December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Coin

by jarnik - 48 Hour Compo Entry

COIN - You got only one

Micro-investment simulator - what will you do with your only coin? Buy a hotdog, hear a busker song or throw it into a sewer?

Choose well, you have only one chance.

What would others choose? Check out stats at the end of the game.



Downloads and Links


Ratings

#7Theme4.30
#91Mood3.55
#167Innovation3.46
#196Audio3.13
#205Humor3.05
#248Graphics3.44
#331Overall3.21
#811Fun2.38
#998Coolness48%

Comments

Bennet says ...
Dec 14, 2013 @ 10:00pm

Awesome

Phil River says ...
Dec 14, 2013 @ 10:34pm

Nicely done sir!

NiklasRiewald says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 10:38am

I love the global player stats. The graphics are also very well done. Good job!

Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:30am

A++++ would play again, but can't. Stats sell this.

zconnelly13 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:30am

Thought the idea was really cool and you did an amazing job on the artwork.

stenol says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:42pm

Lol. Nice !

Nik Sudan says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:25pm

Haha, this is great! Truly great! Really really cool experimental game this is. Not much of a game, but definitely worth the experience.

triforcespark says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:57am

a really realistic "game."

Lacutis says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 7:35am

Very interesting game. The graphics were nice and the stats at the end were pretty interesting.
Good use of the theme.

JohnnySix says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 3:09pm

Nice - like the way you interpreted the theme, sad I couldn't try out the other options after the busker dude. I guess that'd defeat the purpose. :)

Darkcoder says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 10:20am

I thought it was going to be a puzzle game so I chose to scratch the car, thinking that was the only option that allowed me the keep the penny. I was wrong :(

jonask says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 4:05pm

Hmm..

Jishenaz says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 4:56pm

Very interesting experiment. I like the global stats, and the fact that the "game" locks your decision. I gave my coin to the animal shelter.

Split82 says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 11:21am

Interesting concept, but I would not define this as a game :)

Bernhard says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 5:33am

I tried hard to avoid to give it to the animal person but it always said that I gave it to her. Other than that nice art :-)

Jan 3, 2014 @ 10:19am

Nice with the global stats and that you only play once! I hoped that less people would've scratched the car, though I expected it... Very impressed with the art as well! Good luck!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]