December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Volcano Explorer

by Gabriel - Jam Entry

RUN, RUN, RUN, god damn it! YOU ONLY GET ONE MINUTE to climb as fast as you can and escape the freaking erupting volcano! Seriously, dude, no freaking time to explain, JUST GO! :D

Left and Right Arrow - Walk
Space - Jump


So, we were really just having some fun testing Fusion 2.5's physics, not caring too much whether we would be able to meet the deadline for LD this time or not. Then today we decided to polish our test a little bit and actually submit it. This is probably our simplest jam game ever, but we had lots of fun playing with some fiery liquid dynamics! :D

We hope you enjoy! If you like what we're doing, say hello on Twitter! @pixel_cows

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#11Fun(Jam)4.06
#25Overall(Jam)3.94
#52Audio(Jam)3.72
#55Mood(Jam)3.69
#64Graphics(Jam)4.22
#96Humor(Jam)3.20
#118Theme(Jam)3.28
#196Innovation(Jam)3.06
#1435Coolness32%

Comments

ryanmurakami says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:16am

download link isn't working for me.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:41am

DL 404...

code-11 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:22am

Hey, game art looks cool and I would like to play but I get a dropbox 404 error when I click on the link. I tried to find a link on your blog but there wasn't one that I could see :( I will look back later, hopefully it will get re-linked.

Gabriel says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:36am

Sorry, folks! I forgot to compress the music files and the original zip was HUGE, so I replaced them. Now it's down to 10Mb, but the dropbox synch took ages to finish. Anyway, it's up now. Thanks for your patience!

Venturelli says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:50pm

Wow Gabriel, I played this game BEFORE I noticed it was yours! The game is indeed simple, but the physics-based lava looks AWESOME *_*

TobiasNL says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:55pm

Wow, that lava! And I love the smoke effect. Good music too. The collission were.. unforgivable. Sometimes I couldn't jump, pretty frustrating. The game itself wasn't very original, but still fun to play! Pretty cool entry. I just love that lava effect :P

vapgames says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:38pm

I love this game!
Reached the salvation, lots of adrenaline.
The effects were cool and use of physics is great and creative.
As TobiasNL said, landing collision dection is quirky, but you can use it your advantage sometimes and walljump.

murilo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:44am

Impressive lava effects! It was fun overall but I couldn't reach the end. By mashing the spacebar sometimes I was able to double/triple jump! Great stuff guys!

brmassa says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:57am

Punishing!
But the salvation is rewarding!
The lava effects (border and spilling fire) are great.

Now I can rest in peace!

GFM says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:43pm

WOW! That lava is awesome!! *-*

Nice little game! (but I got stuck on "stairs" many times... =X)

jimmypaulin says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 2:12pm

Brilliant experience! Really fun entry, tightly put together and uber compelling. Love the graphical effects and the subtle way the avatar is lit from below (nice pecs!) Pretty unforgiving but rewarding nonetheless. I just wished for a hssssssss when you inevitably meet your fiery demise, hey ho!

FrederickK says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 3:50am

Hey guys! Didn't know you guys participate this jam too! I'm sorry that I didn't rated before, allow me to correct my mistake.

As usual, the game looks and sounds wonderful. Jumping feels good and the challenges are very nice! Good use of the physics!

I had some bugs, like sometimes when touching a wall while falling stuck the character and when, don't know if was intentional, but when I did climb all the way on the top and saw the ice platform, I jumped on them and the game reseted, like I was touch by the lava. If was, would be good at least a congratulations, just to indicate that was suppose to happen. But they all minor things I think, expect of a jam game.

So, GREAT game guys! I had lots of fun of it!
My best wishes to the Pixel Cows! :)

Nikteddy92 says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 2:54pm

Woo-hoo!! This game is awesome!
And a little too... Hard.. Hahahaha xD

s73ph4n says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 2:59pm

Yeah! I like it! I didn't finish it yet :) Sometimes I got stuck with some of the walls. Anyway great job!

Threef says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 4:01pm

I like that you use many game mechanics. Physics are nice, but sometimes I droped blocks and blocked myself. :D

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]