December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Fujo

by TheSheep - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A dungeon crawler game. Defeat the tentacled monsters that kidnapped you. YOU ONLY GET ONE random spell for start. And you only get one chance, as there is permadeath.

Controls: arrows, space, return, esc and ctrl. Hold down ctrl to rotate in place. Walk into the monsters to attack.

Note: There is no horrible latency. The game is simply turn-based and tile-based, and you can't stop between two tiles and turn there just because you pressed a key at that moment. Also, no need to be fast, the monsters wait for you when you don't move.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#47Graphics4.10
#339Humor2.62
#348Overall3.19
#389Fun3.00
#438Mood2.85
#725Audio1.75
#799Innovation2.41
#835Theme2.24
#1041Coolness47%

Comments

Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:20am

I'm a sucker for roguelikes, and this one is not half bad!

Thommy says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:21am

nicely drawn sprites

pusheax says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:53pm

Onigiri! Nicely detailed sprites. I would like animations to be faster.

MyFrosch says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:50pm

Nice Animation

Kane says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:18pm

You already know how I love your sprites and tiles !
The game is fun to play and the animations are smooth, I am not sure if we need to go up or down at the start (by RL habit I will say down?).

But this Miko.. She really eat too much ! :p

PTSnoop says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:43pm

The player sprite doesn't always stand out clearly against the background - at the start of each level, I had to look around quite a bit to try to find her. But apart from that, I love the graphics! Always good to see roguelikes in LD.

michail says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 6:48pm

Nice rougelike with charming graphics, with some music and sounds it would be even better!

jdpalmer says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:37pm

Very nicely drawn and great feel - I'd love to see this expanded. It was too much of a pain to get it working on OSX so I ran the EXE in parallels.

bodsey says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 9:21pm

This is really good looking, congrats

rezil says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 9:45pm

Really nice graphics!

Daveloper says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 9:46pm

Good attempt at turn based RPG, art and animation give it that traditional RPG feel. well done.

Dec 21, 2013 @ 9:58pm

Some music and sound effects would really help the feel of the game. Also, I didn't quite understand the spells. They didn't seem to affect anything in the game, at least I didn't notice any changes after using them. And I always died from hunger, since I didn't find enough to eat. :(
Otherwise quite a cool game, I especially like the art style. And the level generation seems to be solid to say the least.

runvs says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 4:35pm

Nice graphicstyle. Don't know if the aniations are just that slow or if the game is not correctly running on my machine.

torcado194 says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 8:21pm

Very nice art, but pretty slow.

mmickyman says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 10:34pm

My game is made with Pygame, obviously it's not in the same league !
Very good work, your posts about your dev proccess are very interesting.

TheSheep says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 11:01am

@runvs, @torcado194 what operating system, and what graphics card? I've seen some people complain before (on Windows), but I wasn't able to reproduce or even pinpoint it.

jimmypaulin says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 2:12pm

Pixel art dripping from the screen in gorgous pixelly jellyfish gobbets, clear text but not-so-clear direction... and I longed for sounds to bring this promising adventure more fully to life.

local minimum says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 3:12pm

Quite nice little roguelike! Got myself killed but that's mainly my fault. With some music it could become really cool. Didn't play more than two levels, but I would expect that you would need some levels to be special boss levels and such things, if you were to continue development.

TheSheep says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 7:19pm

@local minimum, the fifth level is actually a special boss level :)

huhwhozat says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 12:01am

I think the animation could be swifter - walking long distances is tedious. The amount of content you have in is impressive for the time limit, but I don't find the game very captivating unfortunately.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]