December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Of Life and Death

by jsspiegel - Jam Entry

In life, you only get one... ending. Of Life And Death is an unintentional text adventure with graphics, about a man's futile attempt to achieve immortality!

Art by me (Jacob, 16) and everything else by my amazing friend Adam, 16. This is my second Ludum Dare and his first. We were going to have a third friend do art for us, but she had to drop out last minute due to schoolwork, leaving me to take over the art (originally Adam and I were going to split code). While art is not my forte, I'm kinda pleased with how it turned out, and the game as a whole is a fun experiment! It's (kinda) #NOKILL.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#138Theme(Jam)3.22
#148Innovation(Jam)3.23
#235Mood(Jam)2.96
#255Fun(Jam)2.90
#275Overall(Jam)3.08
#276Humor(Jam)2.32
#382Audio(Jam)2.38
#500Graphics(Jam)2.13

Comments

blasmena says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:38pm

awesome! love it!

godan says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:31am

Well written!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:31am

The choice to steal from your parents at age 8 is really good one that I've personally never seen in a game. I think that kind of exploration of ethical development is really interesting. Well done.

glovecat says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:41am

It has a good message.

jsspiegel says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:51am

Thanks for all the positive feedback!

Lazdo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:10am

Very Nice! Never seen anything like it!

@TeddyNashor says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:29am

great story guys. I am really curious if there is a way (but I would assume not as it seems to be the point of the game). Either way, experimental games are so great to play so thanks so much!

uRLgR3y says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:34am

Intense. Well written. Loved it. Good job.

van noctar says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:35am

Good game, many choices and meny game states. WHat system are you used? State Machine?

JaymeeMak says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:36am

I loved it! I like the way the interactive narrative was implement, the music went nicely with it, the story was great, the choices were great, the representation of opening doors and leaving behinds others was great too.

Great job!

Lacutis says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:36am

Interesting use of the theme. Felt like a choose your own adventure book in computer form.

TFJO says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:38am

Interesting! There's a couple of (minor) bugs that I've noticed, such as giving you the option to pay back your parents regardless of whether you actually stole from them or not, otherwise an interesting concept.

Unept says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:38am

Ya, great job!

pom9898 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:39am

Wow. Very well done. And this is your second game?!?!

jsspiegel says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:47am

pom9898:

Thanks! Second full Ludum Dare for me, first for my partner, but I did Shark Jam last month, and we've both made many games outside of Ludum Dare.

dremelofdeath says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:47am

It was fun to pick various life choices. I feel like the results of your actions took a long time to affect the outcomes it seemed. Fits with the theme. Good job!

Optimus6128 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:56am

Haha, nice concept!

Zephyr89 says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:48am

MUST PLAY ALL THE STATES!

somepx says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:10pm

Very well written, interesting twists. A good entry

pele says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 1:16am

Cool game! Sad thing the character ends up as a beggar if you try to be charitable ;)

LD_LAN_Party says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 1:35am

Interesting concept. I liked a lot of the choices.

zkenshin says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 1:36am

Never reached immortality, interesting game.

01rafael says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 3:31am

great idea of storytelling! Five stars!

ittlebit says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 4:03am

Interesting approach to branching.

Blinked says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 4:44am

Very well done!

Hyde Wyvern says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 5:52am

Wow this game is so touching and really deals with decisions in a fantastic way, I'm speechless. My game also relies on the "you only got one life so make the right choices" theme but in a kind of different way. Amazing! I loved it.

jsspiegel says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 6:38pm

Hyde Wyvern:

Played through your game earlier (although I just realized I forgot to finish and rate it!), and I noticed the similarities immediately. So interesting how the same sub-theme can be taken two totally different ways!

TheWhiteLlama says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 7:01pm

Wow, so much futur-changing choices to make. I can't get another way then being homeless. Maybe I only made wrong decisions. Well done.

Zener says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 7:20pm

Best idea I have seen so far!

aare says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 8:03pm

Nice attempt on creating game with story and a message, mabye a bit naive at times and limitating the player, but a great try after all!

--- Spoler! ---

After denying the money to the client I was told that it destroyed my personality to the point where I wanted to kill myself - the development of the character that I took (f.e. - to take the knife, to stab the guy, to steal the girl...) didn't made me to expect that the protagonist would be a guy who whold want to kill himself just because of some random guy's death :P

jsspiegel says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 8:55pm

aare:

-- Spoilers --
Unfortunately, early decisions don't much end up impacting future consequences, the consequences are usually immediate. No matter your early choices, you always end up working at the insurance office, if you deny money you become guilt ridden, if you give it you get fired, and you always end up dying. That's our take on the theme, you only get one ending. In a full game, you're right, there would be a more diverse system of choices and consequences and personality and all that stuff.

kibertoad says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 9:47pm

it would be nice to see a complete interactive story written by you. liked the idea, but suicide as resolution is overrated.

Dec 22, 2013 @ 1:21am

Nice concept, I like the idea of being confronted with choice. Great work ! I tried it 3 times, I wonder what I got wrong, never got the immortality choice ;)

jsspiegel says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 1:29am

archaeometrician:

SPOILER

Not sure if I should reveal this, but there is no way to achieve immortality. That's the point/moral of the game, no matter how you live your life, it always ends, and you can never become immortal.

olafsworld98 says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 1:51am

i love it, but i still never got immortality

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]