December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Social Avarice of an Adult Mayfly

by Several - Jam Entry

A wobbly 2D game with flying and social functions.

Play as an adult mayfly. Live your one allotted day in one slightly-longer-than-usual minute. Attend what seems to be the same party over and over again. Make first impressions.

Contains alcohol & tobacco references, and maybe a couple of so-called 'dictionary words'.


TO PLAY:

As fast as possible:

1. Check "important guests." Note what they like & don't like. Note their appearance.

2. Click on the options below to dress accordingly.

3. Click the "GO" button to attend the party.

4. Fly around the party with the arrow keys or WASD. Consume alcohol from a straw if necessary.

5. Try to get reasonably close to the guests, so they will notice your appearance. (Or, if they like it when you stand close, stand as close as you can without bumping their wings.)

6. When you have made your good impressions, head to the exit to prepare for the next party.

7. Repeat as often as possible. Time or drink will stop you soon enough.



Pro-tips:

1. If you're not running the webplayer build, you may have to exit by using the appropriate hotkey for your system. Sorry about that.

2. The crudely-drawn gifts portray the following:

(from left to right)
Gray rectangle-thing: Flask
Green round thing: Moneybag
White-ish angular things: baseball tickets (pointless)
Brown oblong: cigar
Magenta-ish angular thing: perfume bottle
Blue with brown on top thing: Cologne bottle



Additional notes:

I tried learning new things, making everything (barring what Unity provides) from scratch, sleeping 6-hour nights, and doing a normal Monday workday + commute within the time limit. Perhaps next time I will be less ambitious.

Let me know if the Windows and Linux builds work. I'll track down someone with those operating systems.

Might try to develop it further. This isn't quite what I'd originally envisioned.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#62Humor(Jam)3.41
#105Innovation(Jam)3.34
#274Theme(Jam)2.74
#410Overall(Jam)2.74
#431Mood(Jam)2.39
#436Graphics(Jam)2.55
#457Fun(Jam)2.32
#478Audio(Jam)1.25

Comments

code-11 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:58am

I would like to have more interaction with the party-goers. As it is, there are only a few that you can interact with each round, which makes most of the game a frantic search for them. That could be good, but I think the reaction-time-flying aspect of the game is not as fun as the planning stage. It would be cool to emphasize the score you're getting in real-time.

Lacutis says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:07am

Funny game, I like the idea of it and the way you used the theme.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:03am

I very much like the idea of using the life span of a mayfly as the focus for a game but the interaction mechanic is a little vague.

natpat says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:20am

There was a lot to take in, and I'm not sure I got it all. But it was fun, and nice to try and plan your outfit and gifts to please everyone.

pkenney says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:29am

Ha! Crazy topic and cool style, I spent a while dressing for the first party but I blew it completely. I sort of got the hang of it a little after a few parties, but I missed most of the points.

MrTedders says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:42am

Yeah a little more interaction in the part sections would go a long way. Well done tho, it was an interesting idea!

porglezomp says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:22am

Quit interesting, I liked planning for all of the different people, but I didn't really feel any payoff to it. Probably because I didn't understand how to play during the party.

javifugitivo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:10am

Its funny how get ready for the party! Lol

Hyde Wyvern says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:24am

Really interesting idea, I like how you oriented the idea and the game mechanics. What I would consider is improving the sprites for more detailed ones so it's easier to spot the characters. Amazing job, I loved your idea :D

davisan says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:29pm

Very original idea. Maybe larger sprites would help to identify better the guests. But overall, this can be really funny with dialogues and animations.

steamgirl says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 5:18pm

I liked the concept more than the actual execution. My favourite part was planning beforehand, I got very confused about what I was actually supposed to do at the party. Also, quite a few times the guests liked teetotallers and drunks but I was never quite sure how much I had to drink and whether I was drinking at all (until alcohol did me in). I also noticed there's a countdown in the planning stage which seems to be in a slightly weird place?

I agree with what others have said, more feedback during the real-time game as code-11 suggested would be great, and I agree with davisan, it has the potential to be really hilarious with a bit of dialogue. :)

Overall though, good job! Hope you carry on with this game and polish it up!

Dec 23, 2013 @ 3:41am

Hahah nice game, I was not expecting that ;)

Xanjos says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 6:19pm

Took me a while to work out how to actually "win" but the concept was pretty interesting.

pkenney says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 3:05am

Leaving a second comment here, because when someone came over and said "So show me something interesting from LD," this game popped into my mind. Gave it another go together and definitely scored a lot more points this time around, having some sort of clue.

Toward the end of this second run I realized you could leave the party... it seemed like maybe you can alter your dress and change who you might appeal to. What a poser. ;) I never exploited this strategy, but I guess it shows how deep you can get into the skill curve of TSAoaAM.

My crude strategy was still to just dress in a generally approval-worthy way and then buzz around to each group while trying not to bump them. I think my chances would improve short-term if I could better make out who is who at the party. I think my chances to learn and get better at the game would improve if it was more in my face than "++!" for example, "Mr Soandso Loves your tie! ++" Or perhaps colored word ballons with "What's the awful smell?" etc, where red loses points and green is good.

However I appreciate that this sort of concrete information may be for the plebians and philistines, and could erode the mystique.

Anyway, thought you might like hearing that your game stuck in my brain after reviewing >100 entries, nice work.

mtinkerhess says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 2:53am

I like the mechanics, I just wish there was more of an objective. Cool idea, maybe there's some way to expand upon the idea of socializing to make it more game-y.

mmickyman says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 9:20am

Your screenshot didn't give it all ahah.

Moosefly says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 3:47pm

As others have said before me, needs more feedback. Idea was great, execution a bit lacking. Anyway I enjoyed it :D

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]