December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

1 year in space

by Follett - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You have contracted an unknown space disease and have been given 1 year to live. Before giving up to die you hear a rumour circling about a cure that was found on a outer rim planet.

1 year in space is a game about exploring planets, fighting pirates, trading with robots and building a immeasurable fleet. Search over 30 planets in an attempt to find the cure for your deadly disease.

1 year in space also features heavy procedual generation so that no 1 battle or adventure will be the same!

If it downloads slow its just because its coming from my dropbox.
**PORTS COMING IN A FEW HOURS**

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness64%
#79Audio3.52
#81Mood3.62
#81Graphics3.97
#202Innovation3.39
#233Overall3.35
#570Theme2.73
#658Humor1.90
#674Fun2.61

Comments

poingferret says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 9:28pm

Great music, I really like the look of it, but it doesn't adapt well to my screen resolution...narf.

Dec 15, 2013 @ 10:14pm

Excellent concept reminds me of FTL

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:28am

Didn't let me play for some reason. Screen stayed orange...

But it looks cool!

Follett says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:36am

Hey ENDESGA could you tell me whether you played on the web player and your monitor res?

Chompson says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:43am

Nice. Based on Flotilla, I guess?

Also, a little tip - standard outline won't look too nice if you use flat shading on objects (there's small transparent spaces between the outline fragments), so what I do is I create a copy of the model and enlarge it in my favorite 3d modeling software, reverse its normals and give it a transparent shader - that way the outline isn't broken (and it works on graphic cards without fragment shaders!)

Great game anyways!

reecpj says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:44am

fantastic music and visuals in particular. some really funny text too

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:45am

What a beautiful game! Feels like Homeworld met an Iain M Banks epic novel. Would like to see this developed into a full game. A bit confused when battles start about where I am and what's going on... but just sat back and enjoyed the visuals! Epic scope here, well done!

madlee says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:50am

I really like the idea. I had little idea what I was supposed to do (if anything) during the battle sequences, but they seemed to resolve themselves and they were cool to watch. Good job!

Jhelle says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:50am

Definitely has a FTL vibe going. Loved the music and graphics. Good job!

meek says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:51am

Love the graphics and the pacing. Commend you for making this in such a short time period!

nicotuason says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:47pm

I think it looks better than Flotilla. Besides the glitches, awesome game!

Jilt says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:13pm

I didn't understand what I had to do during battles :(
But the visual style is so coooool

01010111 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:35pm

I wasn't 100% sure on what was happening in battles, but I had some fun, and the game looks super nice!

JaymeeMak says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:37am

It's a bit confusing at first, and the large window size doesn't fit too well on smaller screens, but this is a really interesting submission with a nice style!

AlanZucconi says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:15pm

I love the low-poly style and the toon shader! :)
I think the gameplay can be polished quite a lot, but is definitely a good starting point for something more!:D

ZYXer says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:53pm

I personally love the style of the game. The planets and 3D battles are amazing.

I do find it to too bad that the gameplay is a bit simple. It would be nice if one could have some influence on the battles. An it would be also nice to get clues on where the cure is.

Korwegian says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:09pm

Couldn't figure out how battle worked, but the game was crazy.

Joror says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:13pm

Nicely stylized, but a bit confusing at times. The fleet fighting looks pretty, but I feel like I am just watching things shoot each other without me interacting for a minute? Nice visualization overall though, and fun concept too. :)

Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:17pm

It was a huge work you wanted to do, good job for it !For the future you should improve a few points like giving more controls to the player (you just have attack yes/no questions and you don't control battles, it's a bit frustrating ;)

Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:07pm

I really liked the story, but I couldnt figure out how to move... XD I included this game in my Ludum Dare Compilation series, if you'd like to check it out :)
http://youtu.be/gDU0zbWgNj8

loxo says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 1:07pm

Interesting game. The music in combination with the space battles creates an atmosphere like in 2001 space odyssey. But I don't like that my screen resolution isn't supported and that you crammed that many planets in a small space. It's a great start and I think it's worth to work further on the game.

GaTechGrad says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 1:49am

Neat game. It sort of reminds me of a 3D version of FTL. I didn't fully understand what was going on during the battles, but it looked really nice.

DanielSnd says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 6:55pm

Cool graphics.

Jan 6, 2014 @ 12:56am

Very cool idea! loving the fight parts but they are kind of slow! Great work! :D The audio was nice also :D

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]