December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Monster Interceptor

by ehtd - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Humanity needs you.

You are controlling a pulsar ray to target planets and travel. Travel to the end of the universe and target the monster portal with the pulsar ray to stop invasion.

You only have one chance to stop invasion. Fortunately, our robots have created a simulator on which you can practice before taking your shot on saving human kind.

Note:
Pulsar rays take one full day to load energy. You only have 10 days. DON'T MISS.

Use MOUSE on the planet selection to travel.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness82%
#14Audio3.95
#99Innovation3.64
#202Overall3.40
#220Mood3.21
#282Graphics3.36
#283Theme3.26
#309Humor2.73
#339Fun3.10

Comments

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:25am

GM:Studio buddies!
Very cool game :) I love the graphics

ashen says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:30am

The best music I've heard yet this LD! Amazing and moody. Enjoyed the sine wave style weapons. Did you create it yourself?

I didn't realise you can hold the space bar down to make continuous beams until later. Has hints of the old PC space game Ascendency.

deathray says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:58am

Very original concept and pretty challenging and fun. I found it a little confusing to figure out though. It might help to have the instructions on the game screen. Also I got confused not knowing I should click on the next planet.

claudiordgz says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:58am

Yup, the music really gives it a great feeling. Has great room for growth. The world selection screen reminded me of star fox. Loved the graphics of the cannon and the planets.

ParaPup says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:04am

Cool graphics, The sounds were also great, Nothing that was really missing I had fun playing.

Piat says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:06am

Could not get the game to go past the planet select screen :s I really wanna give this a shot. But from what I see, it looks great.

jillytot says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:11am

Awe man this looks cool, i want to play. stupid mac...

ehtd says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:24am

@plat use the mouse to select the planet to travel

mungoman1 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:24am

That's one nifty laser cannon you've got there pal :D The music was quite good, and the gameplay was challenging and rewarding :)

ehtd says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:26am

@ashen you can see the music authors on the credits. All the rest created from scratch.

Piat says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:58am

Ah, see I was trying to click the planet marked "here". Great game, interesting concept.

Hyde Wyvern says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:02am

Awesome! At the begging kind of hard to understand but once you get it it's so much fun!! Great Work Lad!

Robinerd says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:04am

Took me some while to figure out, but I did, evenentually, and the humanity is safe! Really nice move to add a simulation mode :) And btw, Music + graphics are both excellent!

Kettlecorn says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:48am

Really great! Really polished all around, and I the laser was fun to get used to.

madmaw says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:24am

Ha ha, I lost!

caranha says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:21am

Loved the Music!

So the idea is that you only have one "real" chance left, so you can try as many times in the simulator as you want - I liked that, it was original.

I think it is nice that you can "Adjust" the beam after you fired it, saving on countless retrials.

One thing I think would be cool, was if the aliens on the last scenario were in a random location every time you got there. Since if you train perfectly, you can get to the Alien with time to spare, it would add a little bit of uncertainty to the game.

Also, the Alien could look a little more menacing ;-)

Thanks for the game!

Xeke_Death says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:21am

Good choice of music.
I liked the wave that the pulsar ray left behind, and how it waved as the parameter was adjusted...

Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:22pm

Very cool idea!
Would be nice to see the invasion though! The wave gun cutting though an enemy fleet would've been awesome.

kbake says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:17pm

I liked it a lot and that music was awesome!

Deity says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:00am

Cool idea. Made it to the big blue planet before I got stuck.

Also, felt like I was learning math (sin/cos) while playing ;) Nice work

JaJ says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:14pm

The training has tought me I'm definately not going to be able to save the planet XD

Nice game, great music!

ehtd says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:35am

Thank you all for playing!

Fenixin says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:45am

Loved the concept! It's innovative. Very nice graphics. Simple and fun.

danbo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:03am

I haven't seen as much of the "only one chance" style of game that I thought I'd see. Some more variability in the shots could make this a really cool game, to keep it from being just memorize numbers.

ehtd says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:06am

@danbo try passing the game only in the bottom lanes. There is one planet that requires extra effort (no clear shot), but since it could get really difficult, only one planet has that feature

glovecat says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:12am

The concept is really well done, but the gameplay it's very hard to aim well in the first shot. Very good music and graphics not bad. I enjoy this very challengin experience, but I did not reach to the aliens with more than 1 chance :(. Good job!

Diptoman says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:49am

Cool wave mechanism! Loved the graphics and sound too! Though it wasn't challenging at all since you could just remember the values from the sim/do things with 2 tries. The no restart and implementation of theme was great, though! And haha, the world is doomed so play on the simulator 'for the lulz'? xD
Saved the world later by closing and opening the game window again though xD

_zulli says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 3:29am

Nice game! :)
Pretty different idea and mechanics. It can become a great game if you keep developing it. :)
Good job :D

If you have time please rate my game too :DD

jerombd says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 6:50pm

Pretty good! An original gameplay; probably too easy with the (very useful)simulator, but still fun!

bukt says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 3:52pm

Very well! Good idea, music and grafic, but controls confusing a little.

jimmypaulin says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 6:16pm

That was a really nicely put together experience, I was gutted when I failed and couldn't try again haha! The music really added to it as well. Decent graphics and clear instructions (though it took me a while to realise I could do -ve values for the cannon and even longer to realise I could tune the cannon in-flight). Alas, I have let humanity down once more!

FrederickK says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 1:56am

Great music and gameplay, very creative!
5 stars on innovation!
I wish I could have more tries, but it is ok.
I missed a SFX of the laser beam too. :(
But, great job! Very cool game!

mcapraro says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 6:35am

neat graphics and game play mechanic. i loved the feel of the sine wave drawing on the screen, great job

Jan 3, 2014 @ 3:17pm

Nice and original game concept! The music rocks! :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]