December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

You only jump once

by dqmhose - 48 Hour Compo Entry

YOJO - You only jump once

----------------------------

A game about jumping. Once.
You only get one jump to advance to the next level.
Not balanced at all, so you can choose what levels you want to play.

The "about" screen says it all - basically you just press LMB and see what happens ;)
"R" is for reloading the current level and on the top left is a menu to get you back to the level selection or quit the game.

Default Resolution is 1280x720 for a good reason. It should be fine on most Computers, but I apologize if you're playing on a laptop. Should still be fine, though.

----------------------------

Made using Unity3D 4.3 with it's 2D Tools, Paint.Net, Photoshop, bfxr.
I knew nothing about Unity when I started, so enjoy the really messy source ;)

I only use Windows, so I can't say if the others work or not, but feel free to comment if you know!

Cheers!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness85%
#119Theme3.62
#240Humor2.94
#273Innovation3.25
#344Fun3.09
#521Overall2.98
#644Audio2.13
#702Graphics2.52
#713Mood2.45

Comments

gmfk07 says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 8:02pm

This is so addicting...

somepx says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:43am

A nice entry - some levels are too hard tho! Resolution is a bit too high for me, I had to scroll to see the whole level - not a big issue. Congrats!

Jakub Koziol says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:43am

I haven't been able to open the mac version but the web version works just fine.

dqmhose says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:04am

Thanks, people! I couldn't fix the levels to fit more resolutions in time, sorry.
Also for some reason the Unity exported Mac-version doesn't really work - no idea why, but sorry about that!

CustomPhase says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:17am

Pretty basic but yet so much fun. The only complain is that levels are often based on trial and error, where you just have to do thing multiple times, unless you get especially lucky.

Udell Games says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:07pm

Cool idea, but some of the levels are incredibly difficult. I'd recommend putting some sort of bucket shape around the exit. Too many times did I just graze it. Some music would be excellent too.

alvarop says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:09pm

Wasn't able to go past the first level. Not your fault though, I just suck at this.

disdanes says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:10pm

Great game! Reminded me a bit of super meat boy, definitely like where I could separate his head and body on some jumps :)

dqmhose says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:47pm

Thanks for the Feedback so far!
Most testers have found my early stages to be too easy, so I tried making it more difficult .. hence the level select, so everybody can try every level^^
Also, disdanes, the separation of limbs is actually a bug, but I reeeeaaally liked it and thought it was fun, so it stayed xD

zconnelly13 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:03pm

Wow! This was surprisingly addicting and challenging. I think a better difficulty curve alone would make this a way better game, but other than that fantastic!!!

feizenbara says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:05pm

Funny gravity ;-)

chardish says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:55am

One thing that I've heard is that if you're developing your own game, you are probably very good at it. So levels that seem easy to you are actually probably medium-hard for people who have never played before. I would start the player off with incredibly simple levels and slowly ramp up the difficulty. Fun mechanic though!

NeiloGD says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:19am

Nice and simple, but the lack of determinism each restart can make it quite frustrating as the character can land in a different position to last, causing the same move to have different results each time.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:25pm

Interesting use of jump as the unique element.
My game is kinda also about jumping only once, but I added a rythm aspect that is the challenge before jumping.

Tanser says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:29pm

Nice concept, it kept me playing. :)

Ras Lyon says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:30pm

Huh, wild. I'm just amazed by 48 hours entires...

tobbez says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:45pm

A nice game. It seems like there is some randomness in the physics, don'tknow where that wold be introduced however.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:49pm

Nice game. Some levels are hard to beat; that's a good challenge.

aviktorov says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:58pm

Jump of fate! Well done, sir. :)

Aaants says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:44pm

Good fun but very very difficult

LoneStranger says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 6:18am

Like the idea; understand it wasn't balanced. I kept wanting to click while the guy was in the air. Not sure if that was the intention for any of the solutions, but it sometimes worked.

Jerre says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 8:14pm

Haha very funny game, not really possible to use any strategy or skill. But still had some laughs

Benjamin says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 8:21pm

I like the fact you need to put 2 legs 2 arms body and head in the exit to valid a level :) Sometime you cant get all of them inside :D

jimmypaulin says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 9:23pm

This is brilliant! Like a cross between angry birds and super meat boy. I just love how the body parts hilariously launch after you've been shredded, I really enjoyed playing this but some levels were a bit too tricky for me. The humour you added with text really lifted the experience as well - congrats!

arcticleaf says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 2:28am

lol yojo :D, nice

ViliX says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 11:34am

Innovative :)

joppiesaus says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 3:17pm

Addicting, and hard-but-not-too-hard! :D

Calciumtrice says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 3:18pm

Cool idea and use of the theme and it works well. Didn't manage to complete the last couple of level though.

Nice, simple and good fun. Good job.

Thingus says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 3:22pm

Don't know if this was intentional, but seeing the player chopped in half by the exit portal did make me snigger.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]