December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Vega Core

by PTSnoop - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Use the arrow keys to move your spaceship. Press space to shoot.

In the centre of the screen is a supernova bomb, which will detonate if you touch any of the hexagonal detectors or leave the screen. You only get one plasma torpedo to destroy the bomb with. Good luck.

---

This game (apart from the music and sound effects) was written in six hours, on a netbook, on the train to and from a friend's Christmas party. It's been a fairly busy weekend...

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#214Fun3.32
#230Overall3.36
#271Audio2.95
#273Innovation3.25
#355Graphics3.20
#415Theme3.04
#447Mood2.84
#1041Coolness47%

Comments

drentsoft says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:08am

I really quite liked this :)

ParaPup says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:53am

This was very fun to play and has some nice gameplay to it.

leafo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:21am

cool game, the difficulty of same level seems to vary a lot with the variation in speed

hirsch says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:11pm

I like those type of games: Not many features, but really polished with a nice ambient sound and little details. Although it is really hard, it is still fun to play. Good job :)

josefnpat says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:51am

Very nice game. I see how you fit "You only have one" into the game, but it might be a bit punishing. Nice job!

sfiq12 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:46pm

This game is brutal. I like it, maybe I should work on a difficult game in the next LD.
Loving it so far
Made it to level 4, that level was pretty impossible given the bomb's projectile speed

mortl8324 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:13pm

Awesome game. Very difficult to control, but in a good way. Easy to do, difficult to master.

Gravedrinker says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:21pm

Pretty tricky to control, a longer aiming bar would have been a bit better maybe. The graphics and audio is nice and when you actually manage to clear a stage it feels great.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:06pm

thanks for checking out my game, but i'm sad to say that your game doesn't work on my computer. but i like your artstyle, that much i can say!

AlanZucconi says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:58pm

Nice mechanics! :)

PTSnoop says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:58pm

kristoffer: Ah, I see what you mean. I've made the same mistake as last LD and released a 64-bit Windows version...

I've now replaced the Windows link with a 32-bit build, so it should hopefully work on all Windows machines now.

Adam Tea says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:24pm

At first I was immediately like "Super hexagon!!". Nice little game, though.

Nelien says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:55pm

Looks very nice! Though gameplay is a bit dull after a while.

glovecat says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:25pm

Very very very original, I like it. This game for mobile devices will be superb!

Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:51pm

yay, it works! very challenging, polished, and innovative design. good job, and very impressive considering the time limit.

Chaoseiro says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:58pm

Nice and challenging game! I took me a while to figure out the projectile velocity depended on the ship's :P

Cash says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:51pm

Fantastic game,I arrived at level 6

BeardoGames says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:24pm

Of all the games I've played so far in this LD, this is the one that I think I was most excited to try, and it definitely did not disappoint me! I'm completely humbled that you were able to pull off such a nice looking and playing game in the style of Star Castle in so short a period of time. Excellent, excellent work!

Cake&Code says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 2:12am

Very enjoyable if a bit difficult, felt like it would get wildly more easy or difficult randomly.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]