December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

You only have each other.

by dkilford - 48 Hour Compo Entry

An adventure game about bringing your companion through a journey.

If you somehow get stuck, (Keyboard) Y or (Gamepad) Start will restart the level.

Gamepad is recommended but not at all necessary.
Gamepad Controls are as follows:
Left joystick to move,
A to jump,
X to attack
Start to restart.

1.01 Update notes:
Uploaded Mac and Web builds.
Turned on Anti-Aliasing.
Fixed restart button not working outside of editor.
Shifted text boxes to not clip into terrain as much.
Added Escape to quit on final level.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#91Mood3.55
#158Graphics3.71
#212Overall3.38
#342Audio2.81
#386Humor2.50
#459Fun2.91
#498Theme2.86
#685Innovation2.61
#1083Coolness46%

Comments

Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:26am

I'm really diggin' the shaders for this

dkilford says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:15am

Thanks! It's something I spent several hours on getting to look right. Most objects are using specular diffuse maps with two tones. The lighting is mostly a directional coloured light, as well as a point light above the player so they can see depth around them due to the ortho camera.

The objects that go transparent use triggers that change fade alpha, and use transparent specular materials which don't seem to cast shadows. I'll probably rebuild the game with AA when I get the chance too.

kirbytails7 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:32am

Pretty simplistic, but it looks very good.

DragonSix says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:38am

Excellent game, all it really miss are better fighting mechanics (showing the sword at all time made it confusing, and the enemies had too much life).
Except that, it's a solid concept made in a very polished way. A good adventure.

dkilford says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:33am

Thanks! I played around with the fighting mechanics for quite a while to try and make them feel better, but it's incredibly hard to get right in such a short space of time.

I totally agree that the combat mechanics need the most work, and if I were to continue working on this it's going to be the first thing I change.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:03am

Good game, i like the concept, but the movement looks weird for me, but anyway i think this game is good and funny. Good job :)

Ditto says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:10am

So. Damn. Gorgeous. Birds chirping fits so good also. The controls are really weird though, tried playing with a controller, but had to sit at an angle to the screen for it to feel somewhat natural.. I love the "companion cube"-style mechanic though!

Diptoman says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:12am

Some bugs here and there, but looks pretty and plays good. Good work!

Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:16am

Really enjoyed it!
Very pretty and it's the first Ludum Dare game I've played for this theme where I actually really liked a character. Well done. :)

Kohijin says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:41am

The minimalistic style works really great. Took me a moment to realize that the other cube is supposed to be concious but it's progressing very nicely. My only gripe is with the controls not being direct, i.e I press a single direction and he goes diagonally. Anyway, very good job!

Dyn says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:47am

Very nice.
Reminds me old game Snake Rattle'n'Roll

Fadobo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:50am

Really cool game! Reminded me of both "Thomas was alone" and Ico. I am not a huge fan of the isometric Q-bertian controls, but it was alright after some getting used to.

afterisk says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:57pm

Very cool environmental puzzle, had fun going through levels! Love the friend helping friend concept, mechanics the ambience. Because of iso view controls are a bit confusing :)

PaperBlurt says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 1:50pm

One of the best graphical styles I've seen!
Amazed..

vinull says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 4:07am

Nice look to the game, not quite sure it has a strong tie to the theme. It got a bit repetitive by the end and I could use the pathing AI to just line up and kill all the enemies. I do like the mechanic of moving the "companion cube" with you through the level!

Elatronion says ...
Dec 31, 2013 @ 2:43am

Wow, nice game! It was, outstanding! I am suprized that a game could be this long in 48 hours!

SK16Games says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 4:39pm

This game was so good ;D The graphics was amazing, I really liked the ortho camera. The sound effects, was very good as well. Gamepad was a cool feature, I really liked playing it on a controller ;D I didn't participate this time, so I can't rate it, but if I could I would give it 6/6. ;D

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]