December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Superior Resolution

by moomoo112 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Get ready for an experience so revolutionary you won't believe what you just played.
A game setup in a way that no one had dared to even try until now. And you get to enjoy it. Here. Now.

"This game changed my view on what a game is" -kno1said

Go on an epic journey, battling your way through hordes of enemies, while searching for answers. Collect hundreds of items to further your quest and improve your skills in combat, or to allow you to crack open valuable locked chests.

"Such an amazing experience, I couldn't pull myself away from getting the next treasure or kill." -moomoo112

Set up in a simplistic way to allow you to get right into the action. Simply move around with the Arrow keys and interact with the Space-bar. And in the event that something goes wrong and you want to get out, a help file is provided.

"Such simplistic controls for a deeply involved game" -Seil Erup

Joined together in this package is a set of graphics so grand in scale, they help derive the name of the game itself. Playable on any screen, from the old 800x600 screens to the large 1080p and greater without a single loss of detail or any ill-fated pixelation.

"A wonderful masterpiece, I couldn't believe it was made in 48 hours!" -anonymous

Journey on your quest, and defeat the evil that is infesting your world today!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#95Theme3.67
#173Humor3.14
#199Innovation3.40
#554Audio2.39
#730Mood2.43
#745Graphics2.43
#851Overall2.53
#948Fun2.00

Comments

ambi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:32am

The font looks nice but I can't really rate a game that highly that is just one pixel and seems to have zero gameplay.

postmodestie says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:42am

One pixel .. ha! Couldn't move much and the interaction was a non-interaction .. sounded like shooting though..

moomoo112 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:24am

Its a bit tricky at first, hopefully the help file I put together can offer some guidance to get into the game better.

Binary Gambit says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:05am

to those who did not RTFM, please do so. Great concept. The sound effects are essential. Good use of theme. 5/5 for gfx ;)

ParaPup says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:06am

Dam this was weird, but not bad.

sudorossy says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:47am

A really neat idea!

hnjslater says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:54am

Mind=Blown

Korwegian says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:47pm

Tastes like imagination O_O

Venks says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:18am

Very innovative title right here. Good stuff.

moomoo112 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:21am

I knew you'd like it.
Thanks for giving it a chance.

Tom 7 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:05am

Ha ha, very good. I got 77 kills before I felt bored, but it was worth it. :)

Toby Simone says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:38am

Fun concept, didn't actually understand what I was doing at first until I noticed the pixel turning colors, but definitly very different!

Devon says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:55am

took me awhile to realize spacebar was action i ran around the whole game thinking i was gaining levels and that action was like a roguelike and i just had to bump into things :/ once i figured out spacebar it was a blast. great use of theme.

Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:17am

I seem unable to die. I'd go as far as to say that this game would be perfectly executed if only there were more variation in gameplay. Then again, I can understand working under the limitations of one pixel. Thanks for that outside-of-box experience!

Hyde Wyvern says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:48am

Fantastic and extremely creative! I imagined how my pixel was a lone warrior inside a cave filled with monsters jajaja Awesome work ;)

Dec 20, 2013 @ 3:36am

Clever. Perhaps at least an 8x8 pixel? :)

moomoo112 says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:34am

No Broussard, You only get ONE! Pay attention.

2HitAdam says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 7:58am

Astonishing. If you listen closely you can hear the bar being lifted for games everywhere.

Pierrec says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:11am

I wish I had took part in this Ludum Dare just to give you all my stars!

Zerkruemler says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:11pm

Nice done, but too minimalistic for me.

bttf says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 7:51pm

I lol'd

olafsworld98 says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 1:39am

Now he overdid it with, you only get one. Literally, one pixel. To be honest dude, there's not much for any type of ratings specifically, except the theme because you overdid that. Oh well, good luck next time . :D

Dec 22, 2013 @ 1:41am

Haha nice idea :)

jacklehamster says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 1:42am

Begin adventure and Leave ashamed have practically the same effect.

ViliX says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 2:49pm

You tricky.. ehm.. :D

Jan 5, 2014 @ 9:25pm

Very nice entry. Everything is great and nice : menu, sounds, graphics, etc. Just put one simple game mecanic and it's a perfect entry.

rincewind_cz says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 11:35am

It's too minimalistic and too unique simultaneously. Nice experience, but it's not really game imo :-)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]