December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Last Flight

by travislucia - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Controls:
Arrows to move and jump
Z: Get out of helicopter
X: Drop Bombs

Bugs: The main bug that I ran into and quickly fixed after the game was published is when the level restarts the camera does not travel far enough back to reach the players actual start point. Its not ideal but pressing restart in the top right usually helps fix the issue.

Fuel, Although not a bug the fuel system is driven by the release of a directional key. Its not the best system but given the allotted amount of time it was the best I could come up with.

Thanks to everyone for the feedback!

Goal: Save trapped civilians and navigate the terrain using both basic platforming skills and a helicopter.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#229Graphics3.50
#436Overall3.08
#446Fun2.93
#571Innovation2.80
#587Humor2.04
#641Mood2.56
#737Theme2.45
#807Audio1.13

Comments

Crabman says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:13am

Nice, that's a cool kinda retro. :) Just a heads up, one time I got stuck after crashing the chopper into a wall. I was respawned inside the "stairs" and could then only move within the walls, basically caught on the wrong side of the barrier.

somepx says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:13pm

This is really well made, adorable retro style!

Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:54pm

Nice game ! Love the art style. It's not easy, I like that ! I have the same bug as Crabman. Everytime I lose a life, the restart button spawn me into the stairs. If I reset again, the game is fixed and fully playable.

LatFoued says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:15pm

Nice concept and very good retro pixel art, altough a bit buggy. Some times after i respawn i spawn on the wrong place and sometimes i can't enter the helicopter any more after i exit it.

derdragon says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:58pm

Reminds me of Chopper Commando http://www.classicdosgames.com/online/chopper256.html

The colors are very... Lemmings-esque, and I swear if my guy had green hair, I'd be compelled to continually jump into the waterfalls.

JohnnySix says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:13pm

Love the graphics and the theme. I couldn't get the helicopter to fly more than a few blocks before running out of fuel though. If it's tick/cycle based, then maybe I'm clocking too many FPS. I couldn't save anyone. :(

raisedmedia says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:47am

Liked it, challenging.

Masadow says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:49am

Nice game :)

bttf says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:53am

Graphics are awesome. No audio though? Game itself could be a little more fun or engaging ... But it is well-made.

Pixelulsar says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:53am

It's a cool concept and and I like the style.

A bug I ran into was when I restarted I was stuck in the walls.

Calciumtrice says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:56am

Pretty cool stuff! The graphics are nice, including the intro cutscene, the levels are solid and the way you implemented fuel made an extra challenge of trying to navigate in as few moves as possible. Nice touch with the screen shaking when landing.

I bumped into the bug where I would spawn in weird places on a few levels, but pressing the restart button reset it properly after a try or two in most cases.

Overall, well put together and nice little game.

BitDemon says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:53am

Nice game. When I restarted I got spawned in the walls.

anvoz says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:22pm

Pretty nice idea. Like it!

Photon says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:51pm

Really liked it. I think the platforming-copter double personality opens the floor for some interesting stuff to be sure. You should polish this up, fix the bugs, and release a post-compo version with audio. I mean it!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:44pm

Enjoyed this! I think it has potential beyond the compo, a little bit of expansion and it'd be a neat platformer/vehicle exploration game

rukbotto says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:12am

Great gameplay, nice graphics. Some sound effects would be great but this is very good for my taste.

Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:42am

Really well done! I miss sounds and music but I love super lo-fi graphics.

NuSan says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:35pm

Cool game, i like the graphics. Keep up the good work

Ludipe says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:25pm

Great game, I loved the concept and the retro style. I also like how every part of the helicopter can be damaged, quite detailed.

Unept says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:15pm

I love this game's potential. And the hero/chopper looks so adorable. Love the games' sense of epicness on a small scale. Ya, a bit buggy (respawned in the rocks a few times), but hey, 48 hours!

Diptoman says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 8:57am

Great art and retro feel. Dying once gets me stuck though, but the restart button fixes that. And really cool, I was killing most people at first by getting out of the heli over them and thus dropping the heli on their heads ._.
The damage display for the heli was awesome.

Husky says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 9:53am

I got a bug cause me stuck in the wall...:(
But this is a interesting idea :D

Colapsydo says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 1:54pm

I'm not sure I've seen the game since the helicopter just disappear each time I'm saving the first survivor on the bottom center.

Kyle Mac says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 4:17am

I ended up getting stuck inside a platform one time after I crashed the helicopter.

JaJ says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 8:45pm

I managed to get stuck in the walls somehow. I love the pixel style. The screen rumble was a bit too dramatic, especially for the little guy.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]