December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Grenade Blast 'Em

by GibTreaty - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A game in which you use a grenade to solve puzzles. You get one grenade per level.

Features -
9 Levels
Grenades
Physics
Lots and lots of vertex coloring

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#86Fun3.59
#135Innovation3.53
#147Overall3.53
#165Theme3.50
#309Graphics3.29
#517Audio2.46
#523Mood2.71
#629Humor1.95
#1305Coolness39%

Comments

Brad1809 says ...
Dec 14, 2013 @ 4:58pm

This looks really cool so far! I will definitely be looking for your final version when the time is up :)

Adammantube says ...
Dec 14, 2013 @ 5:39pm

Cool, but it isn't in the theme. But Cool!

Brad1809 says ...
Dec 14, 2013 @ 8:06pm

I believe the theme's application is only being able to use one grenade per level :)

minibutmany says ...
Dec 14, 2013 @ 9:09pm

With more levels, this could be a winner!

WebFreak001 says ...
Dec 14, 2013 @ 11:57pm

I like the physics

GibTreaty says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 9:34am

Added quite a bit, including a Medium Difficulty tier. There's only one map for medium difficulty but I'm trying to think of some more levels to make (I suck at level design so it'll take me awhile). Once you reach the medium tier, that unlocks the second grenade type which you can use in previous levels.

Brad1809 says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 5:55pm

I like the new additions :) In the level which has Thanks for playing written over that hole in the wall, is there a way to win? Or is it just a mess around level? :) Either way, the game was fun :)

JellyMan64 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:11am

I am loving this game, it's just cool man.

GibTreaty says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:41am

@Brad1809
Yea it's just an extra sandbox level.

tatelax says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:35am

Awesome game man!

midgety says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:57am

Nice idea! Pretty fun to play too!

Croze says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:23am

Really fun and innovative! Although, in case you further develop this, make sure you test each level thoroughly because I was able to grenade jump my way through nearly every single level.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:24am

Excellent puzzle game and great use of theme

ParaPup says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:29am

I like the concept here it was something special.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:30am

Awesome, the physics feel tight. Grenade jumping is a lot of fun :p.
There's not a lot of distinguishing features when it comes to the aesthetics, but that's the only somewhat negative thing I can say about this game.
Good job!

Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:32am

Nice game! Good idea and nice graphics

mcgraw says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:07am

Solid concept here! Great work!

Colorvade says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:16am

Neat. It's cool that you managed to incorporate a weapon mechanic into a puzzle game.

ossah says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:00am

Really cool game. One of my most enjoyed so far.

ParaPup says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:47pm

I played this when you had two levels now you got more :D nice work I enjoyed it alot.

JackBid says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:03pm

One of the best I have played so far! A clever link to the theme and great game play, excellent job!

isaacmarco says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:58pm

Beautiful and imaginative

Mnemusyne says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:23pm

Interesting idea. The 3d graphics could be nicer and less grey.

eternalmajin says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:29pm

I really enjoyed this and would definitely play more as you develop more levels. Grenade jumping was too much fun and I feel like once the level called for it, all the others became less of "how does he want me to beat this?" and more "how can I jump over something with this grenade to win instead?" Not sure if that was intended or not.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:38pm

Really nice looking game. I loved the challenge to it and the 3D look. I included it in my Ludum Dare 28 video compilation series, if you'd like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/sSLhI-W0qCg

GibTreaty says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:32am

Some of the levels (I have tested all of them multiple times) I did intentionally keep in some way of grenade jumping rather than solving the puzzle. If you didn't know how to grenade jump, that feeling that you get when you figure it out and can completely skip the puzzle is awesome so I left it in there.

DanielSnd says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:47am

Nice puzzle game and great use of theme!

SnoringFrog says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:16am

Using a grenade for a puzzle game was interesting. Definitely felt well done. I was going to suggest having some sort of indicator about when the grenade was going to detonate, but then I realized it was there all along and I just hadn't been looking at it lol.

lightsoda says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:12pm

Some clever level design built on a decent game idea.

Und[0]ne Devs says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 6:39pm

Nice mechanics, it just needs a little polish, nice work anyway!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]