December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Chipper

by Avichal - Jam Entry

"The Chipper" is an stealth action game where you play as an robot who has to escape from the robotics lab full of giant and dumb robots,your only friend is your gadget "The Chipper" which releases a single EMP, which can disable the enemy robots.
This single EMP which can be retrieved from the disabled robots before they reboot and become active again.

Find your way to the exit and save your robot !
You might face some bugs regarding A.I but if you play the game, I hope you enjoy it :)

Controls:
Right click to move
Left click to shoot
Move in safe zones or on the button triggers to initiate them

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#215Theme(Jam)2.94
#307Audio(Jam)2.73
#328Graphics(Jam)3.00
#401Fun(Jam)2.50
#420Mood(Jam)2.44
#426Overall(Jam)2.69
#452Innovation(Jam)2.31
#1479Coolness28%

Comments

code-11 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:42am

I liked the one shot mechanic, and it forced me to be a lot more stealthy. However, sometimes the shot dissapeared completely, or no clipped through walls which made the game harder. Looks cool and was fun to play.

mtinkerhess says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:43am

Nice graphics and music, responsive controls and mechanics.

Avichal says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:21am

Thank you, both of you :)

@code-11, yes the shot might get lost sometimes...it's one of the bugs :D

Nelien says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 6:02pm

Very nice use of sound! Finally someone who doesn't neglect it! A bit buggy unfortunately, but I liked the Right-click control scheme. Worked quite well!

Sebastian says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 6:03pm

The character renders over everything, which can look odd at times. Very interesting graphical style though. Right click is not the best button to use in a web build because of the context menu and when I go full screen my mouse gets replaced with a huge, cyan, striped texture! Good work otherwise though ;)

Avichal says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 4:04pm

Thank you, Nelien :) I will update the project during this week itself to eliminate some bugs :)

Hey Sebastian, thanks for playing and pointing out the mouse cursor issue, we will try to get rid of it :)

BadPaul34 says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 2:49am

The character movement is weird, but it kind of fit the game. yeah, care to the right click with webplayer ;)

Too bad it is buggy, else the concept is interesting.

Dec 23, 2013 @ 7:46pm

The concept was good. This is the only LD28 game I have played so far where the "you only get one shot" mechanic has actually worked in the game's favor. That being said, the game was a bit glitchy (robots still looking electrified after 10 seconds, robots that would not follow you, etc.) Also, the game became too difficult after you die because all of the robots would pile up where you died. This problem could have been avoided by having all of the robots return to their starting positions when you die. All in all, this is a very good entry, but some problems make it frustrating.

van noctar says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 8:31pm

Great graphics :D

MaTX says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 9:09pm

Not too bad considering the time put in it. The guards fail very often though, and the web version is a bit messy (especially with clicks).

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]