December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Last Match

by Ashtom - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Find your way through the maze.
You Only Get One Match (don't stray too far from a source of fire).

Use WASD or arrow keys to move and escape to go back to menu.

Here is the best possible build I could get on time.
There is only one level but at least it works and I hope it won't be easy for you to escape! Also, no music, no sound (not enough time).

Thanks for playing!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#336Theme3.17
#399Innovation3.04
#613Fun2.70
#618Graphics2.70
#633Overall2.83
#650Mood2.55
#1041Coolness47%

Comments

gman1012 says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 4:00am

This is a really cool puzzle concept. Can't wait for more.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:00am

This is great, its a very fun adventure like game. Adding horror elements to this would make this game amazing.

mcapraro says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:11am

looks really neat, wish there was a osx or web version

Ashtom says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:46am

Thanks for the comments, I'll try to make an OSX version.

Ashtom says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:32pm

It looks like making an OSX port would require to pay for a developer certificate , so I made a web version instead: http://www.ashtom.net/games/ld28/
Make sure to expand your browser window!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:15pm

Great little idea, would like to see an expanded version

Jacic says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:21pm

It's a pretty cool idea! :)

JaymeeMak says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:21pm

Web version: I pressed space to enter, but it brought me to a black screen and never loaded.

dray says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:33pm

Nice little game, don't know if it's a bug but when i lit a fire, the other go off. this can be amechanic but because they are all lit on your screenshot i don't know. take some time to find the exit the puzzle isn't that easy :)

Will Edwards says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:42pm

The thing with the web version is you often start off-screen. As a result, you usually just think the game isn't loading :(

The light was cool graphics, the character a bit more basic.

fysx says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:46pm

Very cool game! Best use of the theme I have seen so far!

The only thing that bugged me was getting stuck in walls when walking along them.

PlayHabit says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:51pm

I like this concept.

I had the same bug as dray; when I lit a fire source any sources other than the one I just lit would go dark (except for the blue one, which always lit its surroundings). I could still recharge using the other fire sources, even though they were not providing light. This was on the web version.

Moist says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:02pm

Fun concept! The shadows system is really cool. Well done.

Ashtom says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:34pm

Thanks everyone! I'm sorry about the wall collision, I know it's very bad and if I could have made it better on time, I would have!
You would need a big resolution to see the full level (I wanted the whole maze to be visible all at once and maybe it wasn't the best idea...).
As for the light that goes off after you light another one, it was first a performance tweak (first time I use surface and raytraced shadows and it's very resource intensive when badly used like here) that I actually thought was a good addition to the mechanic to increase the feeling of being lost.

badlydrawnrod says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:31pm

Clever. Creepy horror sounds would have made it much better, but I hope you continue to develop it. Love the lighting.

bitowl says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:12pm

Lightning is awesome (except on the player)
But it would need some more explanation (what's this bar on the top good? when is it there at all? we can only go trough the exit if the torch is lightet?)
But I think it's good that we can see the shape of the maze when we look exactly (or turn up the brightness of the screen) as else you have no way to find back if you light goes out.

Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:44am

I really like the "one match" idea, and the lighting effects are pretty cool. The game would DEFINITELY profit from some ambient music though. And yes, the collision is a little annoying.. :)

Dry Tree says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:29pm

really nice lighting effects, and a good concept too

BradleySmith says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 6:20pm

Neat idea.. love the lighting in this. :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]