December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

You only get one digit!

by drnick - 48 Hour Compo Entry

In this game, you must use your arithmetical knowledge to correct the equation, but you only get one digit! You must add this digit somewhere in the equation without otherwise changing it.
Also check the post mortem here:
http://gameprogrammersnotebook.blogspot.com.br/2013/12/my-games-you-only-get-one-digit-ludum.html
And do not forget to look for Bieber!
First one to find him is the best person ever!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#76Theme3.73
#92Innovation3.67
#437Humor2.36
#744Overall2.71
#879Fun2.25
#884Mood2.09
#989Graphics1.15

Comments

zzzev says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:52am

It's great to see some non-traditional games in here, I'd love to see more games using basic HTML components; I think that kind of restriction forces you to be creative. I like the concept of this game a lot too, unfortunately I found it really, really difficult, even on the easy settings. Maybe I'm dumb, but I could only solve about half of the easy ones, and it took me a while. It would be cool if they started out being *really* simple, and slowly got harder so I could work my way up. Good job!

DrooobE says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:51pm

I liked the idea of the game, along with the theme. Good job. I like that it was pretty simple, meaning there couldn't really be any gameplay issues.

jsjwooowooo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:45pm

Interesting, but indeed quite difficult for me as well, even on easy.

Masadow says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:54pm

Difficulty isn't very balanced (medium is often easier than easy). However, great game idea. Too bad you didn't make a little effort on the design of your page.

errorage says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:22am

Hoho! I knew learning speed math for all those years would be worth it some day! :)

ambi says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:23am

It's cool that you're trying something different. Math puzzles are just not for me.

Anoarith says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:26am

Loved the concept but indeed sometimes an Hard level can be easier than an easy one

Move127 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:33am

It would be cool if it kept track of your times, instead of just alerting them.

torcado194 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:33am

wow this is really difficult. very nice concept! yeah difficulty is kinda spread randomly.

Integershift says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:21am

i did not even knew what I was doing the whole time!

Kaslai says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:30am

I liked the basic idea behind this, but the difficulty curve was a sheer cliff.

I did find the giant green Bieber though :)

john_conder9 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:10am

It's surprisingly fun and interesting for such a simple concept. I think it'd fare well as a mobile app with a lot more polish!

ratboy2713 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:13am

Nice idea, but math games aren't that fun.

Alexbrainbox says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:06pm

Fun! Maybe I'm slightly too much of a maths nerd but I found this to be enjoyable.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:35pm

Ha ha ha, cool! You went with something very simple, and very new.

Chaoseiro says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:13pm

Nice take on the theme! With nice graphics and sound effects, this could easily be a "learning game" app!

jimmypaulin says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:52pm

Fits the theme well and kudos for the edumacational experience. It might benefit from a bit more "juicing" to make you feel more rewarded over and above the "you got it right/wrong" message

multikorv says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:54pm

Really hard! I like the idea of using math. :)

crockid5 says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:55pm

It fit the theme well but I wouldn't consider this HTML webpage a game.

Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:57pm

Liked, but I suck at maths, so I couldn't really enjoy the full potential of the game.

Enneract says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:16am

Wow I really liked this, an original idea that I found really enjoyable. I think you should start it off simplier though and progressively get more difficult.

yosh says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 7:24am

Ahah that was unexpected. I guess this is your first attempt in game-making? If so, that's a good start. You managed to finish something simple & fully playable. Next time, you should try to add some interactivity using something simple like jquery or similar to manipulate the text, form etc. (Great example: http://candies.aniwey.net/)

Will Edwards says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:55am

Hmm, I should make a bot to answer these for me?

Sebastian says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 6:13pm

I like maths games, nice work ;)

Dec 24, 2013 @ 5:20pm

This game was good for my brain, thanks more making it :D i enjoy it a lot :D and the theme fits well, Great job :D

mmickyman says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 9:10am

Good idea, the balance could be better. Maybe chosing the number of operation than a not-explicit "easy/medium/hard" ?

Jedi says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 7:55pm

Very innovative! I think your easy is medium, your medium is hard, and your hard is easy, however.

Cake&Code says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 8:16pm

This is awesome! I love the non traditional approach to "game" for this. The puzzles were super reminiscent of old math puzzles I used to love.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]