December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Only One Punch

by itsZN - Jam Entry

Rocky XXVI: You are a boxer who must prove his worth in a match. Your only hope is to land one super punch. If you can dodge your opponent's attacks and wind up your own. Be careful, if you let it out too early, you might be to tired too continue.

Some people are getting an animation bug where they get stuck in a loop.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#82Theme(Jam)3.44
#177Humor(Jam)2.72
#351Innovation(Jam)2.63
#391Graphics(Jam)2.75
#471Mood(Jam)2.18
#497Fun(Jam)2.04
#515Overall(Jam)2.28
#998Coolness48%

Comments

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:52am

Can't wait :D

Verrazano says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:08am

Awesome little game, I just wish their was sound or music. Other wise it perfectly fits the theme.

pighead10 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:29pm

Nice little game, slightly easy. Got stuck in an infinite loop when I was punched, but maybe I wasn't pressing skip or something.

fullmontis says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:32pm

I don't understand the controls. As soon as I press any key the character starts waving left and right and doesn't respond. Should I be doing something in specific?

itsZN says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:38pm

Some people are having a problem were the animation gets stuck in the "getting hit" phase, and they can't move

glovecat says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:44pm

Very simple and easy. But that is not bad. Missing some music or sound.

nikev says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:54pm

Great looking little game. I kept getting my butt kicked though.

stvr says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:46am

Cool idea, but after charging up my punch for a bit, my character got stuck in some sort of dodge loop, and I couldn't get out.

itsZN says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:48am

Did you let go of the mouse too soon?

Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:14pm

Little hard at beginning but after a few round you can take the idea about game. I found a bug. If you can move the blue guy against left corner he cant hit you, and you can charge all your punch to finish him easyly.

Xanjos says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 6:07pm

Game is quite buggy but it's a rather nice take on the theme. Also, there definitely needs to be some sort of restart button so I don't have to close and reopen the game every time I want to start a new game whilst I'm stuck being completely pummelled.

pkenney says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 6:09pm

Took me several tries to figure out what to do, but after maybe 6 fights I got a KO. Needs more feedback to the user, and a better retry mode than closing the program and rerunning it. Loved the graphical style and the idea was funny.

Benjamin says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 10:56pm

I also have the dodge loop bug. Tried it 4-5 time, it happens after trying to hit. Happen with long charge hit or short.

I'm not rating because I dont feel I had a full expeirence of the game but I like the gfx and the idea :)

olafsworld98 says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 2:33am

not bad

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 9:52am

Haha, wow...

Cake&Code says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 2:06am

Haha, my first thought was One-Punch Man. Very fun and simple :)

Dec 30, 2013 @ 4:09pm

Cute game :) I love it. It's not as easy as it seem, actually it's quite challenging ! I like the KO animation when you take down the opponent ;) Great work !

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]