December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

YOGO Cookie

by Lacutis - 48 Hour Compo Entry

**** NOTE: There are some annoying bugs in the release build, they have been fixed in the PostLD Build, please give both a chance. ****

You Only Get One Cookie is a NoKill Stealth game. You are a little kid who has been sent to bed after recieving only one cookie.

Your mission, should you choose to accept it, is to swipe more cookies while no one is looking and hide them in your bed.

WASD and Arrow keys steer, G picks up cookies, T drops them.

Multiple levels, I didnt get everything I wanted into it, but I think its pretty solid for the time.

The source zip includes everything EXCEPT TK2D Toolkit. Being a paid addon. I did include the pathfinder addon I used as it was a free download.

***** IF YOU ARE GETTING A CRASH BEFORE LOAD IN CHROME START A NEW CHROME INSTANCE, ITS MOST LIKELY AN OUT OF MEMORY CONDITION ****

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#254Humor2.90
#364Theme3.13
#459Fun2.91
#556Innovation2.82
#720Mood2.44
#733Overall2.73
#736Audio1.70
#872Graphics2.11

Comments

Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:57pm

haha... fun! ^^
And same concept as mine ;)

lubos says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:10pm

Fun 5/5:)

postmodestie says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:15pm

Haha! Very enjoyable!

Sebastian says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:12pm

Nice idea ;)

torcado194 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:03am

pretty fun concept! seemed kinda lackluster though

Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:34am

Lovely! I was really bad at sneaking around, but that was all my own fault.

sykotomy says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:36am

I liked this game it was fun to play. It seems like there were pretty long wait times that i couldn't get out of. I spent a lot of time staring at the title. It did make me want a cookie though...

Lacutis says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:41am

If you get stuck at the main screen waiting its because the cookie hasn't been clicked. I tried to make that clearer on the webpage after the fact but I wish I had just added a simple press any key to pass the main screen.

zzzev says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:28am

Very fun evading the mom character, quite difficult too! Good stuff.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:45am

This game is pretty great! I love the plot and the graphics.

metkis says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:01am

The mother kept getting caught on the wall when I played, but I did like the concept of sneaking past mother to get the cookies and the theme being part of the narrative from the mother. Nice!

Lacutis says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:28am

Try refreshing if she gets caught, I'm not sure why she does but I'm trying to make it happen less.
If she gets caught and youd like to play the other levels the update link has bug fixes.

MrTedders says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:28am

That dad is one burly dude. It was a fun concept, just a tad bit slow. Could be fixed by lowering the number of cookies needed to progress.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:01am

Nice approach to the theme. It took me sometime to get past the initial screen though.

Coblynau says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:41pm

May the cookie liberation begin! Nom nom nom. Well done! :)

lorniebear says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:36pm

Good idea... I was actually eating cookies as I played it!

kookoon says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:15pm

Wow really nice gameplay-
Found a way to distract mommy by let the dog bark. :D

doitle says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:31pm

Any chance you could provide a windows distribution for this for those of us that don't have the Unity plugin?

Lacutis says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:43pm

Yes, I will build it tonight and update the game. I didnt think anyone would want it if I had the web player.

Several says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:12pm

Kinda cute!
I'd like an easier first level, though.

Jellycakes says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:36am

Pretty cool, I liked the stealth aspect of it. Got a little difficult on the second level though. Had fun playing it anyway. Good job.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:57am

Haha! This is very fun! I started empathizing with the kid, and caught myself thinking that Mom is an asshole for hogging the kitchen to herself, blocking my cookies. And then I saw she was making more and I was oh cool!!! And I went into the living room to hide because I panicked, and then I was like "awww she's bringing me a cookie" and the selfish woman just wanted to eat in in front of the couch! This is my "a life in the day" for this game <3 Top marks for fun!

BrothersT says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:42am

nicely put together, can be a little glitchy. I love stealth games and this was a goodun'

Lacutis says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:36am

Just so everyone is aware, I did a bunch of bug fixes and put it up as the "Post LD" link. It includes fixes for the parents glitching and not pathfinding properly as well as a change so if you lose in round 2 or 3 it just restarts you on that round. So take a look at the Post LD version! Thanks!

Darkcoder says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:08am

I normally don't like stealth games, but it was more fun than I expected. I don't understand the title though, because I have to get more than one cookie?

Lacutis says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:19am

The title is from your parents point of you, You only get one cookie. Your mission is to sneak around their tyrannical cookie rule.

Lacutis says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:20am

Sorry, point of view. Not you. I'm tired heh.

doitle says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:05am

A pretty simple, but fun game. I was surprised that there were multiple levels also. It might have been nice to add a mechanic so you could lose attention once you've gotten it. I was chased around a few laps of the house by the mother before I finally gave up. I was hoping she'd lose interest and return to the kitchen but no such luck.

Lacutis says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:52am

Good point, I had planned on adding other items in the game that could distract the parents like toys you could set off and things but like everyone I ran out of time. I'll keep that in mind when I make changes to it. I considered making it so if you ran back to your bed they would lose interest.

Kayelgee says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:52am

This is a pretty funny concept :D
But this game is so hard and the cat seems to be the safest bet :D

stvr says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:03pm

Surprisingly tough! The MS Paint graphics are... not great.

Und[0]ne Devs says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:38pm

Nice idea, mum is so fast xD There is too much time while starting another game, but nice job!

henrykun says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 3:44am

Very nice idea, nice graphics too. The only thing I think could be better is the waiting time for the mother's behaviour changing but it's good idea.

erebusman says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:58am

Good job. I like the theme and gameplay. I of course wished for a few more places & ways to hide! :D

01rafael says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 12:18am

what should I do after I get the cookie? ))

Lacutis says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 12:26am

After you get the cookie you take it to your bed and hide (drop it) inside.
Then you do it again till you meet the goal and move to the next level.

bsowers says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 3:49am

Was interesting, though I wished the mother would eventually lose interest in me after a certain cooldown - once she saw me she never seemed to give up.

Noah Ratcliff says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 3:56am

Loved it! I got lost playing over and over.

Lacutis says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 4:31am

@BSowers: That was a common request, the post compo version she ignores you if you go back to bed.

mortus says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 7:37am

That's one insane family! I can't get rid of feeling my mother wants to kill me! And I think they love their dog but hate me (dog hates me too!). And the guy still steals cookies from the dog.

It was fun though and I thought about some strange things (like appearing rooms or insta-death on mother contact) as a strange rules in kid's mind for a game he has - steal a cookie. Schematic graphics and sound didn't help me to get into that mood at first though, I thought that my mother was the killer cookie monster with hands first few gameplays for example, and it came to me only on the third level that those little beeping sounds is probably dog's barking and not target-finding radar beeps from my mother-robot-cookie-monster as I thought at first.

Anyway, as I played it more it became quite fun and not frustrating at all.

One time at level 3 I was running from mom and tried to hide in my bed and she stuck in the doorway and never left it so I couldn't leave. I didn't know it was possible to hide in bed at that point though, so I wasn't disappointed.

Colapsydo says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 11:41am

These parents are tyrannic.
I would have expected a little more collaboration from my father but no he is also chasing me. They want the cookies just for them.

Hypnohustla says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 12:50pm

I always enjoy stealth games. :) Fun use of theme. The graphics and sounds were not the high point but who cares. :)
And damn those parents are fast :P

loxo says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 5:53pm

Nice atmospheric game with a good concept. Sadly it's not possible to jump right back in after getting caught. And it's not completely clear to me when the mother will catch me. One time I was in the kitchen without a cookie and she ignored me, the next time not.

Fenmar says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 7:08pm

I really enjoyed your game :-) Made a Let's Play video here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YxKt2HA2CHQ

Lacutis says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 8:58pm

Hey guys, thanks for the feedback. I will definitely take it into consideration for next time. Sadly, I ran out of time when it came to sound and the dog only barely got added.

@mortus A lot of what you said has already made it into the post compo version. Your parents will leave you alone if you get to bed. I wanted to make the parent drag you back to your room but time constraints prevented it.

@Colapsydo Yeah they kind of are, but at the same time arent most parents from a kids view? "I just want a cookie and my parents wont let me and just want me to go to bed" becomes sort of tyrannical from a kids point of view.

@Hypnohustla Thanks! I intentionally made them faster than you because you are supposed to be a little kid and the parents are supposed to be much larger. I didn't have enough time to really work on the scale the way I wanted.

@loxo Yeah, sorry about sending you back to the start screen after getting caught. I fixed that in the post compo version to allow you to restart right in the same level.

@Fenmar Awesome! can't wait to check it out!

Dec 24, 2013 @ 11:14pm

Cool idea ;)

Tex Killer says ...
Dec 31, 2013 @ 3:26pm

Very creative! lol

sandbaydev says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 8:47pm

Gameplay is quite familiar. I tried to escape to my bed to avoid penalty but mom chased me... yet she got stuck on the bed. I think I won!

Pretty nice entry.

mtinkerhess says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 12:41am

Fun! Nice difficulty curve, kind of tricky but not hard enough to rage quit. Nice take on the theme. I like the dog (wagging tail and game mechanic). Could have used more feedback on line of sight of the parents and the dog.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]