December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

KOSMOTROT

by Todd Luke - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Gosh darn Kosmotrot, why'd you only pack one oxygen tank for your crystal hunt? Get it together Kosmotrot. Ugh...

Controls: Arrows + z/x

Hold z or x to rev up until you dash. Change direction while dashing to slide. Press z or x while sliding to go into an instant dash in a new direction.

Get the crystal at the end of each level before you oxygen runs out!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#7Audio4.14
#51Mood3.74
#121Overall3.59
#146Humor3.24
#172Graphics3.67
#197Fun3.35
#422Innovation3.02
#455Theme2.96

Comments

Sink says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:15am

Cool game with neat-o graphics and music. I like the inspiration from the Pegasus boots, it's fun to move around.

BluShine says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:35am

Love the music, and Kosmotrot is adorable. The dash move is a little confusing at first (especially because you don't even need it in the first 2 levels), but was very fun once I got the hang of it.

btwj says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:41am

Hahaha neat game. Love the music, it really made me smile. Great job!!

Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:58pm

Good game and concept. Level 3 is definitely the hardest.

swellis says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:41am

I love his buns!

seagaia says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:42am

todddd yeah nice riff on the pegasus boots!

Todd Luke says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:45am

thank yoouuuu everyone. i updated the page to include the source if you want to check out some of the unused art or mess with the game. :)

aeveis says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:55am

Fun, nice art. Good variety of obstacles and monsters :)

Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:05am

Solid, quirky, and most importantly, it's fun! Loved it!

JaymeeMak says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:03pm

Interesting color scheme, and charming music. The sound effects were rather painful to listen to, though, very sharp and grating.

Jeremias says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:59pm

The atmosphere created with the visuals and the music is great. I also think your game mechanic is interesting and well implemented. Sadly, one doesn't really need the mechanic (sprint), there is too much oxygen. It would be better, if the game would challenge one with a wisely use of the sprint. And then, the game is far too short, given the fun it makes to dash through the level...

DaanVanYperen says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:24pm

upvote for the vocals!

Todd Luke says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:17am

@Jeremias - you're totally right. i was pressed for time and didn't balance the difficulty at all :x . next time! thanks for playing.

i was trying to add local best times too, but unfortunately i couldn't get it working in time.

*spoilers below this line*

you can dash into the reptar-gophers to teleport to other tunnel openings!

Kyle Mac says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:59am

I like this game a lot. You're going places, kid.

rukbotto says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:00am

I like the ambience created by the graphics and music. It's really fun to play!

Andrew Brophy says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:44pm

aw yes that classic todd look

Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:47am

Nice game. The movement feels great, and I found the graphics & the music adorable.

Todd Luke says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:28am

to all you young bucks out there tryin' to get your trot on http://youtu.be/uuXT_oaFWeU

burlapjack says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:14am

Loved it! 5 on art and humor!

GarethIW says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:35am

Koooosmotrot... where you running to? Whatcha gonna dooooo.. when your air is throooough?

soy_yuma says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:21pm

I liked it! I found it was probably too easy. But the graphics are cool and the music fits with the game very well :-) Good job!

jsspiegel says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 7:42pm

Fantastic music (and charming art too)! I think this is the only game I've seen with original vocals, and damn do I want more of that!

BradleySmith says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 12:56am

This is beautiful, I like the characters butt and the music is fantastic... kinda dreamy. Rated highly. :)

arcticleaf says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 2:27am

niceee

jimmypaulin says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 3:01pm

The song totally makes this haha! I love the comedy character with that podgy space suit farting his way around goodness knows where. The colours are even hilarious, a great effort! I would have liked a bit more fanfare for beating those levels though ;)

Alex Higgins says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 11:37pm

BEST SONG FROM THIS COMPO SO FAR

angelk says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 6:59am

I can't believe this is a thing, that song is priceless. Adorable name and art, this was one well executed goofy idea, that fit the theme well in its presentation.

Mase says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 6:45pm

Nice color palette

local minimum says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 11:39pm

Nicely made music to fit the game and its graphics. Didn't really get what I needed the z and x to. Fun and well made.

mcapraro says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 7:07am

well done! the overall mood was really neat

Jan 2, 2014 @ 7:21pm

Fantastic song. A forlorn, lyrical tribute to the main character's struggle. We recorded a couple of original pieces, too; there needs to be a compilation of games with original recordings.

This feels like something straight out of the DOS shareware era. The levels remind me of the overworld in the original Commander Keen eps. 1-3. The palette is nearly CGA, but not quite.

Boost was a little unclear at first. It seemed to operate in the direction of travel when it was engaged rather than the direction held while charging. I'm not sure if there was a penalty for running into spacebugs, spacecacti, or spacegopher spaceballs; I started doing it routinely because it was easier and quicker than aiming a boost.

That suit sure is form-fitting on the back end. *whistles*

-mildmojo

ehtd says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 4:34am

nice game, loved the mole type enemies. Nice music too.

Jan 3, 2014 @ 12:00pm

Awesome song with original lyrics! The colors are so retro :)
Overall nice mood!

goerp says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 1:07pm

Nice game. The way the levels are build are just right. You can go a bit wrong, it's not too much of a maze but also not too easy.

And the music is great!

Interesting color choice. because it was consistent throughout it gave it an other worldy feel.

It could maybe have used a bit of instructions on the 'sprint' mechanic.

cappelnord says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 2:09pm

Lovely color palette, cool dashing mechanic and charming song. Well done :)

anvoz says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 6:03pm

Nice game. I really like the music. Love to see more levels. I think you should create a level with smaller map and less oxygen.

stvr says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 6:13am

Solid entry, a bit simple but fun. Would have liked to see the somewhat desolate mood of the music carried into the game more!

nyrrrr says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 5:19pm

the music rocks :D

rincewind_cz says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 12:06am

Nice game a good vocals on the song.. That song really makes almost the whole atmosphere of this :-)

xhunterko says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 2:55am

*slow claps*
Music just a tad loud.
Well done though!
Well done!

Todd Luke says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 5:16am

thank you everyone for the feedback! the space gopher king on tanex IV smiles upon you

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]