December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

One Breath

by steamgirl - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You dropped your wedding ring, oh no! You have ONE BREATH to get to the bottom of the ocean to find it.

*Note: Bottom not included, as there wasn't enough time to implement it.

Has a rather rushed tutorial included which is SUPER unstable. If you end up being spirited away by mermaids a few times before you get the hang of it... sorry! :(

The basic controls are left and right mouse button. Hold down left to hold your breath. Click the right to dive up and down.

Hint: Don't dive too deep at the start, you will probably run out of breath before being able to return to the surface.

------------------
UPDATE - 19/12/13

I realised I forgot to enable 2 out of the 3 upgrades so fixed that, and I have now added a web version as well. :)

I also need to add the source...

------------------
UPDATE - 28/12/13

Source, in the form of a .gmz with art/music stripped out, is now added.

I am also working on a post-compo version using all the helpful comments that have been given. Thank you everyone! :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#148Graphics3.75
#201Theme3.44
#228Innovation3.33
#321Audio2.84
#384Mood2.93
#508Humor2.22
#590Overall2.90
#603Fun2.71

Comments

Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:08am

A pretty game and the audio is nice, and the game does feel quite tropical, but as you stated in the description the tutorial is quite unstable.
If the tutorial was fixed up, and the game mechanics maybe a little better explained (I got the hang of them after a bit of experimenting) it could be really cool. :)

Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:53pm

good game steam girl, much trickier than I thought. art work is also very interesting.

steamgirl says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:06pm

Thanks for your comments!!!

@OhFiddleDiddle - I'll try to add a better tutorial at a later point (but clearly sign-post it as outside the jam). :)

van noctar says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:32pm

Gameplay is good!! Innovative and fun!

aviktorov says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:48pm

Nice graphics and quite addictive gameplay, though the controls are hard to learn and a bit hard to play with touchpad. Parameter ups are also cool.

Nelien says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 5:25pm

That was really addictive! I only stopped when things started to cost over 1200 each and it got a little repetitive. Despite the hard to learn controls and somewhat buggy gameplay, it was a lot of fun!

hamster_mk_4 says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 5:29pm

I couldn't find a way of exiting the tutorial, or for that matter not dying. I suspect there are parts of the game I am not experiencing.

steamgirl says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 5:46pm

@Nelien - Thanks, means a lot to hear it! Originally I planned for other things to be down in the deep, such jellyfish which you would have to avoid touching, to mix up the gameplay. Perhaps I'll do a post-compo full-feature, since it sounds like you think it has potential. ^_^

@hamster - Yeah the tutorial is pretty dire- sorry! I added it in in the last hour before submission. Did you try to swim up quickly before you breath ran out? Right-click in the top-half of the screen to swim up, that should avoid the mermaids spiriting you away!

lorniebear says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 6:27pm

Great graphics, was playing it for ages

Dec 23, 2013 @ 1:05pm

Diving and having to hold your breath - great take on the theme!
Cool graphics and sound also.
I too wasn't able to quit the tutorial, but refreshed the page and started a new game. I got my first two parameters half scale upgraded when I died and I found out my progress was gone :(
It's too hardcore this way.

Dec 23, 2013 @ 1:19pm

Took me a while to figure out, but I go there in the end. This is a really imaginative way to use the theme, I especially like that you have to time your dive to coincide with having full lungs

saulopz says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 5:44pm

good game, but hard to play. Great graphics and mechanics.

smash ball says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 11:58pm

Well I didn't realize I lost everything when I died, but there isn't an objective so I didn't care too much. That aside, it was a rather fun game. Took a few dives before I figured out I had to click on goldfish, and even more to see that seaweed was clickable too. I was raking in the cash once that happened.

Dec 29, 2013 @ 8:16pm

Indeed, you first have to find out the controls and get used to them, but otherwise this is a very nice game! It's quite addictive. :) The graphics are nice, and you used the theme in an original way. :D

atombrot says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 8:19pm

was nice to play. graphics are awesome :)

glovecat says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 1:21pm

Nice game :D Good graphics but it's hard to play it :(

BradleySmith says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 10:59pm

Nice visuals. :)

Diptoman says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 6:29am

Some kind of image of someone actually diving would have been nice. :P
Nevertheless, it's a pretty neat game.

kbake says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 11:23pm

I was only one off from having everything mastered, dang! I liked the tropical feel and the music was nice. Some more sound effects would've gone a long way (though the ones you have in there do the job) and adding more feedback when swimming up/down would've been helpful. Overall though it's a really good job, had me playing for a while!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]