December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Deep Life

by 01010111 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

WARNING! This game looks like a shmup, but it is in fact VERY narrative driven and dialog heavy. Sorry!

Controls:
SPACEBAR - Navigate menu, Skip Dialog, Aim Laser
ARROW KEYS - Movement

I would have liked for there to be more action, but this theme really threw me for a loop. Anyway, hope you enjoy!

Tools used:
-Flixel
-FlashDevelop
-InterstellarSelfieStation
-Photoshop
-FLStudio
-Plogue Chipsounds

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#18Graphics4.35
#29Mood3.89
#41Audio3.68
#255Overall3.31
#462Humor2.31
#626Theme2.64
#627Innovation2.72
#663Fun2.63

Comments

coolcade283 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:28am

There obviously isn't much action but this is a great entry. It looks splendid, the dialog is great, and the story is already deep and matches the theme. I would love to see this made into more. The only suggestion I would have would be a more obvious foreground/background. It took me a few sudden deaths before I realized the green blocks were not in the background.

Sean Noonan says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:14am

Sooooooo much polish but so little game. Do you think you'll be going back to this one at some point? Really love the visuals.

ashen says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:44am

This looks like a much bigger project than can be completed in 2 or 3 days. Good visuals and detailed story. Good effort!

Kettlecorn says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:27am

Great writing and a really cool concept for a game. The gameplay (or what there is of it) seems like it could be really fun as well.

postmodestie says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:29pm

Nice, pity it's that short :)

burgerdare says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:43pm

if you want to tell a good story in a game, you should try and tell it through the mechanics and the gameplay. If all you have is dialogue boxes, you'd be better off writing a short story on paper.

Red Mike says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:08pm

That was really interesting. A bunch of spelling mistakes in the dialogue, which is a bad idea in a dialogue-heavy game, but interesting nonetheless. Would have enjoyed more game, but it got me interested, maybe a post-compo version?

thatwhichis says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:03pm

MOAR

thatwhichis says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:05pm

Oh yeah but totes sweet. Make an episodic LD game! :-D

travislucia says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:10pm

Im not a fan of large amounts of text but this was well executed and had outstanding graphics and sound. I was really hoping for more action especially after all the reading but still solid entry.

David Colson says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:12pm

The story is very promising, and just as others have said, more would be better. I do hope you pursue this after the compo since it has potential, also kudos on the art. It is very nice

Anoarith says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:56am

That was so cooool *o*. I loved it.

murilo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:29pm

Super polished entry! Great graphics and sounds. Good gameplay too(even if just a little)Too bad it's just a fraction of what you intended to make.

chardish says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:47pm

Dialogue-heavy games are very hard to do; bravo on attempting it : ) I like this and I wish it were longer!

tnerb says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:35am

visually and thematically this game is fantastic, especially considering the game was made within the time limit. This game is polished in every way. While the gameplay might be a bit lacking, the artwork and tone really hold the rest of the weight. Also I'm a big fan of the 8-bit actors, reminds me of an old Sega CD game.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:18am

Very interesting game ! I know it thanks to this article on a french website http://oujevipo.fr/10-minutes/1046-deep-life Congratulations !

rxi says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:20am

Interesting game.

Firstly: I appreciate that you put the warning about it being dialogue heavy at the start! From the screenshots I was expecting an action heavy game, but the warning got me into the right frame of mind so I could enjoy the story rather than wait for the action to happen!

Though the whole thing felt rather condensed I did enjoy the little story, the choice and morals based around the rights of sentient AI is always interesting, especially as it's something we may have to deal with in our own life times. You made good use of the theme, the graphics were lovely (per usual) and the music fitted well to help build the atmosphere.

Nice work, it was an overall enjoyable experience!

soy_yuma says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:11pm

The graphics are outstanding :-) I like the submarine controls, although I got killed three times before understanding it's sensitive stuff! Good job!

garygreen says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:54pm

I really liked the idea of the full dialogue leading into the action. I felt the 2 styles worked well together and it looked great. Like a few of the other comments on here I'd like to see this developed into a full game. Nice work.

somepx says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:03pm

This screams to be updated! PLEASE ;)

MrTedders says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:37pm

Wow this felt very professional, its just unfortunate that it was so short. Good job, well done!

lilinx says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:06pm

The dialog just feels right, you can read at your own pace, the dialog box looks good, the game looks good, I would like to know more about what happens next. Good!

PlayHabit says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:09pm

Very cool project; suspension of disbelief obtained. :)

Cambrian_Man says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 3:27am

The mood was lovely, graphics worked well, and audio helped things along. I'm not sure I'd want more gameplay per se, actually, but maybe if it didn't look/feel like a shooter, it'd be easier to handle. If it were an adventure game or something, there wouldn't be as much of a problem. In any case, I enjoyed it.

rogueNoodle says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 3:52pm

Man, wish there was "Story" category there that I could slap five stars into - had a real Blade Runner feel to it. And the art is incredible - any chance you're turning this into something bigger?

grozamorei says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 1:47pm

great entry. plot is brilliant, best I've seen so far(shame, but did not see that the girl is AI). dialogue box system looks awesome, good job man.

Dec 21, 2013 @ 2:11pm

Nice story and virtual actors, I like the game also.

Snuti says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 6:30pm

Beautiful game and very interesting dialog. Wish there was a bit more gameplay but a really nice and polished entry :)

TeamRoboto says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 9:30pm

The art for this entry is absolutely spendid!

d__adee says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 2:19pm

I wish there's more. But was nicely done. Good job!

nyrrrr says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 3:08am

top-notch graphics! you could really make a grat post-compo game out of this :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]