December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Bubble

by Alink - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You only get one big bubble. Blow it around without letting it hits the ground.

Your bubble absorbs the other mini golden bubbles and you eat the cheeses. Collect all of these to win.

The post-compo version is the same except that death just rewind time 10 seconds (use Enter key for the level restart of the compo version).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness68%
#89Innovation3.68
#267Theme3.29
#296Overall3.26
#389Fun3.00
#493Graphics2.94
#546Humor2.13
#619Mood2.59
#700Audio1.90

Comments

ParaPup says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:39am

I had fun playing this it was challenging. Cute mouse too.

Zolmeister says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:58am

Solid. This game quite good, with a unique take on the theme. Really enjoyed it (instructions were not clear though).

SojaBird says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:51am

Cool! So close only the last bubble such a pain in the first level :D
Didn't got further :p

Alink says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:33pm

Thanks for playing my game. I intentionally let the player discover the mechanic, but here are some tips if really needed:

- Of course, use long blow (keep space key pressed).
- Closer blows are much more powerful. Often better to let the bubble comes to you first.
- Jump + and close blow are very effective but inaccurate and risky.
- Use the bubble inertia.
- Your character doesn't hit the bubble.
- Find the best order to get the cheese/bubbles.

Hope it helps and have fun.

lorniebear says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:53pm

Quite hard, but I like the non-violent nature!

IHateATMFees says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:40am

Nice job. Would love gamepad support!

Tanser says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:34pm

Nice game, good job, the graphics are good. :)

Move127 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:35pm

A lot of fun and nice aesthetic.

Pixelbear says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:42pm

Took me to figure out why I kept failing suddenly, then I noticed that the big bubble wasn't popping. Managed to get me to panic when I mis-timed a grab for cheese and the bubble was dropping far too low, so good job there! I would say the game is quite slow though, and you need a lot of patience.

Alink says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:59pm

@Pixelbear: Ah indeed good point. I should have timed it so can't go far enough to miss the main bubble hitting the ground. And probably also move the first mini golden bubble off the start screen. Well, when I designed that part, I was planning to add more instructions and a nicer mechanic for the bubbles creation (make the mouse blows through a soap thing)

ZYXer says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:52pm

Quite innovative but hard game. I like that you have to collect the golden items with your character and with the bubble. Well done!

Zanzlanz says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:00pm

Great game! I really love the idea, and you executed it really well, with nice graphics and everything :)

Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:57am

This is awesome! Like "Pang" in a way, but very unique. Loved the indirect control scheme, this is awesome and gets top marks from me! (The little animation of the mouse blowing is so well-done! )

murilo says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:10pm

That was rather unique! I like it man! It feels slow but that's the game! Really nice!

Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:27pm

Pretty fun! And pretty hard!
Had some very tense moments guiding that bubble, haha.

zkenshin says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:50pm

Nice idea (:

Masadow says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:51pm

Very nice concept and very challenging game !

syawqy says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:28am

asdfghjkl, why you... simple death and we go back from the begining. haha...
you only get one bubble, nice concept, that was fun

mortus says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 6:45pm

Very fun game! I wished there were a way to speed it up a bit though. It could get a little boring if you blow the bubble to high up.

psychomonster says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:41pm

Nice to play a game with no violence. I like the Idea to take bubbles and Cheese. Cool gameplay. Cool little mouse :D

smash ball says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 10:43pm

Didn't get past the second level in this test of patience, but it was a fun game.

jacklehamster says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 8:35am

Innovative and fun gameplay. One thing though, shouldn't the bubble get bigger as it absorbs other bubbles?

Alink says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 1:01am

@jacklehamster: indeed it should. Note that there is working code and animation for that. At some point, the mouse was able to jump into the bubble and make it bigger by blowing inside (also not realistic), catching more wind, less gravity etc. That's why you are a mouse and the bubble is about your size. But floating like that to pass obstacle was not very fun: too much control and you stay inside playing a flying game, too little and you just watch yourself going in a bad direction.

Jan 5, 2014 @ 10:15pm

Like many others have said it was rather slow. I beat the first level in one go, but I gave up on the second level. I'm sure the addition of checkpoints makes the game more fun, but since I'm only judging the compo entry I only played the compo entry. Overall I enjoyed it. Nicely done.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]