December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Distance

by Edd Morgan - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Distance is a game of precision, observation and shooting terrorists.

This game was made in Ruby, with some help from the Gosu framework. All graphics are mine and were made in Photoshop. Music is also original, made in GarageBand. Additional sound effects from bfxr.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#44Mood3.79
#73Fun3.63
#90Overall3.68
#110Audio3.38
#123Theme3.60
#248Graphics3.44
#283Humor2.80
#399Innovation3.04
#998Coolness48%

Comments

zzzev says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:47am

Love the general aesthetic, and the music + sfx + feeling of looking through the scope makes for an eerie experience. I made it to level 5, but couldn't beat it after a bunch of tries, too tricky! I don't quite get how it relates to the theme, since you can take multiple shots in some levels, but it was fun anyways.

ambi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:52am

Really liking the mood. The game has some bugs, like the firing mechanism gets stuck and auto fires at the start of the level. A lot of detail went into the various levels. Also the music and soundtrack is really enjoyable.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:05am

Hahah good job indeed, excellent game ! I hope you will add more levels! Perfect graphics, the audio is immersive, great game :)

alcorrius says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:19pm

One chance, one shot. I like it. Atmosphere is really great. Good job!

Raphy says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:34pm

Hey really like that one ! Like the concept and the general mood, although the bullet trajectory is kindda hard to anticipate and it's sometime frustrating. But I found it great anyway, 4/5 !

dsoft20 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:34pm

Very nice! I love the bullet balistics!

Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:47pm

Absolutely love it! Audio/Atmosphere are amazing, the gameplay is simple but engaging. And the text messages were very nice as well. Great job. :)

alvarop says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:39pm

I like the style. It was kind of hard, in a way (not used to this type of game) but I enjoyed it.

funktor says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:25pm

Fun challenging game! Really enjoyed the music in the beginning and the bullet mechanics

lincore says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:35pm

Great entry! The theme, gameplay, graphics, music and sfx make this game very immersive and although I do not fancy myself a killer I did enjoy your game a whole lot. The bullet trajectory is a bit weird at greater distances, especially in the last level. But I got them eventually :~)

Kohijin says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:01am

looks very interesing but the game runs with 1-3 fps for me :( (windows vista 64, nvidia gpu)

Sylence says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:42am

Wow I loved it :)

jongtao says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:13am

I really like the game. It feels a bit like the sniping missions in Metal Gear Solid. The game is a bit sluggish to start up on Windows though. I though it wasn't going to load for a second. The bass at the title screen is a bit loud for me, since I had headphones on.

tobbez says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 3:24am

The distance and wind was a nice addition to te basic game but other than giving a general idea of where to aim it was not enough to get accurate position and I had to resort to using testshots. Some more help to the player would make the game better. Like the endingdialog.

Calciumtrice says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 5:18pm

This was cool. Fun sniping mechanic that was a nice use of the theme, good graphics, style, sound and atmosphere.

The dialogue after level 5 gave me a chuckle. :)

Only complaint would be that it could be difficult to see where the bullet was actually supposed to be hitting, particularly on the final level, so that could end up a little trial and error.

Good entry!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]