December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Time Splitters

by NeiloGD - Jam Entry

Time Splitters - igneousmoon & NeiloGD

Welcome Time Traveler!

For thousands of years people have be jumping in and out of the time stream, winning the lottery, changing history and creating paradoxes, but the time steam can't be diverted much further. If something isn't done now the whole thing will collapse into a big puddle of wibbly-wobbly, timey-wimey at the bottom of a worm hole!

That's where you come in!

You only get one chance to put things right. In order to win, you need to fix 8 points worth of important historical events before the wormhole divertor known as the tile pile runs out, but watch out, other time travelers will try to steal your glory!

Laid out before you is all of time and space, but you can't access it all the time or from the same point. On the table should be a map of what is currently available. Important events, marked by dates are scattered across the map. Sadly the time stream is broken in many places or branched incorrectly. Only connected time streams can be traveled through.

On the left there is a card listing three events in time, each allocated a number of points that can be won by repairing the event. Once any one of these events has been repaired the goal card will go to the bottom of the deck and new goals revealed, so get there fast.

There will also be a face up tile, this is the next available piece of time stream. On your turn you must use this tile to change the map. Click on one of the arrows surrounding the map in order to slide the tiles in that row or column in the direction indicated. The end tile will return to the bottom of the tile deck and your shiny new one will slide in next to the arrow you chose.

You can now move anywhere on the connected time stream. To repair an event simply land on it during your turn.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#73Innovation(Jam)3.47
#162Overall(Jam)3.33
#369Fun(Jam)2.60
#433Theme(Jam)2.27
#1456Coolness30%

Comments

kookoon says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:40am

I was a bit confusing at first but then got the flow. And when I thought I was smart then the AI kicks my butt. :D

NeiloGD says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:50am

For a quick and dirty AI it's effective enough for an LD game :)

Norgg says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:38pm

Fun board game, I found it a bit easy to beat the AI though. Did you make a physical version of it too? I would have liked to be able to examine the goal card again, never got quite enough time to read the flavour text.

NeiloGD says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:48am

Nah no physical version. Could make one though, would be quicker than coding the logic!

dqmhose says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:46pm

Such a cool game!! After I got it, I'll probably be playing this for hours :D

Citiral says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:08pm

Was a pretty neat game! I wasn't sure what I was doing at first but once I figured it out I loved every bit of it. An indication as to where on the map the right dates are would be nice though, I spend a lot of time searching for the right card on the board.

lparker says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:10pm

Took a little while to get a grip of but once I got to grips with it it was very fun to play.

Scifer says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:14pm

Nicely done, for a card game involving time travel. Rules weren't very well explained at the beginning, but I worked it out in the end. Not sure where the theme fits in either ... but cool game nonetheless :D

PTSnoop says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:21pm

I'd have liked some way to zoom back in onto the dates card - and read through the descriptions of the dates through history that you've chosen / written. But yeah, you really should make a physical version, it'd work really well as a board game!

Chaoseiro says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:28pm

Really nice board game! I'd like to see a physical version of it, or the files do download and print a copy :P

Jgpicatoste says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 10:22pm

I'm sure that the idea and rules of the game were great (it seemed so), but I was totally confused with its visuals. Improve that and you'll have a truly deep entry!

Dec 24, 2013 @ 3:12pm

Nice ! A board game with a working AI, very impressive for a LD timeframe ! Congratulations !

mmickyman says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 9:08am

Hard to tell what is going on and what is interactive, then you clic somewhere et you don't know what you have done ahah...

As other say, a board game based on these ideas could be neat.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]