December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

laserbug

by OddballDave - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Aim your laser to direct the beam to pass through each target a number times equal to the value on its front. You will need to bounce the beam off the mirrors in order to hit all the targets the correct number of times. You only get one chance on each level before you must move onto the next, so aim carefully.

*Win/Mac ports coming soon

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#376Theme3.12
#427Innovation3.00
#528Overall2.97
#603Fun2.71
#689Audio1.97
#726Graphics2.47
#732Humor1.69
#844Mood2.20

Comments

AlanZucconi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:37pm

I actually wanted to do something similar! :p
Hey, it would be nice having a trajectory prediction, at least in the first levels!

wdebowicz says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:14pm

In such games normallly you make fast tries and corrections. Now you have only one chance so You have make big simulation in your brain before making decision. Cool feature!

Venks says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:16pm

Very innovative idea right here. I'm not too good at the game, but with enough time even I can line up a few shots.

Nancybeast says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:17pm

Fun game but I don't think the way you utilized the theme worked in your favour. I constantly found myself really wanting another go x_x. Otherwise a good game :)

Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:17pm

I really love how you only get one shot per level

grifdail says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:29pm

There is small bugs: Sometime Laser dont hit the circle, even if it go right through it (for instance the big 6). However, i liked the game.

Cake&Code says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:31pm

I love these kinds of games, and although I can see why you'd avoid putting the full path prediction in this game it would be nice to have the initial path before any bouncing get traced simply because it's hard to see where the beam would go based on a mouse cursor (sorry touchscreens, you're even less accurate!).

Overall I had a lot of fun playing. The first time I did decently well, then I did worse, then I did horrendously, then I did better than the first time using what I'd learned from the mistakes! Awesome :)

OddballDave says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:44pm

@grifdail: The beam must go through the target the exact number of times. No more, no less. If you believe it is then could I get a screenshot to help me find the issue.

jdpalmer says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:43pm

Neat game - my son loves these kinds of laser alignment games.

Faust says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:48pm

Nice idea, good work. :)

dsoft20 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:51pm

Pretty game

scoobyben says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:57pm

Nice, would prefer it if you could keep trying each level until you hit the solution, but I guess that wouldn't fit the theme as well :P

cappelnord says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 3:30pm

Solid execution, fun to play, not very innovative. I think it would have been better with more attempts, abandoning the theme altogether :)

jacklehamster says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 8:25pm

It's interesting, but you really should have the player restart the same level until they solve it (or at least a button to do so). The point of the game is to solve puzzles, not to get a high score.

jonask says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 9:07pm

Very fun

rnlf says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 1:32am

This is ridiculously difficult! After 10 attempts I managed to complete one level! Very nice execution. But so, so hard!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]