December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Curtain Call

by raarlac - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Be the guest in this insane talent festival and try to prove yourself, because you only get one chance to live.

Controls: Keyboard Left, Right and Space keys ONLY

Tools:
- Unity3D
- Photoshop
- GarageBand ~I miss my FL studio :(
- Bfxr

Version changes:
1.0 - Initial Release
1.1 - Added OS X version
Typo fixed in the last scene
1.2 - Added Android version
1.3 - Increased all text speed (I actually didn't like what it turned to, but you complained on the comments so whatever)

EDIT: All the levels have at least 2 endings, so try to get the good ending and save lives. The differences in the actions to get the good endings are very slight. I did it more to be like a bonus for those who find, so I won't spoil how to do it :D

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#83Humor3.54
#113Graphics3.85
#201Audio3.11
#344Innovation3.13
#368Mood2.94
#511Theme2.83
#521Overall2.98
#564Fun2.77

Comments

Tyro says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:01am

Pretty cute. I think there was a typo at the end? Something about avoiding all that people being killed? It should be "those" or something. No biggie though, great job!

ColeSlawGames says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:29am

Very interesting concept! A tad too short for my taste, but hey, it was 48 hours. I personally think the whole 3 judges gag has been done to death, but I have to thank you for mixing it up with that blind guy (he was hilarious!)

Throughout most of the game, I really wasn't sure about what to do. I suppose that was the point of your game, but honestly, I couldn't find anything to do differently with the rock and the basketball. I didn't feel compelled to try again either.

On a positive note, I liked the art style and the music a lot. Really fit the tone of the game and made it look unique. Good job!

raarlac says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:39am

@Tyro Thanks for the note, I will correct it :) I was expecting to have some typos since my english is not that good lol

@ColeSlawGames thank you for the comment! Actually the differences to get the good endings are very slight. I did it more to be like a bonus for those who find, so I won't spoil how to do it xD

ashen says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:58am

Great presentation and mood. The facial animations where cool, the people really had personality. A laid back and fun game. Well done!

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:39pm

Production quality is great! The ball task was the only one where I could work out what to do though. (I possibly missed an instruction somewhere?) Really nice though.

ZYXer says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:40pm

Really funny game. I couldn't stop laughing at "it was a blind date". Well done!

The text display is a little slow though.

Volute says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:24pm

I made them coffee and they spared my life ! Nice take on the theme, about the cruelty of those situations where it's so important to make a good first impression on people that don't care about you and only have a tenth of their attention to give you.

I thought when I lost the first time that the presenter was going to shoot me with what I thought was a shotgun. Would have been even darker hahaha. (I realised later that he was just holding a mic)

RoseNinja says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:56pm

nice game, i liked how now i feel bad i couldnt save anything well done awesome art.

Zephyr Raine says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:02pm

The "blind" dude is so funny, haha. Great work here.

indegame says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:43am

Funny,but the cut-scene are so slow. Let us skip them next time :D

Ace says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:48am

Well, you don't really get much in the way of instructions so you might want to work a bit on that. All in all it's a nice game though, with good if a bit repetitive music.

"Did you know you could have avoided all these people to get killed" is perhaps not the best way to put that either, I'd say "Did you know you could've avoided having all these people die" sounds better.

scoobyben says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:49am

I enjoyed it, but the text could've been a bit faster paced. I spent a while waiting for it to come up each time, it would be nice if space skipped to the next line of dialogue. Also It was very unclear what to do in each case

dsoft20 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:53am

Lol very funny XD

madflame991 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:54am

Funny game with great facial animations. I would like to see more levels, maybe you can develop this into a full game. As mentioned by other players, it's really difficult to get the good endings, even if you might have an idea about how to get them... Another suggestion is to add a skip button for the dialogues - many times I just wanted to restart a level and not go through all the dialogues again.

fullmontis says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:01pm

Nice animation and visual style, and funny too! But I didn't have a clue what I had to do with each stage, and I thought that the music was a little annoying after a while, but that may be just me...

Almax27 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:15pm

Good submission, I love the visual style and animation but agree with others in that dialogues / voting should be skippable (see my entry as an example). It's important to encourage replays and cater for the 'less patient' users :P

Otherwise awesome job, looking forward to your next entry!

digihacker says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:56pm

I can't win for the "picking apple". But overall a nice game ! From audio to graphic to gameplay ! Nice work !

Nezzhil says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:38pm

Nice small minigame compilation. I replayed a lot trying to pick the apple, but I failed miserably everytime :(
The other two games where more easy, so I could watch the good/bad endings :D

Good job!

Madball says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:31pm

Couldn't complete the first stage... I tried a lot of stuff: not doing anything, not walking, not jumping, hiding behind a tree, running away from the scene... There is no way to pick an apple, right?

raarlac says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:18pm

@Madball maybe if you try very hard you can get it ;)

raarlac says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:19pm

@Madball tip: it's about jumping

mcapraro says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:34pm

interesting concept, like the gameshow approach

sclark39 says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 7:00pm

Lots of content, not a whole lot of gameplay. Great work with all the animations / story / satire bits. :)

sahoskins1 says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 11:23am

A good effort and something a little different in style. Good job

BluShine says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 12:28pm

Maybe I was missing something, but it didn't seem like there was much "gameplay". It felt more like an interactive animation. That said, the animations and music were pretty good, and it was funny. But I just felt like I was mostly sitting and watching, not actually playing the game.

van noctar says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 12:35pm

Very good game! I could think that this game was created with spine2D. Good job man!

michail says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 12:11am

One of the most original games I've ever played. Good job! But I couldn't save mister Stone :(

Yoni says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 10:48pm

Very nice animations :)
The game should specify what keys are possible to press (besides the "press space to continue") and generally what the object of the game is. The first try was impossible in all games and in general it's impossible to get the apple, spacebar only jumps 3 pixels high and no other key seems to jump.

ossah says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 7:00pm

Liked the concept! Fun to play and some good humour. Was a little confused with controls but soon figured it out. Cool sound and great visuals.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]