December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Blue Harpoon

by FrederickK - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Did my best to make the music, but if you don't like it, you can mute it pressing M.

How to play: It is reccomended, but not neccessary, to use a controller, it can be played well with keyboard too.
Z,Up,Fire1 - Jump
X, Fire2 - Throw the harpoon

Objective: The harpoon it is your only defense against the monsters but, when you throw it, you have to get it back.
It is a score game, challenge yourself to see for how long you can survive! :)

Made with Unity3D, Lmms, Graphics Gale and my many thanks to the author of this tool http://spritesheetpacker.codeplex.com/, help me a lot!

Edit: Added an after comp build with somethings I want to add and some bug fixes.

Edit: Remember to play the comp version too! That's the one that I should be rated of.

Features of the Updated Version:
1.1 - Due many requests, before the monsters are spawned, there is a particle indicating where it's going to be summon.
1.3 - Many, many changes, remember to play the comp version too!
Changes:
- Added Unity-chan http://unity-chan.com/ . Can you find her?
- Added some sounds.
- The game gets harder as the time goes, as it should.
- More particules, yay!
- Added some frames to animation to some characters.
- Master is the highest rank that you can get. If you do, you will be reward with a barrier that will block one damage.
- Fixed some bugs, most of related to character movement.
- The harpoon will come back to you when you is near of it.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness85%
#113Theme3.63
#154Graphics3.73
#352Fun3.07
#354Audio2.79
#477Mood2.79
#491Overall3.00
#597Humor2.00
#648Innovation2.67

Comments

stenol says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:12pm

Cool litle game with great graphics.

cwkx says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:50am

I especially loved the spear: 1 shot, 1 death - awesome!! 5's for overall, innovation, fun, graphics, audio.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:23am

Nice game, liked a lot the main char!

phi6 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:13am

Really good! I like that you have to get the harpoon back, as it makes the game a lot harder especially if you miss. Great use of the theme. Art is fantastic, but lacking animation, I think if you simplified the art and focus more on animation and feel, you'd get a better result. Still - I had lots of fun playing it, and nice variety of enemies. Good job!

tiryth says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:28pm

Very nice game ^^
I miss just one thing, one warning were enemy will spawn, I die a lot of time cause some monster just fell of on my head XD
And great graphics ^^

BitDemon says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:11pm

Fun game and nice graphics.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:53pm

Hey Fred, congrats for the solo game development!I liked the art and the creativity you had about the weapon. Some enemies killed me when they appeared, so i think a sonorous feedback is a good thing. Good job!

leparlon says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:33pm

Great use of the theme, it was fun and difficult having to retrieve the harpoon after each attack (even harder when I missed), making me aim veeery carefully. The only problem I found is that sometimes enemies spawn right under me. But anyway, many 5 stars.

Zemmi says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:11am

Cool game. Definitely had good stuff going for it, like being able to smash fireballs out of the air with the harpoon and having to run around the enemies retrieving it. Biggest issue I came across was sometimes the enemies would spawn on top of me, always a bummer when a good run ends that way.

stigmawall says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:44am

Damn you, flying head!
I like the game design, but maybe the time bewteen the monsters respawn is too long.
I also damn you to make some great graphics.

Joao Kucera says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:47am

Great game and fun!

Lipedal says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:11am

Excellent use of the theme! It's gratifying to use the spear, kinda deadly to retrieve it. Awesome graphics, too! Congratulations :D

30dogs says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:34am

We had the same idea :)
Very nice job, the controls were very smooth and I like that you can block the enemy projectiles with your harpoon. Good audio and eerie mood as well.

One problem arises however when one of the big guys spawns on top of your dropped harpoon, making it impossible to retrieve it.

01rafael says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 12:38am

Nice graphics

Dec 22, 2013 @ 10:50pm

Cool game! Love the graphics!

arcticleaf says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 2:26am

awesomeee i like it

van noctar says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 10:16pm

Great graphics!! :D

pkenney says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 1:23am

Interesting game - you have the same basic core concept as my game, but a very different take.

My best score was 46 seconds, but every time I died it was because a monster spawned in my face, so mostly I had to learn where not to stand, and still it was a matter of time. I see that this was updated post-compo, so that's a good idea!

SimianLogic says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 6:27am

Great graphics! I would work a little more on the spear parenting--have your spear point face the direction your character is facing, have it lock more tightly instead of chasing after. All in all a fun little arena battle game.

Christian S. says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 8:59am

I really liked the core mechanic. It fits the theme really well.

TeamFlare says ...
Dec 31, 2013 @ 3:14pm

Great music and nice graphics!

mactinite says ...
Dec 31, 2013 @ 5:01pm

Fun game! The art is really nice! the first time I played I got really confused, two of the fat guys shot their fireballs into each others and another fat guy spawned on me and I had though I met some weird requirements of a ritual to turn me into one of them XD

ehtd says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 12:39am

Nice game, interesting concept to retrieve your weapon. As a note, I tried playing on web using xbox controller on mac. I could use the stick to move, but I could not jump.

FrederickK says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 2:05am

@ehtd
Could not jump? Strange, I made first with a XBox controller too.
You tried the A button?

anvoz says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 1:01pm

Really fun game to play. Good take on the theme. Nice graphics. The movement was smooth and made me feel comfortable.

local minimum says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 4:21pm

Nice game. A little issue with enemies being able to spawn almost directly on top of the character, which is a bit unfair.

PEBKAC says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 11:48am

Nice one. Controls are smooth. Good thing adding the particle effect in the updated version.

GFM says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 1:21pm

This player graphics!

I was going to complain about being killed by monsters spawning over me, but I see that you already fixed that. Not only that, but you made the game get harder over time...

Nice fixes! Now I have almost nothing to note on the compo version... XD
Well, here goes my two cents: try to keep a consistent art style through the sprites.... The Background and the monster that fires fireballs, for example, aren't matching the style that much... (though the platforms are nice!)

Gabriel says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 1:40pm

Hey, Fred! Congrats, your game is quite fun!

I really really like the concept of having to retrieve the spear, and also, for some reason (maybe the bullet speed), shooting it is very gratifying, and even more when you hit the monsters.

Agreeing to some darers' feedback, I think the spawn time between monsters is a little too long (see how frantic Super Crate Box gets, I think it might be a good reference in that regard), and also it really is essencial to somehow protect the player from having a monster spawning overlapping to him when he's getting the spear. Maybe you could make that the spawn point closest to the spear becomes inactive until the player gets the spear back, and then add more spawn points to avoid losing the surprise element of having a monster spawning just beside you (but not over you)?

Other than that, I'd definitely suggest a huge decrease in game resolution! Not that pixel art is necessarily the only way to go, but because of the lower resolution, the same level of production (time invested in making graphics) results in a more balanced sense of polish. Basically, if you have to rush to put anything graphical on the game (impact splashes, particles, new props, etc), even if you can't spend too much time on it, it will end up blending naturally better with the rest! It might also save you some time to code particles and sound feedback, which always help giving a greater sense of control.

Anyway, congratulations once again, your game is really stylish and fun to play! High rates! :D

Pixlexia says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 3:49pm

My comments on the compo version are pretty much covered by everyone else (enemy spawn indicator etc etc), but you really did a good job on the updated version! I really like the art style especially the player character. The gameplay is fun and it's great that it now gets harder as the game progresses.

Amazing game overall! Keep it up :)

Jan 4, 2014 @ 3:04pm

At first, I didnt get it, but once I did I liked the game! I included it in part 20 of my Ludum Dare 28 compilation video series, if you'd like to take a look :) youtu.be/O9M3TIYW4UU

FrederickK says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 9:02am

Answering some questions:
@GFM
Lack of time. :P
Didn't made in time make everything as detailed as the platforms so it happened, something to be in mind next ludum.

@Gabriel
Super Crate Box was one of my references! But you right, maybe it takes too long the enemies to be summon, even for the start. The idea of deactivate the spawn seems very interesting!
About the decrease in resolution, yeah, I thought in doing. I wanted to add more details but I think like this it would be better in general.

@Jupiter
Hey! Thanks for doing so, I feel honored! :)

yapshuter63 says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 3:20pm

Cool game, but the controls were hard to figure out...

LTPATS says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 4:49am

Fun game, the graphics were nice and the music was engaging and really helped set the mood! Good use of the theme and I ended up playing it for a while, I'd love to see this fleshed out more, it's got a lot of potential!

jfroco says ...
Jan 7, 2014 @ 12:40am

I really liked this game. Simple but fun. Gfx are ones of the best I've seen in this LD. Congrats.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]