December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Only One

by TylerC - Jam Entry

THIS GAME IS NOT FINISHED!

**********KNOWN BUGS**********
- if you are not focused on the window events get buggy
- jumping
- sometimes light gets applied twice
- moving the game window while the player is on the ground can cause him to clip and fall for infinity
- random glitch with collisions above the player
- collision detection

With final exams and some other stuff popping up I didn't have enough time to finish and enter the competition. Here is what I have now but I did have enough time to add all of the features I would have liked to.

GAME
My vision of the game turned out to be out of the scope of what was realistic given the time I had to do this. I didn't get a chance to add features like extending your torch time by finding burnable objects, better collision, other entities, animations, and other puzzle like things.

LEVEL EDITOR
The level is built using Tiled. I learned so much about tile maps and parsing them to represent real objects in the game

WHAT I TOOK AWAY FROM THIS
Overall I had fun doing this, I learned a lot! I learned parsing of .tmx, and camera/world coords. I am looking forward to the next competition but in the mean time I might take this project further!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#113Mood(Jam)3.43
#217Theme(Jam)2.93
#272Audio(Jam)2.86
#384Graphics(Jam)2.77
#403Humor(Jam)1.81
#467Overall(Jam)2.50
#478Fun(Jam)2.20
#517Innovation(Jam)2.00

Comments

Microfrog says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:30pm

I got pretty far in the game, but I ended up getting stuck pretty deep into the cave. The ceiling and floor were too close together and I couldn't get past it.

jsjwooowooo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:59pm

Interesting, though a bit buggy, I wound up outside the map and then back in and then it crashed, but it was kind of fun exploring.

David Colson says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:59pm

I really like the atmosphere and graphics, my only complaints are the controls don't quite feel right, and the lack of animation feels strange, I imagine that was due to lack of time though...

chamberlainpi says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:01am

Hmm, is the game supposed to just exit when you die?

Korwegian says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:03am

Fell through the ground, after some kind of frame loss. Good concept.

WojWorks says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:05am

It needs a lot of work on collision detection, but it has an excellent mood to it.

ParaPup says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:00am

This wasn't that bad nice job :p

LandoSystems says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:24pm

Excellent sense of atmosphere - I especially liked the intro sequence. The text set up the "story" well, and the sound effects (again, especially at the beginning) worked quite well.

The biggest issue is, indeed, collision detection and controls. I managed to get through most of the game by "flying" as you can jump as many times as you want. I would often get my head stuck in the ceiling though, and holding forward had no effect once I was stopped.

Perhaps you can throw in some landmarks to give a sense of motion - I was half expecting to discover that I'd been replaying the same section over and over again. Also, make the outside bright, happy and rewarding.

Thanks for putting this together!

Venks says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:24pm

Sets a fairly decent tone. But even for me i had no idea where i was going what was going on or even if i was progressing in the game. And the bugs and lack of animation didn't help good start either way

javifugitivo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:35pm

A little buggy but an interesting concept. I'm sure that with more time your game will be gorgeus, great job!

local minimum says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:45pm

You should write something more nice about your own game in the text even if you feel like you didn't get to completing it the way you wanted! All of us have bugs and stuff we left half done. Liked the in game style of writing so I'm sure you can do it.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:47pm

Freedom! Hehe, but I only made it due to the jumping bug. Quite a long level actually, and the collision IS horrible. :P But you nailed the atmosphere, and the "lighting" and torch effect are not bad.

TylerC says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:07pm

Thanks for all of the great comments! I am thinking of taking the concept further and fixing things up when I get the time.

peacegiverman says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:29pm

I'm going to compliment you for the good atmosphere and for trying to polish the game from the start. It's too bad you couldn't finish. Try to make a test game before the jam next time.

glovecat says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:31pm

Lightning, atmosphere and concept are good, but jumping.... you need to fix the jumping, It's really frustrating. Keep working on this concept!

mcapraro says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 5:13am

i really like where this game could go: the water taking some of your torch life away, maybe wind, maybe it burns down close to your hand and you lose health. cool concept!

Dec 24, 2013 @ 3:19pm

The idea is cool, I would love to see this kind of game more often. I hope you will continue to develop it !

Cake&Code says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 2:10am

Very moody :)

Macroz says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 2:19pm

Good start of the game and mood! You should work on it before the next compo!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]