December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

One Man Armies

by pirate-rob - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The castle has been over run by slimes! Get over there before someone takes the opportunity to squash the kingdom! Quick! One catch: You start with only one soldier, find more to help you!

Controls:
WSAD - move around.
Left mouse - attack.
Right mouse - special attack, requires blue power.
F4 - Fullscreen

Post-Compo version:
Fixed thieves'(npc) backstab.
You can now press 'e' to ask neutrals to help you.
The Thief(player) is now friendly to thieves(npc) and enemy to peasants.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#77Overall3.71
#78Fun3.62
#117Audio3.35
#122Humor3.33
#142Graphics3.76
#169Mood3.33
#347Theme3.15
#538Innovation2.85
#1305Coolness39%

Comments

Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:23am

Wow, impressive game ! The graphics are really amazing, great gameplay. Love it !

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:23am

Pirate-rob! my man!
This is pretty cool! I love it :D

pirate-rob says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:35am

Thanks Arch.

Seth, finish the game if you haven't! Noa!

ashen says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:04am

Great use of the theme. Really like the building up of your army as you move along. Nice graphics, the forests are cool. Well done, really fun game.

sadiquo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:38pm

Love the graphics and music :D

bentog says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:44pm

That is a lot of content for 48 hours! Cool graphics, music and gameplay!

Thommy says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:57pm

I like the pseudo 3D sprites

gmfk07 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:08am

An excellent game. Quite vast and spectacular, and the game's atmosphere is amazing. The only downside I can think of is that the game gets repetitive, but since each road has many different places to visit, it is barely noticeable.

metkis says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:32am

I like the effects of the faux-3d, looks really cool and is really something that sets it apart even if it isn't visible in screenshots as much. That ending is difficult! Really liked this one.

supremefist says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:34am

Good game! The "fake" tree perspective is really clever!

pirate-rob says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:50pm

Thanks for the reviews everyone!

Diptoman says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:48am

Cool game! I loved the trees parallax xD
And the thief was my favourite, had a great time backstabbing enemies xD
I never could win though, the last boss kept killing me and annihilating my hard-collected army ;_;
The theme usage is ok but not that much since you soon got an army after that one soldier. Was loads of fun, though!

jimmypaulin says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 12:33pm

Superb entry congratulations! I loved the parallax effect you get / 2.5d. The way your troops flock after you is really nicely implemented. The setup and story is first rate as well with loads of humour. I appreciated the "big faces" pixel art versions of the characters as well. You've put a huge amount of love into this and it gleams. Flocking boids I say!

glovecat says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 7:03pm

Great game! Good graphics and music and the best of all, it's funny :D

Good job!

arcticleaf says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 9:45am

very good, thumbs up

Cake&Code says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 2:14am

Haha, really enjoyable. Loved the use of the theme and it made for really fun gameplay. Had a bit of a tough time at first but it began to make more sense as I went along. Loving the pseudo-3d, looks great! :D

jfroco says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 1:31am

Great game. I loved the 3d effect. Congrats.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]