December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Like a Boss

by Skulls - Jam Entry

My interpretation of the theme was that you only get one enemy per stage, a boss fight. There are four boss fights in total. You don't get any weapons and have to defeat the bosses using your wits and dexterity. The game has some graphics that were made by Colin Calpurso and some developer graphics I made myself.

Controls:
WASD or arrows keys to move

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness72%
#174Fun(Jam)3.14
#214Innovation(Jam)3.00
#240Humor(Jam)2.46
#312Overall(Jam)3.00
#363Theme(Jam)2.47
#387Mood(Jam)2.57
#459Audio(Jam)1.65
#481Graphics(Jam)2.30

Comments

TheColorMan says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:57am

That was a ton of fun! I really like figuring out how to beat each boss and I like the challenge!

JellyMan64 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:02am

My fire wall is warning me not to open it sorry, I'm gogint o listen it.

glovecat says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:07am

It's an entertaining game :D

I found a bug, when the mouse it's close to the wall and then it turns into a lion, the lion get stuck and doesn't move.

whiteknife says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:16am

The boss fights were pretty creative, fun stuff!

01rafael says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:03am

good idea, small characters is cool

ChuiGum says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:08am

Very cool idea for the boss battles! Like it a lot, very nice

@TeddyNashor says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:11am

I love games that require figuring it all out! Good job and thanks!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:16am

It was fun to solve the puzzle of each boss, and even once it was solved it was hard to implement the strategy. Good stuff.

Tomski says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:16am

Took me a depressing amount of time to work out that ball level, time to sleep I think. That Lion was awesome!

louis.denizet says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:53am

good idea, liked it =)

lilinx says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:59am

creative puzzles

ambi says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:35am

Interesting mechanics and varying boss fights.

javifugitivo says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:35am

Fun game dude!

Ekilibr says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:43pm

Funny game, good job :)

Diptoman says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:17pm

What would've been epic is the "Like a boss" (lonelyisland) song playing in the background! xD
Jk, good stuff you got here!

ColdBrain says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:06am

Very polished gameplay, nice to play this game. Thank you.

JaymeeMak says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:07am

Interesting approach; I enjoyed figuring out the boss fights without having any weapons.

dsoft20 says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:32am

Nice entry an game mechanics, dexterity is an ability that is rarely to see in a modern game :D

Nelien says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:49am

Haha, that was quite entertaining! Nice work!

fullmontis says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:03am

Very fun and interesting game! Reminds me of dark souls, where you have to discover a strategy to beat a boss and implement it. Very fun!

Brian says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:25am

Nice concept and mechanics. Simply clever.

Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:29am

I like the game. Pretty fun. I couldt beat the lion, but it was really fun to fight. Great work.

kibertoad says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 1:25am

Gameplay was nice.

tchem says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 5:39pm

excellent idea!! great minimalism graphics and gameplay!

Dec 24, 2013 @ 5:46pm

THAT WAS THE MOST FUN GAME EVER!!! GREAT WORK, I LOVE IT! Nice graphics, awesome ideas for the bosses! if you add music it would be epic! :D

AlexFili says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 9:19am

Unfortunately this would not launch on my computer. It attempts to run but then just closes itself.

Skulls says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 2:20pm

Thanks for all the nice comments, I'm glad people had fun playing the game.
@AlexFili I'm sorry to hear that the game didn't run for you, I just tested it again to make sure the link worked. It worked for me so I'm not sure how to fix it.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]