December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Diamond Warning

by canary40 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Greetings, comrades! This is my Ludum Dare 28 entry for theme "You Only Get One". Diamond Warning is a shmup with only one... You guessed it... enemy! This is a fairly challenging bullet hell esque game inspired by one of my favourite shmups, Warning Forever. I hope this entry pleases everyone!

Dev info:
Coded in Haxe, using HaxePunk and Nape.
I didn't have the skills to do art, or time to further the graphics, so I just stuck with nape debug rendering.
Approx EDIT*1401* lines of (ugly)code!

Sound effects made with sfxr.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#253Fun3.25
#386Overall3.15
#432Audio2.65
#518Mood2.72
#588Graphics2.75
#675Humor1.86
#689Theme2.54
#814Innovation2.38

Comments

Crigs says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:06am

Tight!

jillytot says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:21am

I had trouble hitting the enemies, but it was cool. I actually like these graphics, i'd stick with em if you took it further.

CustomPhase says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:46am

Cool little game. It pulls in quick, altough i had trouble controlling it in the beginning. I think the theme concern is very subtle and weak though. And background sohuld be just black i think, cause its getting hard to see after a while.

mungoman1 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:06am

Pretty good, I love bullet hell games like this :) I think the background could have been black though.

adnzzzzZ says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:29am

I love the way they (the enemies) come together. Could have used more juice (particles, camera movement, tweening). Other that nice job.

nicotuason says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:45am

So many bullets! I like that you can change the direction of fire, just wish the enemy reacted more when hit.

whiteknife says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:18pm

Despite the simplicity, I liked the graphics, especially the way your bullets fire out in this wavering cascade - it's cool. Solid gameplay too!

Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:21pm

I like the game aesthetics, and how the enemy connect itself with other parts. Especially the inner circle with the main armor, connecting seamleesly through the line.

Masadow says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:27pm

It would be great to have more feedback when hitting enemies. Concerning the art, I don't really think they are awfull finally ^^

Lockyy says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:27pm

Very fun. I love the weapon, although it'd be more fun if shooting angle was controlled via the mouse rather than via the awkward turning system.

Tsumei says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:44pm

Well. It was decent fun to play, but I can't really give you much for graphics :P
Good and responsive controls though, decent effects :)

mruno says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:33pm

Very difficult, but quite entertaining!

Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:34pm

Cool game. It reminds me of InfinityGene.

Blooperly says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:19pm

Very fun! Love the sounds too.

Tonasz says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:27pm

Nice minimalistic design - geometric shapes, the way you shoot bullets, animation of the enemy reconstruction. Simplistic but really, really enjoyable mechanics! Controls were weird at the beginning but ok when I got used to it. Only feedback of shooting and hitting enemy could be better - at the beginning I wasn't even sure if I hit enemy correctly.

sandbaydev says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:40pm

I don't like bullet hell games (unlike Mr. mungoman1)... but yeh, cool lil game. I actually liked these graphics quite a bit.

Gtoknu says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:54am

The first enemy I thought "hah, easy"
Then "oops, that actually is kinda hard"
The third... "WHAT THE" haha, surprises are good!
The debug rendering actually was very good, could stick with it.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]