December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

XenoSerf

by H-Bomb - Jam Entry

Xenoserf is a game about servitude and tyranny. You only get one chance at freedom, but if you win, you win for everyone.

That one chance takes the form of public rioting against an openly unjust tyrant. But before you can take your chance, you have to prepare for it.

This is where the breeding mechanics come in. The player is a farmer, who starts with a single pig-slug hybrid. Combat worth? Somewhat low. You must seek to gain access to other species, which can breed with your pig-slug (or slig for short) to give you more combat-ready troops. And then these hybrids can breed together.

But the ostriches are on that other farm over there. The owner seems like he's a likable enough fella. Will you convince him to lend you one of his ostriches? And the other farmers could be of some help. Possibly.

This game is a bit more than we could chew. It's very buggy, and the controls obviously aren't what they should be. But if we had more time to finish the game, we wouldn't feel the need to add anything new; we'd only finish it.

So we completely missed the mark in terms of execution and polish, but at the same time, we think this may be our most cohesive game yet in terms of world-building, theme and mood.

This is a big learning experience for us. We don't fully know what went wrong yet, but we'll be thinking about it over the next few weeks.

Please enjoy what parts of the game we find totally, totally cool. Also, there's an easter egg in there. We'd love for you to find it.

We look forward to learning from your feedback.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Graphics(Jam)4.73
Coolness75%
#31Humor(Jam)3.76
#50Overall(Jam)3.77
#55Audio(Jam)3.70
#59Mood(Jam)3.63
#118Innovation(Jam)3.30
#201Fun(Jam)3.05
#263Theme(Jam)2.77

Comments

aayars says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:33am

Getting a not found error on the web link...

etabubu says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:38am

Same here...

... seems the correct url could be http://xenoserf.h-bomb.fr ? (minus the www. bit)

H-Bomb says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:51am

Thank you for this. The entry's address has been updated.

x70x says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:14am

Fantasic art and an awesome variety of characters!

zebi24 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:38am

Another great entry from you guys. Art and music is as good as it gets. Great job!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:00pm

Lester-Dewey , LD :)))
Awesome art, music, mood and characters! Keep up the good work!

JaJ says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:19pm

Great art, great mood, great music, and very funny, I love it!

brogrammers says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:20pm

nice idea for the graphics!

Cawrtz says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:55pm

Awesome art and music. Very entertaining game ! Congratulations.

antila says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:04pm

A really fun and obviously well thought-out game. Hope to see it finished! The graphics and music add a lot to an overall great experience.

AtomicVikings says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:04pm

OMG I found my master. The Art is so awesome!!!! I made a Vector game too, but yours is great. Thank you for sharing this! It's raining stars for you!

Lissar says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:23am

Great visual style and humor! Interesting take on the theme. A bit too much clicking though.

Prophet Steve says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:14am

Very fun to play. Too bad of the controls since that is the only thing that is keeping me from finishing the game.

recursor says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:29am

I'm not extremely keen on the mouse clicking mechanic. My hand got tired pretty fast. The graphics, however, are top-notch, and the music is really great too.

Absurditure says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:39am

I really like the world you have created...
I didn't get very far into the game though, my wrist couldn't handle all the clicking.

zkenshin says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:49am

Great art and character design, nice job (:

BrothersT says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:26am

Yeah man, these graphics, you'll be up there no doubt. took me a while to figure breeding out, kept clicking on the wrong one apparently...

btwj says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:59am

Haha really funny game, and the artwork is fantastic. Although leveling up by clicking isn't very fun, talking to people is a lot more fun

Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:04am

Really pro stuff! Just a bit too much clicking, but excellent game anyway! :D

GarethIW says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:30am

How the heck did you do this in three days? You've got a world, characters, some fantastic artwork, dialogue, storyline and some simple but fun gameplay to top it off. Great job!

JoeManaco says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:54pm

very cool. music doesn't play on safari, but worked on chrome.

Jgpicatoste says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:36pm

Art was absolutely amazing; mechanics didn't quite click on me. It's really good tho, gratz.

d__adee says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:14pm

I love the graphics! Really smooth! :D
I like your idea. But haven't got the taste of that freedom yet. I hope you guys finish it to a full game though.

Zerot says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:30pm

great entry. graphics are great, music is nice. gameplay is a bit limited and repeated clicking is quite boring. but with a bit of work on gameplay it could be a great game.

GFM says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:12am

Although I have to agree that the controls were quite buggy... Goddammit! This game was amazing!

Fix the bugs and release a post compo version!!

And though I'm not into games for mobiles (my cellphone is still a simple one, without touch), I can totally see this being ported to mobile (or, at least, touch devices). It would feel a lot better to touch the screen madly then it feels to mash the mouse. (I'm not a fan of games were you must press the mouse quickly... but this was amazing!)

P.S.: Oh, wait! I forgot... this was made in HTML5, right? So this probably already have touch and mobile support... (or at least, it should be possible and not all that hard)

turnA says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 1:12am

Is it just me or I can't move my character and only click other character around? Great art and music though :)

Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:02am

Great art and really funny. Good job guys.

H-Bomb says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:49am

Hi all, thank you for your comments!
Just to let you know: a post-jam version of XenoSerf is already on its way and we're of course taking all your feedbacks into account.

Before Light says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 10:37am

Awesome! I had great fun playing the game. Great job!

wdebowicz says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:49pm

Music perfectly fit the art. Love it!

AMSmirnov says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 8:11pm

Wow! Wonderful art! Great game!

Diptoman says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 4:02pm

As the other players have said, too much clicking. But I think that's the only downside. Everything else is perfect- The concept, the character designs, the graphics, sound and humor.
Especially the humor. The story of the derp cap was epic. And I loved how Lord Greed was giving out hints xD

goerp says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 4:12pm

I can't wait for the post compo version.
This one is already lovely, with the brilliant graphics and music.
I didn't really know what to expect form this game, so I was a bit hasty at first, trying to get high level pigs and wanting to breed them by the dozen before the lord came back the first time, but the hints he gave made me realise you had to have patience.

Really nice!

bukt says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 4:47pm

Amazing graphics!

Snuti says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 6:52pm

Really nice artwork and music, nice work :)

nyrrrr says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 2:56am

great entry :D stunning arts. nothing else to say :)

Alex Rose says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 6:55pm

I completely forgot about Ludum Dare because of Christmas but I always intended to come back and play your game. And it's really cool! Graphics are lovely, great dialogue, great range of choices, music is funny.

Yeah, sure, the controls could use some work. But overall great.

Hit me up when the post compo version's done!

dudsen says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 7:51pm

This was one of these brilliant WTF moments of ludum dare. The style is out of this world. The game is a bit slow in the beginning (probably because I was rushing a bit...) but the the idea is supercool. The battles remind me a bit of Dragon Force on Sega Saturn (*sigh* miss that one). The first battle I fought was with a heap of pixels while the slig and the neighbors dodos-thing were in..., well, you know... :D

Very twisted entry, with a surprisingly depth in narrative & mechanics.

mystakin says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 11:29pm

Very unique game, like nothing else I've played for this event. Great art, cool concept, and fun writing. I really enjoyed this.

jerombd says ...
Jan 7, 2014 @ 8:23pm

It's just absolutely awesome.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]