh hosts" to try to join other people (it doesn't work all the time, sorry).
This is what I would call a pre-alpha.

Features:
Multiplayer time waster
You can knock things over
You can jump using the ramp (sometimes it doesn't work)
Move with WASD keys
Press R to reset position.
No music controls yet sorry

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#229Graphics(Jam)3.36
#296Fun(Jam)2.78
#358Humor(Jam)2.03
#359Audio(Jam)2.50
#420Innovation(Jam)2.40
#424Mood(Jam)2.41
#466Overall(Jam)2.51
#538Theme(Jam)1.70

Comments

jsjwooowooo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:48pm

Quite fun to mess around in, I got stuck in a corner though!

Tyro says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:50pm

This was a pretty good time waster. I'd honestly love to see you turn it into a multiplayer online death-match type of game. Good job on the netcoding and physics!

yapshuter63 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:51pm

Nice! Can't really see the point, or the theme, but I love the graphics and sound. Spent a few minutes just driving around knocking down trees :)

nickworks says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:51pm

I loved knocking down the trees!

stromchin says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:54pm

@jsjwooowooo, press R to get unstuck!
@ yapshuter63, yes, there is no point yet. I was just wasting time making the map, and then only had time to do simple physics.
thank you for your comments everyone.
Yes, also forgot that the theme is kind of... not there. Sorry.
You only get to control one guy though, it was supposed to be some sort of colony manager... and you're just one guy.
It's a stretch though, so you can rate me with minimum stars in the "theme" category :)

Polyganz says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:09am

the weirdness and quirkiness of the whole thing makes it really funny.

ashen says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:10am

Jumping the ramp was fun and worked every time for me. Knocking trees was great, I tried to get them to flip on their heads. Add more "stuff" and it could be excellent.

nicotuason says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:12am

wooohooo!

finefin says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:27am

pretty fun for an unfinished game :)

nerial says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:40am

Nice atmosphere. Could turn into some sort of isometric multiplayer mario kart.

JALgames says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:07pm

Nice little game to waste time

glovecat says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:18am

Even if the theme is not in this game, it's a really good way to waste some time. I really like to knock down the trees :D

dqmhose says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:29pm

Unfinished, but quite nice. Enjoyed knocking over some of those trees :D Keep it up!

Toureiro says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:31pm

I wish I could get into servers and try it out with others. But still, I loved the concept when I saw this as a journal entry and playing it is pretty cool. Turning feels a bit too heavy, but you nailed the floatyness of the jumps. Great entry!

Lyje says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:57pm

Very fun for something without much going on, feels and looks really nice!

Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:41pm

You had me at drifting ;)

Korwegian says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:01pm

Got stuck on the wall.

ThatGuy says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:27pm

Very interesting idea! It seems like a pretty solid foundation for you to build something really cool. Nice work!

BrothersT says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:22pm

Yeah fun to mess around, if only there were more players. you could have made the trees enemies or something? nice one anyway.

recursor says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:30pm

I dislike the Autotracker-generated music, but boy is it fun to drive that little robot around and cut down trees.

PaulSB says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:32pm

Very pretty! Was fun running some trees down. Would love to see more game here as there's just not much to it at the moment. A nice starting point, perhaps.

careless says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:11am

Could have been fun but very skippy for me for some reason?

Dec 20, 2013 @ 3:54am

Smooth movement, the graphics are perfect, great game !

evilseanbot says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 7:23am

I really loved the graphic style.

I really hope you put more stuff going on or make a similar game.

rojo says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:45am

Zipping around is pretty fun! I could see a sweet racing game coming out of something like this.

vikingpotato says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:42pm

This could deelop into something cool! loved the soundtrack

TeamFlare says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:53pm

Very fun to race around :)

Kohijin says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:17pm

I still like the art style a lot. The prettiest isometric block games i've seen this LD ;)

aviktorov says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:57pm

I like the graphic style, multiplayer is also cool. Sad thing you had no time to finish it. Good luck in the next LD!

BeardoGames says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:42pm

It's fun to play around. Hopefully you'll finish it someday as it's a nice, promising start.

JohnnySix says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 1:42pm

Love the soundtrack, and the isometric style. Enjoyed jumping the river. Look forward to more. :)

psychomonster says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 3:30am

haha unfinished but still funny :D Killed al the trees ... no what is next...?

Xeke_Death says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 12:23pm

I kinda liked the perspective view... Looked good...
The graphics are rather catchy, for how simple they are... I think it was because of the green grid...

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]