December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Bitmo Pirates MMO

by josefnpat - 48 Hour Compo Entry

NICE FORMATTING HERE:

* http://missingsentinelsoftware.com/content/bitmo-pirates-mmo
* https://github.com/josefnpat/LD28/blob/master/README.md

# Bitmo Pirates MMO

### Welcome space travler. A friendly reminder: You only get one life.

Introducing the 48 hour MMO. You said it was a bad idea, and from the start and in retrospect, it probably was. Regardless, it's an MMO, it's free, and it's technically in 3D, as requested.

Coincidentally, this game is the first publicly released MMO made with the LOVE framework.

### How to play

1. Visit the [HTTPS server webpage](https://50.116.63.25/public/LD28/).

**You will get an [untrusted security warning](http://i.imgur.com/mTugoRM.png). Please add this domain to your security exceptions to continue.**
2. Register your user and get your **Secure Login Key**.
3. Download the client if you haven't already and start it up;

> Windows 32/64 - Simply unpack the zip, and run the *.exe
> OS X - Simply unpack the zip, and run the *.app
> Debian (Ubuntu) - Download the .deb and install it using your package manager of choice.
> LOVE/Other Linux - Run the .love with LOVE 0.8.0

4. **Input your username and key.** This information will be stored if you want to play again.
5. _Blast everyone to bits!_

### Tips:

> **To earn more credits, kill people!**
> The **game is persistant**. If you log out, you will still be in the game.
> **To attack**, select the slot you want to attack with by pressing the numbers 1 to 8, and click on the person you want to attack in the "Playerlist" window. Information about the attack is shown in the "Messages" window.
> **To buy an item**, select an empty slot by pressing the numbers 1 to 8, find the item in the "Market" window and select it, and press the buy button in the "Item Info" window.
> **To warp**, change the numbers in the "Warp Destination" window, and click the warp button. To warp to a player, click on a player that is not in the same (X,Y,Z) coordinates as yourself, and then click warp.
> **There are 66 items** (with 11 base item types), each of them do different things.

Items can either be **used out of combat** (The "Use" button in the "Item Info" will be enabled) or you **can attack an enemy** with it (Select the item slot with the item, then click on an enemies name.)

**All items have a tier**. The higher the tier, the better, but the more expensive.

Items can effect your ship actively, passively, and enemy ships actively. They are **denoted by the prefix**:

>> player_* (Effects current player actively, like repairing your armor)
>> base_* (Effects current player passively, like increasing your maximum armor amount)
>> enemy_* (Effects target player actively, like shooting them.)

Items effect specific statistics of your ship, **denoted by the postfix**:

> *_hp (Your ship's health. If this is 0, you respawn with nothing!)
> *_ap (Your ship's action points. This is used for warping and using items! It regenerates.)
> *_evade (This is your % chance you will evade an enemies attack. It regenerates.)
> *_lock (This is the number of seconds your ship cannot warp. It degenerates once every second.)

For example, "Missile Launcher T1":

* enemy_hp: -12 (This will decrease the enemies HP by 12)
* player_ap: -13, (This will decrease your AP by 13)
* value: 20 (This will cost 20 credits to buy)

### Technical Information:

The client was made for the LOVE 0.8.0 framework, and uses [LoveFrames](https://github.com/NikolaiResokav/LoveFrames) with the [Gray Theme](https://github.com/unekPL/loveframes-gray-theme). It signs the http communications with a [digital signature](http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Digital_signature) and sends it to the PHP server. The PHP server then recieves it and confirms the signature, and operates on a raw data that is ZLIB compressed into memory via memcached.

This game was made in 48 hours for [LD28](http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-28/?action=preview&uid=11249).

For more games, visit [missingsentinelsoftware.com](http://missingsentinelsoftware.com)! ~josefnpat

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness64%
#37Innovation3.94
#410Overall3.12
#597Humor2.00
#602Mood2.62
#793Theme2.35
#862Fun2.29
#921Graphics1.97

Comments

wespaugh says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:36am

It's amazing how many features you were able to cram into this on top of just the technical feat of making the mmo. The different weapon types and combat formulae show a lot of potential. I've been waiting for a permadeath MMO for a long time, too.

Needs more cloaking device!

namuol says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:45am

Second for cloaking device! I'm having a good time exploiting combinations of items. :)

namuol says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:46am

For some reason I really want a "hacker" style game with a similar format... Hmm...

BeardoGames says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:26am

I've got no idea how you managed to pull this off so well and in such little time! Astounding!

01rafael says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:35am

Why you did't a web version?

cudabear says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:49am

Quite good! I found it a little hard to focus on, with so much text. But I suppose that's the nature of a game like this.

I am very impressed with how quickly you were able to do this. A whole database, backend... bravo!

I do agree with 01rafael... would love to see this as a web game.

It took me a little while to get into the game, my login code didn't work for the first few times I tried it.

Definitely one of the more impressive submissions here. Congrats on finishing and thanks for sharing!

BluShine says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:07am

Awesome accomplishment. Is all the server code included in the source? I might try to take a look and mess around with it later. I could see this becoming a "super-light MMO framework"!

Michcioperz says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:00am

You may haven't noticed that license didn't come with Windows x86 version, and LOVE requires it.

Ace says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:11am

It's amazing that you managed a full MMO inside of the 48 hours, though the interfaces could do with a little work. It would be nice to be able to tab through the different input boxes for example.

louis.denizet says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:24am

Such work ;)

fued says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:54am

pretty good work man, now time to polish :)

severus says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:46am

crashed: "gamestate_game.lua: 293: atempt to compare numbers with nil"

MadcoreTom says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:48am

Crashed a few times on me, but pretty impressive

Capitals says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:00pm

Would be great to see a web program.

Madball says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:19pm

You surely put a lot of work in it, but you didn't really make it interesting. It will be good if you continue making it, but 48 hours is too little.
First of all, it was very laggy. I had to wait for several seconds to get results of my action.
Secondly, I don't think there was anyone online. And travelling alone and killing unsuspecting players is as good as single-player-ish. I didn't feel it's MMO.
Another thing is that the player list is uncomfortable. I would like some kind of a 3D view of the world, looking for players close to you is boring. Or at least you can sort the list by distance to the player. If not, at least highlight players on the same spot as you.
Oh, lastly, I got two errors.
1: ( http://puu.sh/5PzhJ.png ) I don't really remember when did it happen.
2: ( http://puu.sh/5Pzjy.png ) That one happened when I sold my Rocket Launcher IV. It was the only weapon I had.

So, this game needs polishing. It's an achievement to make an MMO game for Ludum Dare, but, well, achievemts are rarely goals. Unless you made a bet that you'll make an MMO.
After some time, I thought that I did quite much everything. I didn't buy a lot of high-tier stuff, but what is the purpose of it, if I fight offline players?
Couldn't feel the perma-death feature. People that I shot just came back to the player list with another coorninates.

As I noticed, Ludum Dare is unfriendly for online multiplayer games, because very few people play them. They are just a cool thing to make, but a hard thing to play.

MarekkPie says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:45pm

An amazing technical achievement, but at this point not much of a game.

Snail_Man says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:16pm

Wow... Really great. I didn't realize how much I loved this type of game until I played this. Truly first rate.

droqen says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:42pm

It was a good attempt - lots of the balance was broken (because there's no reload/cooldown of the missile launchers, for example, T1 was almost exactly as good as T6) and nobody stays on long enough to actually get into a battle with someone else ... sadly

BUT really good try? And impressive that you got such infrastructure done in such a small amount of time.

Cloaking device and scans would make finding people interesting in 26x26x26 space, but you still need simultaneous players or at least custom automated defenses or somethin!

droqen says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:44pm

oh, and ... I couldn't see the equipment bar at the top of the screen? It simply didn't show up. I could still play by pressing 1-8 and seeing what the item info window showed tho.

mcapraro says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 5:30am

wow, mmo in 48 hrs is super impressive! a tutorial mode would be helpful to help with new players. i was confused for a bit

gene-z says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 4:04pm

Cool game, troca web version

Cake&Code says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 2:01am

Very interesting, and done in 48 hours? Damn impressive. Well done! :)

Jan 4, 2014 @ 5:35am

Well, sadly, I didnt want to take the risk since my computer said it was unsafe, I am truely sorry, I still mentioned it in my Ludum Dare 28 Compilation video series, if you'd like to check it out! http://youtu.be/EG4kRkM_i_s

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]