December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Rick McSlick

by xgeovanni - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You play the badass Rick McSlick, the only Hard-Boiled action hero in high heels. Can he rectify whatever situation drives the plot I would have written given time? Can he get the generically pretty woman? Can he heroically defy the #nokill challenge?

You'd better believe it.

And where does this tie in to the theme? I have come to the greatest interpretation possible. YOU ONLY GET ONE GAME. While playing this game you will only be playing one game.

Controls:

WASD / Arrows - Move
Space / Up / W - Jump
Click - Shoot.

This game was entirely programmed in HTML5 and pure Javascript. Not even JQuery or nothin'. Am I hardcore or what?

EDIT 17/12/2013: Changed controls so jump can be done with up and W keys.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#286Humor2.79
#716Audio1.80
#840Fun2.34
#885Mood2.06
#946Graphics1.88
#958Overall2.25
#991Innovation1.69
#997Theme1.50

Comments

tzamora says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:27am

I liked the big green boss at the end

zzzev says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:22am

Fun stuff, I like the controls, they remind me of that old game Abuse that I love. I was confused on the first play through because I couldn't find any enemies, btu once I figured it out it was really fun to blast away at the little buggers. Parts of it are tricky!

meek says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:47am

Made me laugh out loud! Is he wearing high heels? Funniest game I've played so far, so I commend you for that!

cappelnord says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:13pm

Nice shoes! Platforming wasn't very good and felt very floaty. It was also very hard to hit the tiny enemies. Sounds were delayed a lot in my Browser (Safari on OS X), so they didn't really contribute to the game. Green monster in the end was cool, I liked that style!

DST says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:22pm

Neat bossfight :P

DanielVF says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:27pm

Haha!

Sounds worked fine for me (chrome, os X)

Kyatric says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:03am

As a non-QWERTY keyboard user, the controls layout is just awful and makes it so that it is close to not playable.
The only thing I could use would be the arrows and space but it is just not usable on my keyboard (I have to expand my pinkie in a way that is just not suitable for comfortable play).

I can't test properly the game, which is a shame I wish I could have gone to the "green boss" which is said to be cool.

Congratulations on making a game though :)

kratorspore says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:20pm

I found this strangely compelling!

01rafael says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:01pm

too hard gameplay

Ariake81 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:15pm

love the red high heels he wears! nice touch

Gamelabbers says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:24pm

the great green boss WAS nice... :) hats off for the Dr. Strangelove reference, although the colour of those heels... reaaally? :D

lorniebear says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:41pm

Yee haw, howdy partner!

Will Edwards says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:44am

Eh, cowboy boots often have high heels.

I like that the boss shoots everything, even birds, giving you points :)

I had to come back to the page to read the instructions; many people won't. Its a lesson I've learnt the hard way this LD, to have instructions in-game. Castle Uno http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-28/?action=preview&uid=14838 is a great example of how we all ought to put instructions in-game.

Cambrian_Man says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 3:16am

Red pumps? plz. He should totally have had some nice peep-toe sandals or something strappy, maybe!

Dec 26, 2013 @ 11:02am

Super cool game! I killed the green monster, did I finished it?

xrm0 says ...
Dec 31, 2013 @ 10:08pm

Nice

AlexFili says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 10:16am

Pretty fun. I like the randomised levels and the enemies behave in funny ways. Great retro enjoyment!

BradleySmith says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 5:42pm

Really enjoyed this! xD

Jan 4, 2014 @ 8:11pm

The game is crazy but I really liked it.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]