December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Infinite Fame

by bitslap - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Krutech presents
//trailer voice over
One Color, One ship, One bullet, Infinite Fame

Can you save the galaxy with one bullet and gain infinite fame?

Game guide:

::::::::::::::::::::: Shoot the orb when it is exposed!
:::::::::: Collect small pulsing orbs if you get bored!

Arrows for steering
Space for bullet (you only get one)

Bullets, lasers and drones kill you
Going outside the screen kills you

Drones can be killed by lasers and bullets
You can only hurt the boss when the motherbrain-sphere is exposed.

Art, code, music and sfx done by me.
i used:
Pro Motion
Game Maker Pro
Famitracker
BFXR


Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness72%
#34Theme3.95
#45Graphics4.11
#113Overall3.63
#123Audio3.34
#152Fun3.44
#169Mood3.33
#371Innovation3.08
#416Humor2.43

Comments

GravityScore says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 8:49pm

One of my favourite looking. Love the art style.

KM says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 8:57pm

It looks good, but the HTML5 sites crash the google chrome pages and when I hit the ship in the .exe it crashes the game also. :(

bitslap_ says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 9:08pm

Thank you for bringing this to my attention. I fixed it.

Dec 15, 2013 @ 9:14pm

It's really cool but it's also damn hard.

gnargle says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 9:23pm

This is awesome. Fantastic concept.

ponk says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 9:39pm

SoooOo NnnNiiiiiiiicee....!!

Orni says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 9:41pm

I love it - please don't forget to upload the source code as well

bitslap_ says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 9:44pm

Source added!

Donutttt says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 11:40pm

Great art style, and the music is cool. Found it quite difficult but I plan on giving it another go again later when I have more time.

burgerdare says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:15am

It's an extremely pretty game, but the gameplay feels a bit stale. Additionally, it's frustrating that leaving the edge of the screen kills you instead of acting as an invisible wall like in most games of this sort.

Sestren says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:35am

I really like the black-and-white graphical style and the sound and music. While short, it's a nice entry overall.

DallOner says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:46am

Nice Job with ProMotion! all the art is really awesome!

turnA says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:03am

Interesting looking, but very hard! Quite unique idea to boot!

Tanner says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:23pm

Graphics are really nice!

adcrusher says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:20pm

The pixel art is amazing!The concept kind of reminds me of star wars, trying to shoot down the deathstar, haha. Great game.

Rahazan says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:25pm

Beautiful pixel art, very short and tough as nails. Wish it were longer!

pighead10 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:37pm

Lovely graphics. Confusing at first, or maybe I just suck.

rxi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:18pm

Love it.

The whole thing oozed with niceness: The way the beams looked, the screen shake and particle effects, the 8bit sounds, the epileptic messages and the fast difficult gameplay. The game definitely had some personality. Despite dying over and over I just wanted to keep going.

You managed to pull off the 1bit graphics well. The combined feel of the game and what I think was an excellent utilisation of the theme, made for a lovely overall experience.

capnramses says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:00pm

extremely nice presentation! really well done on the composition of all the artistic elements. and it worked really well over the web too

Spacefarmer says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:02pm

I got the highscore.. in deaths! nice one.

ovenchips says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:14pm

I completed your game! Hurrah! This is what it must feel like to be Luke Skywalker. Great art style. Hangs together really well. Wish it was a bit longer though - but that's a good thing! :)

dznemotion says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:36am

I loved it, great pixel art and minimal music.

zkenshin says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:41am

Quite solid entry, well done. :)

Sheep says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:04am

Woah, this game is hard. The graphics are neat. Good job!

Suese says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:52pm

I do like difficult games but the difficulty curve on this was way too high. Maybe a wider playing field would have made this more enjoyable.

GarethIW says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:52pm

I'm not good with bullet hell, but I made it with a score of 3! Loved the two-colour art, took me right back to my BBC micro days!

Crowbeak says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:05pm

I really love the graphics on this.

Sanguine says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:15pm

Great art style and great music. Fun game overall :)

Team Techno says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:39pm

Overall a very challenging and fun game, but I never got very far into it. Leaving the edge of the screen kills you? Keep up the good work.

hirsch says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:54pm

The game is really difficult, but i found out that you can escape the death rays by flying behind the boss - but this tactic fails when those little f#*cking drones come out :D
Nice tune, really nice game :)

Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:58pm

Its maybe a little too hard :P but it also makes you keep trying

kalth.streil says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:31pm

Oh my god XD

That was so intense! At first I was a bit confused (maybe add a 'HOLD YOUR FIRE' at the start?) but once I got the hang of it, it was really something :) A bit sad about the lack of music / sound tho, and that it's so short!

Great game :D

Jellycakes says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:39pm

Pretty cool. I liked the art style. Found it really fun despite how unforgiving the game was. Really nice work.

kookoon says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:26pm

Best original idea I've seen yet to match with the theme!
Really fun game too.
I was stupid for the first two tries, though the points were bullets.

SamH says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:30am

Very well put together. Hard but not too punishing. One of my favourites so far.

jerombd says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:04am

Neat graphics!

ismyhc says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:22am

Really cool. Love the art style!

Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:51am

So amazingly beautiful! If this was released in 1980 or something, the newspapers would be talking about it. Real war in space! Our teenagers are wasting their youth, etc. This is awesome by 2013 standards too

MrTedders says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:07am

Wow this is amazing! really hard but fun. nice music. Only thing that may have been done better is possibly a wider game area?

johnfn says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:40am

Ah, very nicely done. Really hard! The gameplay is really solid though. Only complaint is that points look too much like bullets :P

Devon says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:47am

that art is great. im terrible at schmups though.

btwj says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:10am

It's so addictive!! I like the speed, it's a good pace. Also the music is really catchy

ocmu says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:54am

This is what I love about LD; when someone simplifies a game style to it's essence. Great work!

Thorig says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:09am

The game is a bit easy to beat, because the ship can be moved outside the screen. It is a fun entry!

Pixlexia says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:43am

Beautiful. To be honest, I was really excited about this game the moment I saw that first GIF you posted. :D Visual style is simply amazing! I especially love that screen shake. And theme usage is really great. Awesome game overall!

Daniel Debert says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:59pm

I'd like to play it with more enemies and more shoots!

ian_snyder says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:29pm

Awesome art, music, and overall presentation. The gameplay itself isn't really innovative and I didn't have much fun playing personally, but I also haven't played Dark Souls yet, either :P Anyway, not really a game for me, but I love the presentation so I definitely want to see more of your stuff :)

Shaun Lebron says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:03pm

Excellent art, effects, and sound! Very cool shmup.

GFM says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:05pm

1-bit pixel art. You got me there! xD
And this game is really fun! The chiptune music and sfx were great, too!

I really like to, having only one bullet, still be able to kill the enemies... and with "friendly fire"!

Amazing job!

Will Edwards says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:33pm

A very strong graphics and theme, but super hard. If only it was 2x taller and 2x wider screen...

Several says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:30am

Hah. Too brutal for me to want to continue playing it, but it doesn't stop me from liking it.

Classy graphics.

TomboFry says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 3:27pm

If a highscore of 2 wasn't enough, why not include a raging fit as well?! :L
Very fun, I kept on trying, many many many many times, and got to the end eventually...
Graphics were both really cool and distracting, argh!

Ditto says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 4:14pm

Damn that was hard, and satisfying, and hard! Love the song, would be nice if it just looped instead of restarting though, graphics are fucking neat, stressful and really fun, great job!

timtipgames says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 4:17pm

Very hard. But very enjoyable.

Sim says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 4:38pm

Good game. Difficult at first but easy once you know what to do. Getting a high score is fun for a while but becomes repetitive - perhaps the game should get harder over time.

Jiggawatt says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 10:50pm

The idea of using enemies' weapons against themselves is pretty good. The execution leaves some fluidity to be desired, and the applet lagged a lot for me in addition.

The graphical style is alright, but the music is the worst I've come across so far. Not only is it annoying but it also had to start at FULL VOLUME when I played. Killed my buzz before the game even gave me any.

Mekuri says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 10:51pm

Loved the graphics. Loved (and hated) the difficulty :P
Very nice use of the theme! Good job.

rnlf says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 2:03pm

I wanted to play this one since I saw it on IRC, finally found the time. Still love the art style. Really great. Very tough, too. Couldn't beat it, even though I tried for an hour or so.

Managore says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 3:31am

Wonderful use of theme and gorgeous art! I wish it had more content though.

van noctar says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 10:37am

Good job!

Aaants says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 12:06am

Almost monitor-smashingly difficult... but I like that in a game! Great graphics too

Fenixin says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 7:01pm

Great, but I think you should remove the limitation on touching the edge of the screen, it is frustrating. And the mothership does not kill on contact, that is counter-intuitive.

YogaFire says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 7:12pm

This game is awesome. I made an account just to say this, you asked for suggestions so here it is. After finally beating the game I feel the end screen is not very rewarding. So my suggestion would be to make the end of game a more rewarding experience... not sure how. Maybe with a victory fanfare and a picture of the world rejoicing idk, but something to show for my hard work. Great game, idk what but I feel like if you just add a little something at the end it would feel more rewarding and therefore be that much sweeter. Good work

YogaFire says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 7:16pm

p.s. it doesn't have to be something big, but just something special to show for all the hard work.

ehtd says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 4:08am

a difficult but great game!

Jan 6, 2014 @ 11:08pm

Looks great, but just the wrong side of impossible for me!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]