December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Sweet Beats

by Incredible Ape - Jam Entry

An attempt at a deck building roguelike: you must collect cards throughout the dungeon to add to your deck, but if you die, you lose your entire deck and must start over.

The idea was that you only get one card per turn, but there are cards that allow you to play additional cards, however, the game is far from complete and does not currently reflect that.

By:
@schonstal
@robrotic
@spamtron
@iaofficial

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1795Coolness0%

Comments

ryanmurakami says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:28am

Love the graphics!

glovecat says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:34am

Amazing graphics and soundtrack!

Sestren says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:34am

I can kinda see where you're going with this, and I would love to see it finished. I think a post-competition version could be a lot of fun to play.

somepx says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:16pm

This screams to be completed! ;)

angelk says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:07am

Definitely points for the idea, it has potential. As always, love the artwork!

Moosefly says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 3:37pm

Sweet graphics and a good soundtrack. Would like to see it finished!

Erkberg says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 2:57am

Far from finished, but this is a solid foundation. Nice graphics and audio!

tnerb says ...
Dec 31, 2013 @ 6:52pm

Extra points for that Earthbound inspiration

Cake&Code says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 6:59pm

LOVE the graphics! It's so whimsical and fun, and like another poster said it reminded me of Earthbound. Really great work! :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]