December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Aggrogate

by halogenica - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Aggrogate: a game by Michael Romero for Ludum Dare 28

Theme "You Only Get One"

Please note the audio engine requires the DirectX runtime, in case the game fails to start.


Gameplay Video: http://youtu.be/QZAu-uJhVxs


Aggrogate is a 2 player action puzzle game.
Win the game by clearing all cubes of your color range before your opponent.
Clear cubes by connecting 4 or more same-colored cubes

XBOX Controllers:
Right analog stick aims the crosshair
Place light cubes with LB
Place dark cubes with RB

Keyboard:
Left Player Move - WASD
Left Player Light Cube - 1
Left Player Dark Cube - 2
Right Player Move - Arrow Keys
Right Player Light Cube - [
Right Player Dark Cube - ]
"F" key will toggle full-screen
"R" key will restart the round
"ESC" key will exit

Each player views a the same cube puzzle ("You only get one"), and by placing cubes cause it to spin.
The challenge is the speed and precision required to place cubes, when your opponent is spinning the puzzle.
The theme comes into play with this shared puzzle.


Thanks for playing!



http://halogenica.net

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness75%
#8Innovation4.17
#163Overall3.49
#196Graphics3.61
#221Fun3.31
#301Audio2.88
#351Mood2.97
#521Theme2.82
#570Humor2.08

Comments

AlanZucconi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:41am

NUOO! I want to play this SOOO badly! :(
Please make a version that you can play with mouse and keyboard!

angelk says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:15am

@AlanZucconi keyboard support added!

jongtao says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:22am

I really like the concept. Unfortunately, I don't have another person to play this with me, but I can see the potential. It's a really smooth game.

ThatGuy says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:01am

Very uniquely done action/puzzle game, great work! Any chance of adding more blocks, like ones to mess with your opponent? Great job!

ambi says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:01am

So many two player games. Just reminds me I don't have any friends :(

kbake says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:05am

Really cool idea! It took me a little bit to understand what was going on but I got it. Can get really crazy with another person playing!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:23am

One of the more innovated entries I've seen from a pure gameplay perspective. Solid puzzle solving action that I'm pretty sure will cause more than a few sibling fistfights. Well done!

Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:19am

Wow really cool idea ! Great job!

zkenshin says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:40am

Really fun, great idea, well done. :)

elcow says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:20am

This was great, I don't have anyone to play it with right now, but I had fun messing around with it on my own. Nice use of theme, and very well polished too. Controlling it with keyboard was a little clunky, but I can tell it was meant to be played with a controller.

Hyde Wyvern says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:25am

I couldn't play because the file seemed to be damaged or something like that, but I saw the gameplay video and it seems like an amazing multi-player experience :D The graphics are clean and charming and the gameplay is a diamond. Good job!!

Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:41am

Interesting game, I like the simplicity of the graphics.

adnzzzzZ says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:32am

Can't really play this because NO FRIENDS, but I can totally see how it's awesome. One of the more interesting entries I've seen in terms of gameplay and pretty neat art style going on too. Good job!

Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:31am

Very clean and interesting game. Took me a while to understand the goal but a very good competitive puzzle game. Well done!

tak says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 4:20am

i didnt have a 2nd person to play this with, but even fiddling with it on my lonesome (:C) i could tell it would be a great competitive multiplayer game :D

the graphics are cool with the light/dark cubes, maybe the grey background looks a bit default?

anyway, really great and thoughtful game, i'm keeping it in my games folder for when i get a chance to challenge someone :D

2HitAdam says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 7:09am

Took a little while to get my head around but was worth it! Very cool, interesting puzzle game.

Dec 25, 2013 @ 3:16pm

Really unique and cool game! Nice job! I included this game in my Ludum Dare Compilation video series, if you'd like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/ph4Rui-mL0k

MRvanderPants says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 3:37pm

Love the sound effects of this game. Try to do more with the background next time.

Cake&Code says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 2:16am

I am just blown away by this! It looks cool, plays smoothly and is just plain fun. Not enough two player games in most LDs, loved it! :)

RodRoy1 says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 11:00am

this idea looks fun, but confusing. I think you would need to practice a bit before you got the hang of it. I wish i could play it with a second player but right now im all alone :(. anyway i watched the video as well to get an idea of play. verry impressive game, can't wait to try it out properly when i have a friend around.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]