December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

PixelSurgeon

by ponk - Jam Entry

PixelSurgeon is a game inspirated by Rick Levine's Microsurgeon and Conway's Game of Life.

You are inside a human body ravaged by sickness.
Destroy bad cells before they kill vital cells.

Controls :
Move with arrows
Lazer with clic
Aim with mouse

There is not yet real win and lost condition.
Game still need to be improved.

Released with Processing
Concept and Code : Leon Denise
Pixel Anatomy : Simon Denise

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#19Innovation(Jam)3.86
#236Graphics(Jam)3.32
#239Overall(Jam)3.14
#321Humor(Jam)2.14
#340Fun(Jam)2.67
#387Mood(Jam)2.57
#467Audio(Jam)1.48
#486Theme(Jam)2.08

Comments

Sillyapple says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 6:45pm

No link?

ponk says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 8:02pm

Sorry for the fake link !
I wasn't aware that was an entry submission and not a post submission.
Early prototype uploaded in 3min.
There is still a lot to do, but you can enjoy this early engine with no real win / lose condition.
A real game will take shape in a close future

Piat says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:46am

looks like a good start.

feizenbara says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:05am

It funny, I made a compo entry based on game of life too on a smaller scale :-)
Keep it up!

AlanZucconi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:31pm

I am the biggest fan of Conway's Game of Life on this planet.
*_* Thank you for this! ;p
The only thing is the theme, that it seems is not really "related" hehe! ;p

ponk says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:52pm

The game was made for another game jam (almost same timing as Ludum Dare #28) with the theme "Sciences".
So yeah the theme "You Only Get One" was not known at the early development time.
But Ludum Dare is so awesome. I spend a lot of time playing all those great games made by passionate people on their own free time. So we wanted to share our game with you, like you all do, even if the theme is not related

meek says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:55pm

The use of Conway's game of life to generate different styles of attacking organisms was very clever. A very interesting idea for a game...I felt like i was fighting a losing battle tho

yapshuter63 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:59pm

too bad that I am on a mac and can't play. But it is nice to see a game released in processing :P

ponk says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:07am

@meek :
yes ! we need more game using cellular automata ! conway's game of life is a strong set of rules, but we could imagine a lot a different behaviors.
also uploaded a "less" harder build, but still with no end

@yapshuter63 :
we will upload multiple OS builds as soon as possible.
still, if you really want to try, you can download processing for mac and build the sources
processing is so nice ! just my type for prototyping

LemonTree says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:33am

Great idea! And nice pixel art!

Taldius says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:33am

The game is really dynamic to play and the concept is completly crazy.
Good job Leonidas

Alismuffin says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:52pm

Man this is interesting!

MaTX says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:08pm

Not bad, but it's a bit plain.

PaperBlurt says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:11pm

I like a lot, new take on graphics and also gameplay!
Good work..

Cipher says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:13pm

Loved just watching the sickness progress and letting the human die! >:D

pereubu says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:22pm

awesum, even just watching it is cool

Chinchilla says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:22pm

Very very cool, and gross, and innovative, and gross! Awesome job! :D

Lissar says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:32pm

Very interesting concept, and I love the way the game looks. Being a lone cell against encroaching disease did not make me feel like I had a hope of winning, however.

ponk says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:55pm

thanks for the lovable comments !

@Lissar :
Yes the game still need to have a goal, an end, but this goal is closely linked to the cells activities. And I think we need to develop further the behaviors of cells inside an organ.
So for now it's look more like a sandbox, showing the idea of the project, than a game.

lilinx says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:13pm

Can't run it : it opens and closes immediately. Could you give info on how to run this? Your screenshots look amazing.
If I understand well, this wan't made during the 72 hours?

ponk says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:30am

I just uploaded a build with java embed. May be it's a java update missing issue ?
If you still can't play, and have the patience to download processing to build the game with the sources.
Meanwhile I'm working hard on a new engine with processing.js for a web deployment.

I think we started at least 10h before the ludum dare's theme anoucement, and we had 48h to make it. But the two events were linked. The place were we made the game was a real world gathering for this ludum dare in Paris, at Cite des Sciences.

bentog says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:36pm

Great use of Conway's game of life! Didn't see relation to the theme, though.

jacklehamster says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:39pm

An interesting take on "the game of life"

ittlebit says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:07pm

it's an interesting mashup. It will be nice to nice where you go with it!

mmickyman says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:21pm

Bonus point for Game of Life ahah.

brogrammers says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:13pm

Interesting, nice idea, it's a shame it wasn't expanded a bit more.

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:01pm

Nice idea! (I have to confess to being a bit squeamish... even playing Operation makes me faint)

joppiesaus says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:02pm

Nice game!

Madball says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:23pm

A great idea, but it's not a finished game.
The player seemed somewhat slow. Maybe you could make the shooting range bigger.
Enemies, on the contrary, spawn too fast. You should make enough time between waves for player to kill all the spawned cells, or at least almost kill. If you want to make it a sort of a defence game, of course.
Oh, I just came up with an idea. You know, there are different rules of Conway's Game of Life. You can make diffirent levels with different diseases with different rules. This way you can make an actual game about healing many people. :D
The web version is very laggy, I had to download a windows version anyway. It also was a bit laggy. You might want to make the level smaller.
Oh, it seems you make the game automatically color the body depending on nearby tiles. I'm not sure if it's bad or good, but I expected it to be consisting of two images: an unchanging body on the background, and a virus layer with gray bad cells, black dead cells and transparent everything else in front of the body.

I like your idea a lot, and I want you to develop it further. I see so many possibilities!

Mago says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:06pm

original, and nice pixel art. great idea with use of Conway's game of life

Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:12pm

Yay for Game of Life! Great concept, I felt scared and panicked the whole time.

supremefist says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:04pm

This is great and was really scary! Loved the clever use of Conway's.

Dec 21, 2013 @ 4:24pm

Cool concept !! The graphics are really nice ! I love the simplistic way I can cure the patient ;)

Great work !

ponk says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 8:59pm

Thank for the nice comments !

@Madball :
Thank you for your feedback. I have a lot idea with this project and don't know where to start. I heard your suggestion and made an update with your idea.
I think it will be three modes in the game :
1 - You Only Get One cell (need to develop a level editor for this one)
2 - Pixel restoration
3 - Pixel restoration with mutation

JohnnySix says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 11:32pm

Nice use of the Conway's life algorithm, and saving the potato was rewarding. :)

ViliX says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 7:27pm

Interesting idea kept me playing :)

AMSmirnov says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 9:05pm

Great idea. You must include this pattern
http://www.conwaylife.com/wiki/Rabbits
It's destroy all ) if you don't stop it in time.
PS. Health fire moves with you, I think it isn't correct. And need time to adjust for it.

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 10:10am

Interesting.

somepx says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 9:10pm

A cool experiment! Should be slightly faster

Jan 6, 2014 @ 5:52am

Would it be possible to add a JavaScript version for the folks with Mac or Linuxes? Processing has a JavaScript Mode.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]