December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Singulus

by HeyChinaski - 48 Hour Compo Entry

There's only one sword and one shield to share between all the gladiators.

Use the arrow keys to move and space to throw the sword. The first player to 5 wins.

It is an online multiplayer game but there are AI bots to make up the numbers if the server is quiet.

If there's seems to be a problem then the server may be down. http://twitter.com/HeyChinaski is the place to get support.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#86Theme3.70
#155Innovation3.50
#205Fun3.34
#247Overall3.32
#298Graphics3.32
#469Humor2.30
#623Audio2.22
#641Mood2.56

Comments

Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:44am

Not bad, although nearly impossible to dodge the sword, I find.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:15pm

Good game and clean mechanics. Good use of theme too well done!

michail says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:37pm

Nice game, impressive that you've managed to make it multiplayer in such a short time.

Ithildin says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:24am

Great concept! Graphics look very polished, and the mechanic is very interesting, it fits the theme perfectly. Congrats! :)

j_stirk says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:04pm

Very polished for 48hrs. Was a bit hard for me to play due to higher latency, but still heaps of fun.

AtomicVikings says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:05pm

haha Thats fun ^^ I think this would working great as a multiplayer. Maybe next time you could make also a background sound. Not only beeping noises. Something epic :) That would fit great - Because thats an Epic and easy game!
It's raining stars for you!

jdpalmer says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:06pm

Neat game! It took me a moment to tell which one was me. More visual distinction would help in that regard.

Raiyumi says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:08pm

Really fun game! Especially with the multiplayer. :)

hoqjed says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:16pm

As someone else noted, more visual distinction would have been nice among the characters.

I also found there to be too many players on the field. Perhaps after playing it for a while it becomes easier, but I found that it was overwhelming for the first few seconds to figure out what was going on.

It also makes it difficult for a specific individual to get items, since the likelyhood of being the closest to where it spawns exponentially goes down with more players.

It was a nice idea overall, but I felt like it was too chaotic personally. I didn't feel as if I had any impact, I was but a pawn put on the field to battle other, better pawns haha.

Zanzlanz says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:17pm

Really cool game! The gameplay seems really balanced and I love it.

HeyChinaski says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:32pm

Thanks for playing and commenting everyone!

@hogjed the number of players depends on how many people are online at once. Perhaps I should have enforced a maximum of around 4.

@AtomicVikings It is a multiplayer, did you only get to fight bots?

Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:28am

Good idea, definitely need 2 player mode

HeyChinaski says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:08am

@methampetabear Thanks. It is multiplayer, just get someone else to open the game in their browser.

Gaspard_ says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:52pm

I love the concept! To bad no-one was there while I played...

caribou says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:35pm

Simple mechanics and fun to play. Nice to you managed to add bots.

Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:03pm

Nobody is online... *forever alone face*
But really impressive indeed that you can get multiplayer for LD!

harsanalif says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:36am

I see that it is an online game so I admit that the strange lag movement I experienced is normal. A bit difficult to control though, but interesting arena concept nonetheless.

Jeremias says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 7:49pm

Very neat concept - was even fun to play against the bots! A multiplayer LD-game, respect!

Sean Noonan says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 10:53pm

Really good use of the theme :)

Benjamin says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 11:29pm

simple and smart gameplay. The game would have been easier to understand with a short intro sequence ( with some flashing Player 1 arrow indicator ) and a timed respawn sequence for the sword. At first I was thinking the sword was falling in the wrong place because of a bug before realize it was a respawn.

psc1997 says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 12:00am

Simple and good. I like graphics ;)

Husky says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 5:54am

I like the idea.
Simple but fun lol. :D

shard123 says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 7:35pm

Pretty laggy for me but it was an awesome concept, loved the multiplayer

thebrainfuse says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 12:48am

requires polish, but good implementation of the theme.

TeamFlare says ...
Dec 31, 2013 @ 2:12pm

It's impressive to make a working multiplayer game in that amount of time.

davisan says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 1:45pm

Nice game!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]