December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

EggNogForAll

by ahm99 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Christmas is right around the corner, and you realize that you don't have a Christmas tree. So you are sent to leave the cave (which you live in) and take the axe to chop down a tree before the snow hits.

#############
# Source code info #
#############
The source code comes with a compile script (you need the jdk), however, it only works as an applet, so you'll have to make an html page yourself, or wait till I add a JFrame

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#198Humor3.07
#451Graphics3.00
#604Theme2.67
#634Audio2.20
#677Fun2.60
#948Innovation2.00
#969Overall2.19
#1435Coolness32%

Comments

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:25am

Hahahaha, very nice game! I love the simplicity :)

blearn says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:17pm

lol I was thrown off by the ending, didn't see that coming. I like the parallax effect.

ahm99 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:39pm

Yes the parallax effect that was supposed to be in my piece of junk that I call an engine, but wasted about 6 hours trying to fix while the compo was going causing me to make an incredibly short game, that parallax effect? Why thank you!

ahm99 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:48pm

BTW, I actually made the levels bigger just so you could see the parallax XD.

Venks says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:28am

Very short and I can only cut down one tree. Pfft. Good use of the theme, but as I was sipping down my egg nog I couldn't help but reflect on the tree that got away. I only have one regret.

ahm99 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:35am

The first tree is made of tiles, and the second tree is an entity, I suppose I could have made them both "chopable". I ran out of time, this isn't really what I had wanted. But thanks for playing.

deathray says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:09am

It was pretty fun. I only wish I knew why a tree is needed for egg nog. I really enjoyed the graphics in the cave - like others said - cool parallax! I did some similar tree chopping in one of my previous games (Tundra King), but I never did anything with it.

ahm99 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:26am

deathray: the egg nog was basically a just win screen.

Jejeboy says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:37am

lol. short but sweet.

Devon says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:41am

noice paralegalallax. wish i could chop the other tree. glad i got eggnog for the fam.

jimmypaulin says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 2:56pm

For the duration that the gameplay experience lasted, I really enjoyed it! I liked the parallax backgrounds and the crisp graphics. Was it a postmodern comment on the futility of wasting hours of one's life in <insert crafting game of choice here>? Good fun ta ;)

sfdnetwork says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 1:14pm

Well that was short.

GarethIW says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 9:06am

Haha, short but nice looking :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]