December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Dreams of war

by netmute - Jam Entry

You fought in the second galactic war. You were the only survivor of your wing, and your ship was badly damaged. Your onboard repair AI was constantly repairing the ship systems, but you had only power to enable one subsystem at a time.
Ultimately, your ship was destroyed. After drifting in space for days in just your vacsuit, you were finally rescued.
That was years ago. You are now called a hero, but that battle in your damaged ship still haunts you in your dreams...

The game is such a dream.

"Dreams of war" is a simple SHMUP. I put way too much work into lots of small details, and I hope someone notices :P
There are periodic level ups after killing enough enemies. On each level up, you can select which subsystem of the ship you want to activate (But only one. See what I did there? I'm such a creative genius...). The subsystems get stronger with every level up, as do the hordes of enemies. How long can you survive?

The game runs fine in Chrome and Firefox. I didn't bother with other browsers because of time and sanity.
Music is the DeepSpaceOne stream from SomaFM.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#87Audio(Jam)3.50
#181Fun(Jam)3.12
#214Mood(Jam)3.03
#291Overall(Jam)3.06
#346Graphics(Jam)2.94
#414Humor(Jam)1.76
#424Theme(Jam)2.30
#538Innovation(Jam)1.79
#965Coolness49%

Comments

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:25pm

It's "space invaders" meets "1943" meets "Xenon 2" which still makes it a winner in my book. Nicely done.

LTPATS says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:58pm

Cool game, nice atmosphere!

xrm0 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:06pm

Nice sound effects!

postmodestie says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:52pm

Very simple but nice polish and fx!

van noctar says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 6:04pm

The gameplay is simply! But the sounds are extra!!

rottenmage says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 6:07pm

Great atmosphere and audio, but it's really hard to hit the enemies! I think the game could benefit from more forgiving collision test =).

Will Edwards says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 6:30pm

you can go a long way with the diagonal shooting and clinging to the edge. Nice art, nice music.

frogcheese says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 6:40pm

The atmosphere and audio is amazing. The headphones really did a whole lot - thanks for suggesting it! Pretty polished, and I loved the deep boom signaling a successful shot.

goerp says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 6:47pm

Nice. Galaga on steroids.
Nice sound effects and a good choice of music.
Played solidly and the little spaceships had its simple charm.
At first I thought 'who is the idiot that puts fire and movement for the same hand?" And then I found it had autofire :)
Consistent style also, the game, menu, choice menu and hi-score ui were all the same retro style.
It was pretty hard, because the ship moved so fast (the reverse of my game then :)

JavadocMD says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 7:57pm

Very nicely executed and a great setup. One minor UI nitpick: I would typically expect the whole screen to flash only when I get hit, not when I successfully hit an enemy. This lead to some confusing moments where I wasn't entirely sure if I had run into something.

Gear says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:27pm

What did you use to get the sfx?

rnlf says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:41pm

Can you spell minimalism? Never saw so much fun with so few pixels (and half pixels, in fact).

Bookmarked your game for later. Great one!

psychomonster says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:26pm

Wow cool sound design man. Extremly hard difficulty because the fire button ^^ and the fast shooting frequency of the enemys... Liked the very minimalistic gameart. Thanks!

Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:40pm

Nnnice! :)

grifdail says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 9:46am

Whaou... THe game is so beautiful, it's sad it's so hard...

MyGrandmother says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:29pm

I love this type of game and I like your version of it. maybe the controll of the spaceship should be a little bit more precise but great job

Shigor says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 5:12pm

The game from time when single pixel could mean something.

gene-z says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 7:12pm

Nice game, i play This kind game a lot ,,

Und[0]ne Devs says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 7:17pm

Very nice game! In enjoyed it a lot! Nice music ;)

Muciojad says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 11:39am

Very good, I love low-bit-style graphic, and yours is amazing! Very cool explode effect by the way ;) Sounds are good, but the music not really suit me;) Overall - very good! :D

MaTX says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 8:04pm

Nice effects considering the amount of pixels involved.

Dec 30, 2013 @ 12:32am

Nice game design.

Diptoman says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 1:43pm

Really cool game. The little variations among enemies, I loved that. And the audio and the mood was simply great, it did make it feel like a dream.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]